We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice modern hotel by the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel by the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at Los Muelles for 2 nights in May 2011. No problems arranging booking from Australia by email.

We booked the suite which is all by itself on the top floor of the hotel so we could have a bit more room. The down side to this is there is a very steep spiral staircase that was impossible to take our suitcases up and there are no lifts in the building. Along with other guests, we had to place our suitcases in a cupboard near reception and continually go there each time we needed something and had forgotten to take it upstairs.

The room was nicely furnished and had large windows so that we could make the most of the river view. From our window we could also see the ferry dock (just across the road) - so this would be an ideal place to stay if you wanted to catch the ferry to Buenos Aires from Carmelo.

Our room had a small bathroom, with a shower, but I noticed another room on a lower floor had some sort of spa bath in it. There was tv and air con and a cupboard to hang our clothes.

Breakfast was included in the price and was a continental buffet.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a bar/cafe on the ground floor. In room massages are also available - ask reception to arrange.

There is no onsite car parking, but we were just able to park outside the front of the hotel, where it was very quiet and not a lot of traffic.

Los Muelles is within walking distance of shops and most restaurants. We did drive to Don Gattos one night following a recommendation from the hotel, but we did not enjoy the food we had so did not go back again. Another night we went to a pizza place that was in the middle of town and had a very enjoyable meal and it was crowded with locals, so I suppose this is always an indication that the food must be okay.

One thing that was a bit offputting is the number of seemingly homeless dogs that hang around the dock and town, Because we just about walked everywhere, the dogs would start following us in the hope of food. While they seemed friendly enough, they would leave our sides and chase motorcycles and cars and I was so scared they would get injured it really began to stress me out, so we tried to avoid being too friendly with the dogs and hope they would find someone else to follow.

Whilst in the area we went for a drive to Nueva Palmira and admired the nice riverside area and dock.

Overall, there is a pleasant feel to Carmelo, but the many motor bikes roaring up and down the streets can be a bit noisy.

Los Muelles was in a very peaceful setting by the river and off the main streets. I would stay here again but maybe not on the top floor if I had big suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    52
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
166
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We came here for a weekend out of BsAs. Carmelo is nice in its being completely opposite the chaos of the city. But this hotel is the nicest part of Carmelo. Nice rooms (ours had a little balconette), nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingteacup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We had wanted to stay in Colonia del Sacramento but, as we wanted to stay over the weekend and it i was high season, were unable to find anything available at a reasonable price. I looked on trip advisor and saw that Los Muelles hotel had excellent reviews, so we booked to stay there for 3 nights. We didn't regret it at all. The hotel was quiet, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, had all the luxuries in the room such as fluffy towels and, probably most important of all, had wonderful staff who did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We enjoyed Carmelo and it was very easy to catch the bus to Colonia, which we would highly recommend. Another unexpected advantage of this hotel, for us, was that it is a 30 metre walk to the boat which goes to Tigre and Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bs. As.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel is superb. Service was amazing as was the decor of the hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms are really nice and the service is 5 star. The location is great. Thank you so so much to everyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSBAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is the place to go if you are looking for peace, relaxation and the latest design trends.
Not too big, not too small, just the perfect size to feel luxuriously at home
Incredible interior design datails and art pieces combined with escellent service.
Everyone is devoted to make you have the time of your life, wondering if there´s anything else they can do to make you even more comfortable.
Whatever you need they will eagerly provide it: restaurant recomendation, touristic information or the perfect cup of coffee by the fireplace.
Every corner of this boutique hotel is preciously decorated with objects from all over the world and pieces of art made specially for the hotel by artists from many countries.
Don´t miss it if you are in Uruguay, it´s really a jewel by the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank src_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

If you are looking for something different, this is the place. A wonderfull mini resort to explore your imagination!!! Every trip will make you want to come back for more.
All the rooms are totaly different, astonishing tastes in the decorations transports your mind through journys of all kind. The service was great, we were warmly recieved by everyone, most important if you are traveling with children!! Advice...dont miss it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra_80_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmelo hotels
0.7 mi away
Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
8.8 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#4 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Carmelo
Hotel Casino Carmelo
#8 of 8 in Carmelo
3.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Navegante
Posada del Navegante
#6 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#7 of 8 in Carmelo
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carmelo Resort & Spa. A Hyatt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Muelles Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Muelles Boutique Hotel

Property: Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
Address: Wilson Ferreyra 219, Carmelo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Los Muelles Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Carmelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing