We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property, amenities and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property, amenities and rooms”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I travelled to South America for our honeymoon. We had only read great things about the Four Seasons Carmelo and decided to give it a try. We are so happy we did. Although there were quite a few children at the property during our stay, it was for the most part quiet and relaxing. The standard rooms were unparalleled. Two floors. They were huge and well appointed. The staff were quite welcoming. The service was great. My husband and I had also stayed at the Four Seasons Buenos Aires prior to arriving in Carmelo. Both hotels maintained a top notch level of Service. Following our stay in Carmelo, our flight back to Vancouver was leaving in the early evening. Four Seasons allowed us to use their spa facilities and pool in Buenos Aires prior to leaving for the airport. I highly recommend the Four Seasons Carmelo for a beautiful countryside Uruguayan experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    142
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
230
459
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

it's perfect for a family holiday. the programs for kids is perfect and with so many different activities. the food is good but the service at the pool bar is very slow, may be because they have just one kitchen. the front desk guys are very professional and the wellcome is very warm.

Room Tip: The bungalows are the best choice even if they are a bit far from main hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of our South America trip. It was the perfect way to end the trip relaxing by the pool, especially after a few days in Buenos Aires. It is very easy to get to. The short ferry ride from BA to Colonia was quick and easy. Then we had someone pick us up, show us around Colonia del Sacramento, and then take us the hour ride to the resort. I highly recommend stopping in Colonia.

We stayed in a Bungalow and it was very nice and the bed was comfortable. We also loved the pool area. The staff was very helpful and we had a great meal in the restaurant one evening. I also highly recommend visiting the nearby vineyard Narbona who will send someone to pick you up.

You can definitely see Four Seasons aspects in the design and décor of this property, however this property is a bit run down. I thought to myself that it just needs a good fix up, clean , watering or something because it is a beautiful property.

Yes, this is not your typical Four Seasons resort, but I didn’t expect it to be at $395/night in our own private bungalow. I will say that if they charged much more than that, I would have felt jipped. This is a lovely hotel in a great setting that is very secluded and I feel was an excellent deal for the price. It’s perfect for a two night stay to relax at the end of a trip to Buenos Aires, but I do not recommend as a vacation destination alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cricket84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you happen to be in Buenos Aires, Argentina or in Colonia Uruguay, or in Montevideo, Uruguay and are planning to spend some time in Carmelo (Colonia is a short ferry ride away from Montevideo), and are totally stressed out of the city and life in general and wish to get into a room that will make you go "wow" and have a very tranquil, peaceful and restful stay at an hotel almost made entirely of stone and wood, enclaved in the middle of 44 acres of mostly woods, then check the Four Seasons out. It is lovely and not old or tired as mentioned in some reviews, because it has been refurbished and continues to be (for example all the wood of the board walks around the property and to the beach is being changed). You will find things to do here, but not the usual thing of checking the city out and going shopping or taking the usual tours. This is a place were you have mountain bikes to choose from for no extra charge as you grab a bottle of water 24 hrs a day from the many locations around the resort at no extra charge either, (including your room) and go riding on the very flat or gently hilly terrain of Uruguay for as long as you want. You can help yourself with coffees and teas in well stocked stations all day (including some tasty biscotti!) or take a wet face towel and some bug spray (also complimentary) and go for a walk. You can cross the street from the resort (literally!) and go to this very tranquil Golf Course, in the middle of the country side, were your team might be the only one playing that day. You might want to go a few meters ahead and go horse back riding (for a fee) at Tierra de Caballos (Land of Horses)...or take the hotel's transportation over to Puerto Camacho, a private yacht port with a pizzeria, a shop and something else, that offers lovely seating by the quiet river bay. Private that is, only for Hotel guests and the owners or mansions and homes in the neighboring El Faro gated community. All this in the pure countryside, just animals, trees, some farms and you. The hotel is lovely, stunning Bali type of decor, huge pool and huge spaces for all. Only 44 "rooms or should I say suites and bungalows, and 44 acres of space. All the rooms are of the same type, two floor very comfortable suites, with all the amenities and comfort you might want. Including a plug adapter in case you don't have one for the type of current in Uruguay. Food is delicious, and the hotel at night changes radically to offer a romantic and quiet setting at candle or fire torch lights. And the Spa deserves another chapter, specially the complimentary tea bar with nuts and fruits and this lovely ginger tea. The bungalows are very special too, one huge room and a big bathroom, including an outdoor shower in a nice little garden connected to the bungalow. Private views to the woods, the river shores, or just to no where... Bring a book, sip some tea, sun bathe, golf, ride horses, take river kayaking or boat rides, visit neighboring Wine Estate Narbona for a lovely meal and the chance to buy locally made wines, cheeses, marmalades, pasta and cracker type of cookies. Yummy! The attention to decoration detail is lovely in all properties. I personally think this is a lovely place for couples, families with young children (there is a lovely kids house with coordinators that program all sorts of activities for the entire day), as the double floor rooms can accommodate 2 kids on beds made out of the long sofa. Definitely a romantic get away for anyone as well as a great place for corporate seminars, meetings, work groups, that wish to get away from distracting noises and enjoy a great place as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, two floor suites, and all bungalows are the same, the only thing tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latitude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Four Seasons Carmelo is breathtaking. It had a very different feel than the other Four Seasons brand hotels that we have been to, but still the same level of luxury. The resort was situated in a woods-y forest-y part of Uruguay and right by the river. It is a Balinese style resort with an Uruguayan landscape backdrop and just amazing. Our bungalow had views of the forest and even an outdoor shower.

Our time in Uruguay was spent golfing, hanging out by the pool, visiting vineyards, biking the countryside and just relaxing. When the sun was not as strong we rented some bikes from the resort and rode to a local winery to take pictures. The countryside was quite picturesque and it was an unforgettable experience biking and exploring Uruguay that way.

I definitely recommend this resort if you want something a bit off the beaten path. The service is not to the level of other Four Seasons that I have visited, but if they can improve on that it will definitely be a five star option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights after B.A. and it offered a nice change of scenery. The resort itself is about 11 years old and in need of some updating. Our shower for example had numerous lose tiles and the curtains are a bit frayed on the edges. A previous review also mentioned the wooden walkways which need repair. On the plus side the resort has a very nice pool area and a nice spa. I would have to say the highlight is in the people that w Orkney there. Claudia, Horatio, Carla, and many others try awfully hard to please and they do a very nice job. Restaurant food quality is also quite good and when you ask for medium rare that is what you get (in contrast to some restaurants we visited). All in all a very reasonably priced resort in a somewhat remote area.

I should mention the in room wi fi signal is weak and could be improved. We would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed with the four seasons in Carmello for New Years Eve. We had 3 bungalows for 4 nights at a rate of $915.00 per room per night. We take a trip every year around this time and always try to stay at the best property in the area. Arriving New Years Eve started what continued to be a very disappointing stay. New Years Eve was awful the events that we were emailed about didn't even happen, the hotel used the excused of weather for the first of many times for canceling the festivities. Then when we sat down to dinner we had two vegetarians and yet there was no option but the meat food choices. When we asked if they had anything else for vegetarians they simply responded that this was the only option. Then they proceeded to charge us for all 6 people, and no entertainment was provided not fireworks, hats, or a countdown. This was by far the worst hotel New Years we have had ever and at the four seasons none the less. As for as the rest of the stay was concerned we heard from multiple employees that they were understaffed because of the holiday and apologized for the delay. I appreciate the apology but how can you charge a rate of almost a thousand dollars a night but yet be understaffed. Every time we asked the concierge about dinner they constantly screwed it up. We wanted to do the sun set boat cruise one night when the concierge informed us that the weather made it impossible, which it was nothing but sunny and no wind, later another concierge informed us that the boat was actually broken. As the nights proceeded it got worse and worse, we asked to do the Narabona wine tasting the concierge said no problem when we called to confirm the reservation and they informed us that another group actually booked it and we lost our reservation. Then she recommended we try rio bar (the restaurant by the pool) then she informed us that the restaurant was closed due to weather, how is a restaurant indoors closed for weather? Later a waiter informed us that there were not enough employees to actually open the restaurant. The best part of our trip to Carmelo was outside the hotel. I don't understand how a five star hotel charging the money we were charged while also spending the money we spent can have all of these issues, which is a small sample of what happened over four days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Jordan Z,
I do apologize that your New Years’ experience fell so short of your expectations. It was a shame that you could not enjoy the entertainment and cuisine provided, and we do take your comments to heart and will improve based upon them. We would be happy to have you back to regain your confidence in our Resort and provide you with a Four Seasons experience that many others have enjoyed. I remain at your disposition, and again, I truly thank you for your comments.
Sincerely,
Mark
Mark Bingle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmelo hotels
4.5 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#4 of 8 in Carmelo
186 reviews
3.0 mi away
Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
4.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Sere
Hotel Playa Sere
#6 of 8 in Carmelo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Posada del Navegante
Posada del Navegante
#5 of 8 in Carmelo
29 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Carmelo
Hotel Casino Carmelo
#8 of 8 in Carmelo
247 reviews
4.4 mi away
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel

Property: Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel
Address: Ruta 21, Km 262, Carmelo 70100, Uruguay (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Carmelo)
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently gold-listed as Uruguay's top resort, we offer 44 bungalows and bi-level luxury suites 30 minutes by plane from Buenos Aires or 2 hours by boat. Enjoy world-class golf, wine-inspired spa treatments, and dedicated service during your stay in Carmelo, Uruguay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Carmelo Hotel Carmelo
4 Seasons Resort Carmelo
Four Seasons Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Carmelo
Carmelo Four Seasons
Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel Uruguay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing