We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
824
169
43
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
169
43
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerbi level suitebuenos airesthe riverhorseback ridingeucalyptus forestbeautiful propertyoff seasonlate checkoutsouth americabeautiful poolwine tastingrio de la platafire pitbungalowwinerypine
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the 4 Seasons Carmelo midway through a trip to Buenos Aires and Punta del Este. Located in a very rural area of western Uruguay, the hotel has the feel of a lodge, located in the woods on the banks of the Rio Plata. The two story suite was absolutely fantastic. Could have easily moved in here for awhile. Pool was large and tranquil and very restful. The hotel manager greets each arriving guest personally, by name, which is a nice touch. Only quibble: while the staff were universally polite and charming, service was definitely off. We waited nearly 45 minutes for a cocktail at the bar, while the bartender was busy staffing a private function. Same happened at dinner the next evening, when a second glass of wine was completely forgotten. And there were only 6 of us in the restaurant. If they can work out some of the shoulder season staffing issues, this will be a definite place to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic welcome, exeptional room, quality and taste. Restaurant sadly let the place down, average and expensive. When you do leave the hotel for dinner the restaurants they take you to seem to be linked to hotel and most of the hotel guest are transport to the restaurant that evening aswell so you feel a little institutionalised. In saying that Carmelo doesnt have alot to offer although we visited Don Gatto one night which was nice. Would recommend for 2/3 night relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am surprised by the reviews of this property. I just spent 7 nights there( 5 too many) and would say, save your $$. This is not at all up to the Four Seasons standards and the food is mediocre at best. We had a river view bungalow which is advertised as one of premier rooms on the property. Phone didn't work, overhead fan didn't work, tiles were missing in the shower, and to call it a " river view" was a stretch. If you want a few days of R&R post a visit to BA, ok...but if you are considering this resort as a destination by itself, I would not recommend it. On a positive note, the staff is excellent and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy400-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Andy400-11,
I am truly sorry your experience was not like other guests, and that there were deficiencies with your River View Bungalow. We will work to fix these based on your comments. I hope you will contact me personally if you ever want to stop by again, albeit or a shorter stay. Best Regards and thank you for your comments.
Mark Bingle
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our three night stay in Carmelo at the Four Seasons was the perfect prelude to hectic Buenos Aires. The two level suite was so beautiful and accommodating that it could easily be enjoyed year round with a stone fireplace, soaking tub, and veranda. During our visit the temperatures were in the 90's so we spent hours by the gorgeous pool. I highly recommend the couples massage in the Spa as well. We had an excellent tour of a couple of wineries mainly due to the guide who provided a cultural lesson as well as a thoughtful and educational presentation on Uruguay's wineries. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We're admitted Four Seasons addicts, having stayed in more than 20 around the world over the past couple years. The Carmelo resort ranks right up there with the best, and stands alone in that it's a bit different - a vineyard, forest setting but on a river bank, etc. Because of that it actually felt more relaxing than other Four Seasons resorts, and that's a tough thing to pull off. From the moment you first contact the hotel, to when the resort manager Mark greets you when you arrive, everything is perfect - and perfectly consistent. One of the big reasons we love Four Seasons is that they don't feel crowded, even in high season. This is especially true of Carmelo - we were there over Christmas and it was booked full, yet no more than half of the pool chairs were ever in use, or half the restaurant, and even spa treatments were easy to schedule. We had a bungalow and loved it, especially the lush and private outdoor shower. The 50 minute horseback riding nearby was perfect, as was dinner at the nearby Finca Narbona winery. Drive through Colonia on the way in or out and spend a couple hours - that's all that old town needs - but it's well worth it. The staff and service was perfect. My asian massage by Ida was probably one of the best I've ever had - the best happened to be at the Four Seasons Singapore and this was very very close. This Four Seasons resort is very highly recommended!

Room Tip: We liked the bungalows - more private and with the outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews