We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
827
169
43
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
169
43
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerbi level suitebuenos airesthe riverhorseback ridingeucalyptus forestbeautiful propertyoff seasonlate checkoutsouth americabeautiful poolwine tastingrio de la platafire pitbungalowwinerypine
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had an excellent holiday vacation in Uruguay and spent Christmas at the FS Carmelo. The resort is secluded and is found in the midst of a pine and eucalyptus forest. The location is beautiful although the resort seems to be within a struggling (or perhaps failed?) development which is a bit strange on arrival. But once one arrives at the hotel reception building views of the grounds with large tile pool, small vineyards, and wood walks stretching down to river and bungalows dominate. The Balinese decor is a bit out of place but well done with the hotel architecture and layout being generally very well executed. P

The bungalows vs two story suites are very different so do some research about which better suits your needs. Not sure about the bungalows except they are more remote from the main hotel building, restaurants and spa, and are accessed down somewhat rough wood boardwalks. The bi-level suites are pretty spectacular: living area downstairs with fireplace, powder room, and outdoor porch; upstairs is open plan with great bed, nice views to the distant river, and an amazing bathroom with huge marble panels on walls and at vanity. The only drawback were the windows which did not give alot of privacy with shades open so the rooms tend to be dark as housekeeping leaves shades drawn.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and dinners were very good although tended to be fixed menus over the holidays so not much choice. There also seemed to be an obvious effort to depart from the traditional roasted meats so ubiquitous elsewhere. Lunch was more hit or miss and poolside food did not leave an overwhelmingly positive impression. Generally the food was very good and each night we enjoyed complimentary cocktail parties, live music and a (kindof cheesy) tango show. But tbe warned that this place closes down VERY early for South America. By 10 or 11pm there is no one up and nothing to do!

Service was always spectacular and everyone is both kind and eager to help. We had lots of fun joining the employee X-mas party one night and were made to feel right at home with all the dancing, music and drinking going on! In all, we had a very memorable time in Carmelo and I would recommend the FS to anyone looking to get away to the countryside. The location is beautiful, the birds are plentiful and the resort is very enjoyable.

My only suggestion to managenent is that the concierge was not very responsive to pre-arrival emails--and its very difficult for first time guests to understand arrival planning info and/or potential resort activities (there are lots) in the absence of a local contact. Also, once arrived the concierge seemed very hesitant to recommend anything not associated with the resort--not sure if that's because there is nothing worth recommending or if they didn't want to see us leave for lunch? The Narbona winery and restaurant down the street is the sole exception (FS even provides shuttle serve for dinner) but I'm pretty sure they are under the same ownership.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the 4 Seasons Carmelo midway through a trip to Buenos Aires and Punta del Este. Located in a very rural area of western Uruguay, the hotel has the feel of a lodge, located in the woods on the banks of the Rio Plata. The two story suite was absolutely fantastic. Could have easily moved in here for awhile. Pool was large and tranquil and very restful. The hotel manager greets each arriving guest personally, by name, which is a nice touch. Only quibble: while the staff were universally polite and charming, service was definitely off. We waited nearly 45 minutes for a cocktail at the bar, while the bartender was busy staffing a private function. Same happened at dinner the next evening, when a second glass of wine was completely forgotten. And there were only 6 of us in the restaurant. If they can work out some of the shoulder season staffing issues, this will be a definite place to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic welcome, exeptional room, quality and taste. Restaurant sadly let the place down, average and expensive. When you do leave the hotel for dinner the restaurants they take you to seem to be linked to hotel and most of the hotel guest are transport to the restaurant that evening aswell so you feel a little institutionalised. In saying that Carmelo doesnt have alot to offer although we visited Don Gatto one night which was nice. Would recommend for 2/3 night relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am surprised by the reviews of this property. I just spent 7 nights there( 5 too many) and would say, save your $$. This is not at all up to the Four Seasons standards and the food is mediocre at best. We had a river view bungalow which is advertised as one of premier rooms on the property. Phone didn't work, overhead fan didn't work, tiles were missing in the shower, and to call it a " river view" was a stretch. If you want a few days of R&R post a visit to BA, ok...but if you are considering this resort as a destination by itself, I would not recommend it. On a positive note, the staff is excellent and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy400-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Andy400-11,
I am truly sorry your experience was not like other guests, and that there were deficiencies with your River View Bungalow. We will work to fix these based on your comments. I hope you will contact me personally if you ever want to stop by again, albeit or a shorter stay. Best Regards and thank you for your comments.
Mark Bingle
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our three night stay in Carmelo at the Four Seasons was the perfect prelude to hectic Buenos Aires. The two level suite was so beautiful and accommodating that it could easily be enjoyed year round with a stone fireplace, soaking tub, and veranda. During our visit the temperatures were in the 90's so we spent hours by the gorgeous pool. I highly recommend the couples massage in the Spa as well. We had an excellent tour of a couple of wineries mainly due to the guide who provided a cultural lesson as well as a thoughtful and educational presentation on Uruguay's wineries. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews