We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Meat, poor service”
Review of Don Gatto Restaurant - CLOSED

Don Gatto Restaurant
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tough Meat, poor service”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

After we were recommended this place we came in good spirits. I had the local meat from the parilla and found it to be my worst in Uruguay- full of gristle, tough, where there was meat, not tasty and half cold. The others were similarly disappointed. The "spanish" waiter- the lady spoke with a "spanish" rather than the local accent seemed to want to ignore us, when we wanted to go. I would recommend to others to avoid the place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MiddlePark_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    16
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“fabulous”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was one of the most delicious meals! A great local atmosphere with terrific service. The wine selection was vast also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelemkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Paella is a MUST”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fun meal in the town of Carmelo in Uruguay. We ventured off the resort to try a local restaurant and we were glad we did. Great ambiance, friendly service and one of the best paellas I have ever had made for a wonderful meal. The paella was perfectly prepared and super flavorful and I can see why it has been recommended by so many. The provoleta and the steak was a bit of a letdown though, but a mushroom salad was a surprise hit as well. Desserts were a bit on the too sweet side but still tasty. Definitely happy we came for a meal here though!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Shoe leather”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited with my wife and were underwhelmed with the grilled meats. We were told that native Uruguyans like their meat well done and while you can order rare it still comes out closer to well than not. The paella was very good and price was very reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank soxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great staff, great cocktails!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are a British couple and had a really great evening here at Don Gatto. The owner, Nicholas, has travelled a lot and could not have made us feel more welcome. He made awesome cocktails, helped us with phone calls regarding our next accommodation and offered to help us with anything else we needed while in Uruguay.

The restaurant is lovely - good indoor and outdoor areas, nicely lit with a huge Parilla outside to look at while also gazing at the stars.

Food was good - not amazing but good - and the menu was a good mix of salads, meats, fish and pastas without being so big you wonder if they can do it justice. All staff were v attentive and friendly. Wine was great and not expensive. All other diners were locals and the place was quite busy so it shows it must be well regarded.

Overall - best service we have had so far, great atmosphere and a hugely enjoyable evening. Thank you Don Gatto!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flower04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Gatto Restaurant also viewed

Carmelo, Colonia Department
Carmelo, Colonia Department
 
Carmelo, Colonia Department
Carmelo, Colonia Department
 
Carmelo, Colonia Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing