We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent four nights at the Four Seasons in Carmelo for my 40th birthday and I can safely say it was worth every cent. We decided to go for a studio which had views over the river.

We stayed in March so the resort was quiet. By arrangement the resort also served us a private dinner in our villa for my birthday without charge! When we arrived I had an issue with the softness of the bed and asked for a replacement. Within minutes the staff were there with a different mattress. It was still too soft for me so we went back to the original mattress. There were no complaints and the bed was remade again as new.

We also got a great rate. I think it was the fourth night free but the nightly rate still worked out to over $350 USD. I like luxury but am not used to paying that much. I could get used to it though after experience the great service of the resort. The service is especially noticeable during breakfast. We had salmon each morning with 4-5 lattes. Our waiter was superb and chatted with us each day in both perfect english and spanish.

The pool is beautiful in the resort and perfect for sitting around to read a book. Most of the time we felt like the resort was ours.

One thing I would say is that the extra tours (winery, gacho riding) aren't really worth the money. Everything else about this resort though it well worth it.

I have also lived in Uruguay for the last 3 years and can without a doubt say that this is the best hotel / resort in the country.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PocitosGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 943 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Spent five days at the Four Seasons in Carmelo. Get ready for a rural, elegant, and relaxing setting. Not much to do but enjoy the pool, food and service here. Good news all were excellent. If you are looking to relax and disappear from the world for a while this is your place. Great Four Seasons service. Really nice room. Good food. Bring a good book and enjoy. Don't go here for night life and excitement. We had a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Uruguay is one of the last best kept secret in South America. This is the felling with wich we left Four Seasons, Carmelo. The people, the place, the service, the food, all worked just fine. We were there for New Year's with another family with two children who enjoyed very much the pool, and the company of another guest children.
The fitness room is fantastic. We will definitely come back and highly recommend.
Group of 5 from Brazil.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camposfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent Christmas at this resort. It was a lovely setting and we had a very nice room. We also had a nice view. The hotel is very remote, but we had many activities. The pool was large and good seating available. Also lunch by the pool was good. Our Christmas buffet was excellent. We went fishing with a guide/boat. The fishing was not very good, but we had a fun time. We also went golfing at the golf course across the street. It was a very good course; however, beware of the large birds that nest near the sand traps. If you get too close, they will attack you. We also ate lunch at the golf club house, which was good. We visited the Narbola winery and had a nice tour of the vineyard. The dinner there was the best we had the entire vacation. Fresh pasta, fresh olive oil and their own wines. We liked the Media y Media. The resort has a business center and a nice spa. We all had massages and they were wonderful. The work out facilities were good and we also used the resort provided bicycles. They do speak good English, but knowing a little Spanish helps. We were at the resort for 4 days. We flew to the private airport from Buenos Aires. I would not recommend that. The process to go from customs to the other plane took 3 hours and we had a guide helping us! The plane ride is only 30 minutes, vs. the boat shuttle that was 1 hour and a 1 hour drive to the boat. However, the added cost of the plane was not really worth it. Overall a very nice stay and I would recommend it as a side trip from Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: The air conditioners are very cold on the bottom floor. We were in a loft room which was hot upstai...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Amazing resort with great details and many authentic handcrafts spread allo ver the hotel. Service is out of this world - simply the best. They were doing everything possible to make our stay simply perfect. Rooms are amazing - large and very comfortable. Yes, the terrace does need some more dusting but overall, the rooms [we booked 2 rooms] were in a great condition.

Pool area is very comfortable and the pool itself is one of the best hotel pools we ever used. Food at the pool and at the restaurant is good but not more than that. Food prices are also quite high and service is pretty slow, though - after a few days in Uruguay, I felt no one in any place there is in a hurry, so maybe it is a normal practice...

The personal service we received will definitely make me come back there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Run13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Other reviewers are spot on. The hotel rooms are lovely and large, but the cleaning is not up to Four Seasons standards. The pool is great, but the service around the pool was erratic. The restaurants were quiet, and the food quality was sometime wonderful and sometimes, well, not. The resort concierges were sometimes great and sometimes less than great. We liked the location, we liked the style of the place. We had great massages. But there was not the Four Seasons crispness that there is in other properties. We enjoyed ourselves, but we thought that the property is in need of some repair and refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Rooms were nice enough - very spacious. Housekeeping needs to pay a little more attention to detail in cleaning the terraces of the rooms etc - cobwebs and bugs weren't swept up during our 5 night stay over New Year.

The pool area is lovely and a great place to relax.

Service is VERY slow but this did improve slightly towards the end of our stay. I think they were understaffed for the New Year period.

Food was disappointing but absolutely fine if you wanted your standard hotel fare such a club sandwich. We tended to eat out at Narbona or Pedro Bastro down the road.

I thought the horse riding down the road (not owned by the hotel) was overpriced and very disappointing compared to my other experiences in Uruguay - in fact, the Gaucho was clearly grumpy and not wanting to be there which is a shame when the cost was relatively high.


If you want to experience this part of Uruguay there isn't really any other choice but I wouldn't go there thinking you were going to a traditional Four Seasons - this is clearly not up to their normal standards.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuriousliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmelo hotels
4.5 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#5 of 9 in Carmelo
192 reviews
3.0 mi away
Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
4.8 mi away
Hotel Casino Carmelo
Hotel Casino Carmelo
#9 of 9 in Carmelo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Sere
Hotel Playa Sere
#7 of 9 in Carmelo
65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Posada del Navegante
Posada del Navegante
#6 of 9 in Carmelo
29 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada CampoTinto
Posada CampoTinto
#3 of 9 in Carmelo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt

Address: Ruta 21, Km 262, Carmelo 70100, Uruguay (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Carmelo)
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range: $326 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently gold-listed as Uruguay's top resort, we offer 20 bungalows and 24 bi-level luxury suites. Located 30 minutes by plane from Buenos Aires or 2 hours by boat. Enjoy world-class golf, wine-inspired spa treatments, and dedicated service during your stay in Carmelo, Uruguay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Carmelo
Four Seasons Resort Carmelo Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Carmelo
Carmelo Four Seasons
Carmelo Resort & Spa, The Unbound Collection By Hyatt Uruguay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing