We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great hostel with a great atmosphere, comfortable beds, large rooms but a bit dark, lockers under the beds, decent breakfast, helpful staff. Location is great, close to everything in the old part of town and a not too far walk from the ferry dock and bus station

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    347
    130
    39
    28
See reviews for
41
244
243
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hostel has a great atmosphere and very friendly, helpful staff. The double rooms were clean, well equipped, with good bathrooms. The outdoor terrace was lovely for relaxing in the afternoon / evening before having a barbecue in the lower patio. Location is awesome - close to the old town, the bus terminal and banks, restaurants etc. On the basis of our awesome stay in El Viajero Colonia we have now also stayed at the great El Viajero Hostels in Punta del Este and Punta de Diablo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronnersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just stayed for a night in a private room and it was awesome! It is no luxury 4 star hotel, but everything is good (high pressure shower :). The breakfast was one of the better ones I have had in hostels and the atmosphere was very nice. The staff are very helpful and the price of the hostel was good. Finally, the location is right in the center, which makes it very easy to access the public transport in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanBarnhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mannheim
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a really relaxed stay. The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast was good and the hostel is well located. If we come ever back to Colonia, then definitely to this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjo2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Average hostel, stayed in private double with bathroom, clean and basic, nice rooftop area but no lights on at night so couldn't use it then, wifi didn't work in the room but good access in lounge downstairs. Friendly staff. Great location, not far from bus and ferry and round the corner from the main road with restaurants and cafes. Close to the old town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'd happily stay here again. The location is great - a short walk from the port and within easy reach of restaurants and cafes. You have to make your own bed when you arrive but at least you know the sheets are clean! Our dormitory had a very noisy door which meant you couldn't enter or leave the room without waking everyone up - something that is easy for the management to fix.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was brilliant! Best nights I've slept in a hostel ever and I'm a light sleeper. The rooms are quiet and dark, perfect for sleeping. Breakfast was pretty good for hostel standards with fresh bread and jam, dulce de leche, cheese and butter, cornflakes, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cordial. Only complaint was there aren't enough power points in the 4 bed dorm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Viajero Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel & Suites

Property: El Viajero Hostel & Suites
Address: Washington Barbot 164, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Viajero Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Viajero Hostel&Suites is located just a few meters away the famous historical center (declared World Heritage by UNESCO) and 5 blocks from the Port, Bus Station and the beautiful beaches! Colonia is considered the most beautiful city in Uruguay, due to the Historical Town and its museums, the Plaza Mayor‘ with its restaurants, the Iglesia Matriz (Oldest Cathedral of Uruguay), and its lighthouse, which you will find perfect for sightseeing: the old city, the beaches, the countryside and the national parks. The Hostel is located in a beautiful 19th-century house with all the comfort of the 21th-century: High roofs topped with wide skylights, fireplace, barbecue & solarium. We organize activities for you, both inside and outside the Hostel: Asados and typical foods, walking tours, bike rental, horse-riding at the countryside and at the beach, visits to museums, wineries, national parks and tourist ranches. The best prices and activities to discover the real Colonia del Sacramento. Come to visit Uruguay, we are giving our best for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Viajero Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Viajero Hostel & Suites Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing