We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulperia de los Faroles

Pulperia de los Faroles
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I come to Uruguay every two years to visit family & we always visit Colonia, especially this restaurant. However on this occasion, we had a disappointing experience & not sure if we will return.

service was atrocious: even though there were only five tables of customers. we weren't offered sweets. my main meal plate had a chip in it & the waiter was not interested, simply stating there were more like that. the meals were delicious but simple, and i found the sangria not sweet enough.

our three main meals, one entree & a few drinks came to US$75. not good enough service & quality for this amount in this part of the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    447
    261
    108
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic, romantic, recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stumbled across this wonderful little restaurant in the middle of the old town of Colonia. Candles on all the tables outside, live piano music - not too intrusive- wonderful waiters who really listened to our order and then proceded to bring the most fantastic food- prawn cocktail was one of the best we have tried!! Great steak too. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our hotel in Colonia recommended this place for dinner, and we couldn't have been happier. We ate outside at night, enjoying the breezes and the stars, while we ate steak and gnocchis with a bottle of Tannat. I could have sat there all night; such a charming place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meghann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“pleasant dinner with terrific music in a World Heritage site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This comfortable restaurant is down on the southeast corner of the walled village that makes up the Unesco World Heritage site. I had sorrentino and a salad and a half bottle of CUNA, a Uruguayan red, while I listened to the live band. The saxophonist played a jazz version of "I Shot the Sheriff" that was awesome. No kidding. Clearly a talent. Fun evening. Food was good, service fine, and ambience a 10.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's a nice choice for a dinner, specially. It's near the river shore and if you get lucky you'll have one of the best sunsets of your life. Food is nice, nothing special, but portions are generous so you can share, no problem, and prices are not that expensive. Staff are polite and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulperia de los Faroles also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Pulperia de los Faroles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing