We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for your money and Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for your money and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to any traveler on a budget that is looking for great service and a convenient location to explore Sharjah and/or Dubai. The location is convenient to anywhere in Sharjah, but do not expect a beachfront location, although rooms on the higher floors have views of the Lagoon. I was upgraded to a superior kingsize room for free as a priority rewards member.. Most likely if you are considering staying at this hotel, you are looking to save money and you will not be disappointed with the value of your dollar. Staff were extremely friendly and service was among the best I have received in recent memory. Do not expect modern amenities, common areas or leisure areas, but given the price of the rooms, you really shouldn't expect to. The service was 5 star plus, while everything else was 3 star, which is ok for the $65 USD I paid per night to stay here/

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhantomTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    114
    57
    22
    16
See reviews for
92
71
40
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Service was the worst i came across in any five star hotel. Staff is very rude, not at all caring for the guests. either they dont care for the things you asked or provide after hrs when you dont need them. Dont provide water in rooms. Mini bar was kept empty to avoid their work load. Dont know anything, couldnt even explain the way, how to reach to the hotel, even when we were so close to the hotel. Some of them dont understand English properly. Food choice is not there. just one restaurant, that too open like a lobby, doesnt look like a restaurant. another worse part was Hotel recetion at third floor. Dont know did they get five star rating. Please do not go to this hotel, if you dont want to spoil your mood & the whole trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0mad2010Oman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was our second visit at this Holiday Inn Sharjah. Compared to the last year the price had gone down and the service quality has gone up.

We enjoyed again the big sized rooms.

What I have to say about this hotel is that the price and what you get for it is really amazing. The prices for room service are very reasonable, the cost per night was definitely very reasonable, and as we were staying for two weeks that is a factor.

The staff were really doing everything to make us feel well served and comfortable.

Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I Stayed here for 4 nights, Initially I had booked for 3 nights then extended for 1 more day.

Staff wanted to swipe my Credit card again for the extended day, I assured them I'll settle while I check out, though I had more than 60000 points in my loyalty card with the group.

Power went off in my room on top floor, then they shifted to 4th floor, not so great one .

Parking and pool is available, near to Dubai.

Don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaisonguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been carefully reviewed by our management.

We regret any inconvenience caused and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked through the ICHotelsgroup website. What a place! Maybe the rooms, decoration, etc, is not up to 5 star, but for sure the size of the room, ours was +100Sqm was just amazing. We were with 2 persons, had 2 bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen. We had to shout to eachother if one was in the bedroom and the other in the kitchen, so huge. Really a great experience. For the rest, the bedrooms were very nice, the room was very clean. Overall a fantastic experience.
Breakfast was not extremely special, but for a European there were so many interesting dishes to sample from that is was every morning a pleasant thing to go for breakfast. The hotel is located in a nice part of Sharjah and you can make some nice walks around the lagoon. "behind" the hotel you can find little restaurants and we ate there. Delicious, they didn't cook out of the menu, but what we requested.
If you are for business in Dubai, this might not be a good place to stay as it takes about 1.5 hour in rushhour to go through the traffic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Our two bedrooms suite area is approximately 116 sqm, the one bedroom suite is 69 sqm and the standard room is 39 sqm

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Arrived in Dubai (DXB) took a 40 AED night taxi ride to the hotel. Check in on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was ok. Staff was real helpful in me obtaining a mail courier service and had no issues getting a taxi from the doorman (less that 30 seconds, twice).
Sharjah City Center (Mall)(Carrefour store) is less than 10 minutes walk away (fast food court). Hotel is attached to a department store (no food or clothes).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were in Sharjah for an exhibition. The big plus for the hotel is that the suite we got was so big you got the idea you could play football in it. Plenty of furniture, tables, so we were able to work with several people. Free internet was a plus as well. What was lacking was the competence of the staff connected to the room service. The same dish ordered on different days was quite different every time you got it. It took a long time until room service came. But overall the experience was good. It is a clean and nice hotel, and as I say, the space in the room is amazing. If you would go wtih a whole family, this would be perfect. Also if you have several people who need to work and need tables and work stations, this is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been considerably reviewed by our management.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 79 in Sharjah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Sharjah
Grand Hotel Sharjah
#11 of 79 in Sharjah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday International Sharjah
7.6 mi away
Centro Sharjah
Centro Sharjah
#3 of 79 in Sharjah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Property: Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Address: King Faisal St, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sharjah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Excelsior Sharjah 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Sharjah enjoys one of the most central locations in Sharjah, ideally located just 10 minutes from Sharjah International Airport, 15 minutes from Dubai International Airport and 25 minutes from Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road , subject to traffic. The Five star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 180 spacious rooms including one and two bedroom suites, all rooms are equipped with high-speed internet access and living area. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. A complimentary shuttle bus is available on a daily basis to the beach. Our all day dining restaurant Al Dana is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in the lobby lounge which is open round the clock for meals and refreshments. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 220 people. Executive and suite room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Sharjah include the Blue Souq, City centre Mall, Sharjah Business District and The American University of Sharjah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sharjah Hotel Sharjah
Sharjah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing