We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety of menu options”

Pulperia de los Faroles
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Variety of menu options”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Half of our group was gluten intolerant, so we sometimes struggled to find restaurants with options that suited everybody. Pulperia de los Faroles had a pretty lengthy menu - including meat, seafood, and pasta dishes - enabling each of us to find something they wanted to eat. The food we got (a seafood paella, spinach ravioli, pork ravioli) were all quite good, but not so good that I'd give the restaurant a "very good" review. My ravioli were offered with several sauce options, and the pesto I selected was quite tasty - a bit sweet from the herbs and a bit nutty from the chopped walnuts in it. Service was pretty good (it was packed when we were there since a movie was being filmed on the adjacent plaza), and I felt the prices were consistent with what we were paying in Argentina. They accepted Argentine pesos, Uruguay pesos, US dollars, or credit cards, which made things easy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodimcjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    458
    277
    116
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Canada
1 review
“expensive and below average”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

it is recommendet as a seafood restaurant. however, when i asked if the fish is fresh from the cost the staff sharply neglected and said the fish is mainly from vietnam.

I ordered the recommendation, 'lomo stroganoff'. the food was no prepared fresh, only warmed up and you could see the rotten dots on the creamy sauce. The normal menu was around $ 21 (USD).

Stay away!

Helpful?
Thank eldineldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but average food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The food here was pretty average but the staff made up for it as they were attentive and accommodating... The roast chicken was bland and the kids who are pasta monsters... Seem indifferent about their dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EkeneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Compared well to the other restaurants”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We eventually ate here despite some of the reviews, as we'd tried many of the other restaurants in Colonia del Sacramento during the 6 days we spent in this town. I wouldn't describe any of them as excellent, and we tried 12 (Lunch and dinner)!

It's in a lovely position, and the food we had was equal to any that we ate in Colonia. The waiting staff were extremely friendly and cheerful, and we certainly felt that they cared about all the customers. The menu and the prices were the same as everywhere else.

It's a lovely spot to sit outside at sunset, as a change from being right down on the waterfront. The little street leading down to the sea lends itself to some beautiful sunset photos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We ordered the calamari to start, and the breading was at least a half inch all around. Once the breading was picked off, the squid itself was rubbery and tasteless. I got the spinach ravioli, which were horrible and covered in a "sauce" that can only be described as nasty ketchup. I couldn't eat more than a couple of bites. Hubs got the half portion of lomo strogonoff, which was OK if you could taste anything through the salt.

I really need to stop relying on travel guide books for restaurant recommendations!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amyj1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulperia de los Faroles also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Pulperia de los Faroles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing