We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Colonia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
“One night in Colonia”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Colonia is a really small sweet city, so for me one night there was perfect. The staff of el viajero hostel was really nice. The place is well decorated and important: a good breakfast! It is also great that you can book easily another viajero hostel (I also went to the one in Montevideo) and that they can arrange ticket for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniehaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    353
    130
    39
    29
See reviews for
41
248
244
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaky1982
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed round the corner from this hostel in their b&b but actually didn't realise there was two until i looked on here! The place was nice and breakfast good and the staff helpful but when we came to pay they tried to charge us double what we had agreed. Luckily i had the confirmation on email and the lady was great and said not to worry, so its a nice place but just make sure you confirm the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

El Viajero is pretty much a typical hostel. I stayed in a dorm room for four, which was clean and which had a private bathroom. Breakfast was a bit above par -- they had cereal, yogurt, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, bread and every kind of spread around -- and the hostel staff cooked a pizza dinner for us that wasn't too expensive.
Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a private room with ensuite , clean , great shower quiet and the window had a blackout curtain , friendly staff, cosy communal room , however if you visit in the wintertime as we did most of the town is shutdown .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin&yvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great location, amazing staff and good accommodation!! IMy boyfriend and I had a very good experience there! One bad thing is that we have a specific time to do the check in (from 2 pm). We arrived before that, so we left the luggage in the storage area and walked around the city until this time. But as the hostel is nearby the downtown we didnt have problems at all! Private rooms are good enough and confortable but I can not describe the other ones! We can recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHERINE Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Very helpfull. Nice location. I can recommend. They do alot of effort to inform you about what is happening, and where to go, what not to mis. Nice atmosphere with a fire place...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhpistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hostel seemed to be the recommended one in Colonia so we chose it without a second thought, although it's not cheap. Well, it wasn't great at all. We stayed in a dorm and it seemed like anybody could come in and out of our room at any time, not much security. One night some guys got drunk, sang and made noise the whole night and the staff didn't do anything about them... what's worse is that they came into our dorm and started harassing a girl there, also waking everybody up.
Also the dorms could be cleaner.
The location is good, but Colonia is really small so about anywhere is good.
Maybe private rooms are better, but the prices are really high.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites

Property: El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
Address: Washington Barbot 164, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Viajero Hostel&Suites is located just a few meters away the famous historical center (declared World Heritage by UNESCO) and 5 blocks from the Port, Bus Station and the beautiful beaches! Colonia is considered the most beautiful city in Uruguay, due to the Historical Town and its museums, the Plaza Mayor‘ with its restaurants, the Iglesia Matriz (Oldest Cathedral of Uruguay), and its lighthouse, which you will find perfect for sightseeing: the old city, the beaches, the countryside and the national parks. The Hostel is located in a beautiful 19th-century house with all the comfort of the 21th-century: High roofs topped with wide skylights, fireplace, barbecue & solarium. We organize activities for you, both inside and outside the Hostel: Asados and typical foods, walking tours, bike rental, horse-riding at the countryside and at the beach, visits to museums, wineries, national parks and tourist ranches. The best prices and activities to discover the real Colonia del Sacramento. Come to visit Uruguay, we are giving our best for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing