We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveler rating
835
171
43
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
171
43
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower bi level suite buenos aires the river horseback riding eucalyptus forest beautiful property off season south america late checkout beautiful pool rio de la plata fire pit wine tasting bungalow winery pine
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is a superb experience for couples looking to get some time off and experience top notch service white at it. The location is incredible, the bungalows are located in the middle of a forest overlooking the river. The restaurant is good enough, it might be even better with a bit more variety specially since its the only place where you can eat within the resort.
Overall it's one of the best hotels for some romantic time off.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

take your own ride because you will need it to get there. but even that is great because it is quiet, great location, nicely decorated, great service, excellent spa and pool etc etc. what is not to like?
not much. busy in high season and not all restaurants are open in off season but the bungalow suites are just perfect! (I only missed the real fireplace)
9 out of 10!

Room Tip: do not know how the normal rooms look but I would suggest to pay a bit more for the bungalows, they are worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Room with excellent views and decor, Spa was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very much a disappointment.

Pros
1. Nice facilities overall

Cons

1. 125 dollars per person to get from the ferry to the hotel
2. One hour drive from the ferry terminal in Colonia
3. Front desk not friendly and inefficient
4. Rooms are nice but again not up to four seasons quality
5. Room service is terrible, worst hamburger I have ever eaten.
6. Over priced for what it is.

Bottom line is this is not a typical four seasons. Four seasons needs to reevaluate this property or change management. Was overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Bgibs28,
I sincerely apologize that your experience was not up to par with Four Seasons standards that you have come to know and appreciate. Thank you for all your comments as they will provide the foundation from which we can improve.
One clarification, the price per person for transportation from Colonia to the Resort is US$60 +iva each way for the hour journey. That is about US$20 more expensive than a taxi from the street. If for some reason you were charged differently, please let me know to rectify the error.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back to give us another chance in the future. If possible, please contact me directly at the Resort to make your arrangements and restore your faith in our brand.
Best Regards,
Mark Bingle
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great for couples and families. We satayed for an aniversary with grandparents, children and grandhildren, and all of us enjoyed the stay. Great river tour, good golf, three good nearby restaurants and a great spa.

Room Tip: As close as possible to lobby
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaucho_charrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews