We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is a superb experience for couples looking to get some time off and experience top notch service white at it. The location is incredible, the bungalows are located in the middle of a forest overlooking the river. The restaurant is good enough, it might be even better with a bit more variety specially since its the only place where you can eat within the resort.
Overall it's one of the best hotels for some romantic time off.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    139
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
222
440
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

take your own ride because you will need it to get there. but even that is great because it is quiet, great location, nicely decorated, great service, excellent spa and pool etc etc. what is not to like?
not much. busy in high season and not all restaurants are open in off season but the bungalow suites are just perfect! (I only missed the real fireplace)
9 out of 10!

Room Tip: do not know how the normal rooms look but I would suggest to pay a bit more for the bungalows, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Room with excellent views and decor, Spa was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very much a disappointment.

Pros
1. Nice facilities overall

Cons

1. 125 dollars per person to get from the ferry to the hotel
2. One hour drive from the ferry terminal in Colonia
3. Front desk not friendly and inefficient
4. Rooms are nice but again not up to four seasons quality
5. Room service is terrible, worst hamburger I have ever eaten.
6. Over priced for what it is.

Bottom line is this is not a typical four seasons. Four seasons needs to reevaluate this property or change management. Was overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Bgibs28,
I sincerely apologize that your experience was not up to par with Four Seasons standards that you have come to know and appreciate. Thank you for all your comments as they will provide the foundation from which we can improve.
One clarification, the price per person for transportation from Colonia to the Resort is US$60 +iva each way for the hour journey. That is about US$20 more expensive than a taxi from the street. If for some reason you were charged differently, please let me know to rectify the error.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back to give us another chance in the future. If possible, please contact me directly at the Resort to make your arrangements and restore your faith in our brand.
Best Regards,
Mark Bingle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great for couples and families. We satayed for an aniversary with grandparents, children and grandhildren, and all of us enjoyed the stay. Great river tour, good golf, three good nearby restaurants and a great spa.

Room Tip: As close as possible to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaucho_charrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a fantastic 3 day stay at the Four Seasons Resort Carmelo and highly recommend. Our river view bungalow was wonderful, the food we had was all fantastic and the service was without equal. The resort has a everything you need for a few days of much needed relaxation, such as an indoor and outdoor pool, a fitness center, tennis courts, etc.

I suppose the only downside is that it is so nice you don't want to leave and visit the nearby town of Carmelo and the breakfast wasn't as good as the other meals.

Room Tip: The river view bungalows don't really offer much of a view so perhaps a better value might be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillEyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

This place is truly magical set deep in a forest by the water. This place is perfect for any couple or family.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmelo
4.5 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#4 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sere
Hotel Playa Sere
#6 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.4 mi away
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Carmelo
Hotel Casino Carmelo
#8 of 8 in Carmelo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.7 mi away
Posada del Navegante
Posada del Navegante
#5 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
23.1 mi away
Colonia West Hotel
Colonia West Hotel
#1 of 1 in Conchillas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel

Property: Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel
Address: Ruta 21, Km 262, Carmelo 70100, Uruguay (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Carmelo)
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently gold-listed as Uruguay's top resort, we offer 44 bungalows and bi-level luxury suites 30 minutes by plane from Buenos Aires or 2 hours by boat. Enjoy world-class golf, wine-inspired spa treatments, and dedicated service during your stay in Carmelo, Uruguay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Carmelo
Four Seasons Resort Carmelo Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Carmelo
Carmelo Four Seasons
Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel Uruguay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing