We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so so”
Review of Posada de la Flor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada de la Flor
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed at Posada del a Flor in Colonia Del Sacramento in Uruguay, In August 2011. The hotel has a flower theame and the keys have drawings of flowers It has an open court yard with plants and the breakfast room has French doors that open into this court yard Continental breakfast is included in the price and is in the dining room. There is a deck that is partly covered were one can sit but there is not much to see. You can see the sea but most is obscured by trees.. The hotel looked good, I would imagine, when it was last remodeled but the maintenance has not been good and the room had a strange smell. It was in the winter the garden did not look very good might be different in the summer. The Staff was friendly had spoke some English and the hotel was located just on the edge of the old section. I was able to walk from the bus and to the boat docks but it was a walk of about seven blocks. There is a bus that goes up and down the main street if one does not want to walk. The town is very nice and everywhere that I went felt safe I paid $1,072 pesos per night. There are many hotels in the area and there was no problem getting a hotel at this time of the year. I just showed up on the bus from Montevideo. The hotel did not seem clean enough for most of the American women that I know but was ok for me. Might be better in the summer. A good Spring cleaning and some paint would do wonders.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    86
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
90
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cole Harbour, N.S.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to Colonia. The town is well worth a visit. The staff at the Flor was very helpful. My wife tiwisted her ankle on a loose sidewalk tile and it swelled up. We we mentioned this to the staff they called a doctor for us and there was no charge. They were great. Breakfast was very good and the rooms were spotless. I have no trouble recommending this Posada.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanocuba-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil/Suiça
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Nice, little place, very simple rooms, clean. WiFi works in the lobby. Within the old part of the city, close to the ferry to Buenos Aires (600 m), next to the river and to nice restaurants

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exp_Trav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed one night in Colonia at the Posada de la Flor. We liked the pleasant setting with a nice courtyard area and beautiful flowers. The room was clean and comfortable with a large ceiling fan and AC. However, our sleep was not so pleasant because of the presence of mosquitoes, despite the fan and AC going full force. For this reason, I am reluctant to recommend the hotel, but after walking by many others and seeing unscreened open windows even in the biggest hotels, I am sure this problem is common to many places there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

This little hotel is lovely. It is fairly basic but very quaint and cute. Colonia in general is lovely and this hotel is very central (mind you I think everywhere might be!). I would definitely recommend this, worth seeing.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Clean, spacious, and very welcoming. They had a great breakfast, wonderful staff and are in a fantastic location. Our only complaint is that we did not stay longer. Our room was large with a large bath. We booked a basic room but must have been upgraded as we had air, tv and a telephone. The roof top deck is a great place for lunch. They provide us with all the plates, wine glasses and utensils we needed. We really felt it was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackingafter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I spent 4 nights at this great posada right on the river bank. One block from the historic part of town. Absolutely great value. Wonderful view from rooftop. Flowers everywhere and birdsong all day long. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended. Good deals during weekdays. El Asador is a great restaurant nearby. Best value in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Flor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Flor

Property: Posada de la Flor
Address: Ituzaingo 268, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de la Flor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Posada de la Flor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De La Flor Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada De La Flor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing