We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
827
169
43
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
169
43
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerbi level suitebuenos airesthe riverhorseback ridingeucalyptus forestbeautiful propertyoff seasonsouth americalate checkoutbeautiful poolrio de la platafire pitwine tastingbungalowwinerypine
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent five days at the Four Seasons in Carmelo. Get ready for a rural, elegant, and relaxing setting. Not much to do but enjoy the pool, food and service here. Good news all were excellent. If you are looking to relax and disappear from the world for a while this is your place. Great Four Seasons service. Really nice room. Good food. Bring a good book and enjoy. Don't go here for night life and excitement. We had a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Uruguay is one of the last best kept secret in South America. This is the felling with wich we left Four Seasons, Carmelo. The people, the place, the service, the food, all worked just fine. We were there for New Year's with another family with two children who enjoyed very much the pool, and the company of another guest children.
The fitness room is fantastic. We will definitely come back and highly recommend.
Group of 5 from Brazil.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camposfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent Christmas at this resort. It was a lovely setting and we had a very nice room. We also had a nice view. The hotel is very remote, but we had many activities. The pool was large and good seating available. Also lunch by the pool was good. Our Christmas buffet was excellent. We went fishing with a guide/boat. The fishing was not very good, but we had a fun time. We also went golfing at the golf course across the street. It was a very good course; however, beware of the large birds that nest near the sand traps. If you get too close, they will attack you. We also ate lunch at the golf club house, which was good. We visited the Narbola winery and had a nice tour of the vineyard. The dinner there was the best we had the entire vacation. Fresh pasta, fresh olive oil and their own wines. We liked the Media y Media. The resort has a business center and a nice spa. We all had massages and they were wonderful. The work out facilities were good and we also used the resort provided bicycles. They do speak good English, but knowing a little Spanish helps. We were at the resort for 4 days. We flew to the private airport from Buenos Aires. I would not recommend that. The process to go from customs to the other plane took 3 hours and we had a guide helping us! The plane ride is only 30 minutes, vs. the boat shuttle that was 1 hour and a 1 hour drive to the boat. However, the added cost of the plane was not really worth it. Overall a very nice stay and I would recommend it as a side trip from Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: The air conditioners are very cold on the bottom floor. We were in a loft room which was hot upstairs and very cold downstairs. Keep curtains pulled during the day to prevent it from getting so hot.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Amazing resort with great details and many authentic handcrafts spread allo ver the hotel. Service is out of this world - simply the best. They were doing everything possible to make our stay simply perfect. Rooms are amazing - large and very comfortable. Yes, the terrace does need some more dusting but overall, the rooms [we booked 2 rooms] were in a great condition.

Pool area is very comfortable and the pool itself is one of the best hotel pools we ever used. Food at the pool and at the restaurant is good but not more than that. Food prices are also quite high and service is pretty slow, though - after a few days in Uruguay, I felt no one in any place there is in a hurry, so maybe it is a normal practice...

The personal service we received will definitely make me come back there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Run13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Other reviewers are spot on. The hotel rooms are lovely and large, but the cleaning is not up to Four Seasons standards. The pool is great, but the service around the pool was erratic. The restaurants were quiet, and the food quality was sometime wonderful and sometimes, well, not. The resort concierges were sometimes great and sometimes less than great. We liked the location, we liked the style of the place. We had great massages. But there was not the Four Seasons crispness that there is in other properties. We enjoyed ourselves, but we thought that the property is in need of some repair and refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews