We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat Governorate, Oman
1 review
“Average Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I Stayed here for 4 nights, Initially I had booked for 3 nights then extended for 1 more day.

Staff wanted to swipe my Credit card again for the extended day, I assured them I'll settle while I check out, though I had more than 60000 points in my loyalty card with the group.

Power went off in my room on top floor, then they shifted to 4th floor, not so great one .

Parking and pool is available, near to Dubai.

Don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaisonguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been carefully reviewed by our management.

We regret any inconvenience caused and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    114
    57
    22
    16
See reviews for
92
71
40
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked through the ICHotelsgroup website. What a place! Maybe the rooms, decoration, etc, is not up to 5 star, but for sure the size of the room, ours was +100Sqm was just amazing. We were with 2 persons, had 2 bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen. We had to shout to eachother if one was in the bedroom and the other in the kitchen, so huge. Really a great experience. For the rest, the bedrooms were very nice, the room was very clean. Overall a fantastic experience.
Breakfast was not extremely special, but for a European there were so many interesting dishes to sample from that is was every morning a pleasant thing to go for breakfast. The hotel is located in a nice part of Sharjah and you can make some nice walks around the lagoon. "behind" the hotel you can find little restaurants and we ate there. Delicious, they didn't cook out of the menu, but what we requested.
If you are for business in Dubai, this might not be a good place to stay as it takes about 1.5 hour in rushhour to go through the traffic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Our two bedrooms suite area is approximately 116 sqm, the one bedroom suite is 69 sqm and the standard room is 39 sqm

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Arrived in Dubai (DXB) took a 40 AED night taxi ride to the hotel. Check in on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was ok. Staff was real helpful in me obtaining a mail courier service and had no issues getting a taxi from the doorman (less that 30 seconds, twice).
Sharjah City Center (Mall)(Carrefour store) is less than 10 minutes walk away (fast food court). Hotel is attached to a department store (no food or clothes).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were in Sharjah for an exhibition. The big plus for the hotel is that the suite we got was so big you got the idea you could play football in it. Plenty of furniture, tables, so we were able to work with several people. Free internet was a plus as well. What was lacking was the competence of the staff connected to the room service. The same dish ordered on different days was quite different every time you got it. It took a long time until room service came. But overall the experience was good. It is a clean and nice hotel, and as I say, the space in the room is amazing. If you would go wtih a whole family, this would be perfect. Also if you have several people who need to work and need tables and work stations, this is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been considerably reviewed by our management.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Be warned, despite the hotel claiming being a 5 star , it is actually a 3 star hotel. Otherwise this is a good hotel to stay in Sharjah despite the inconsistent attitude of reception staff.

Reception is awkwardly located on the 3rd floor, checkin was smooth. When we got in our rooms we were impressed by the space and decor, bed was very spacious, tv and other facilties were standard, bathroom was well equipped.

Room service was faboulous, quality of room-dining food was superb and we mainly dined from that. The hotel has limited things to do except for a small pool on the roof, with shabby views of old broken buildings rooftops filled with antennas and dishes.

We had issues with the reception staff at checkout, bad attitude and very un-proffesional. But we're willing to overlook it being the fact our expectations were low for this place to start with.

Overall if you plan to stay in Sharjah, and looking for a safe hotel in good location, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingtheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayinnSharjah, Director of Sales at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Firstly we would like to extend our sincere appreciation for choosing Holiday Inn Sharjah!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that has been carefully reviewed by our management and needed actions were taken.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Sharjah

Fadi Ammache
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for few nights.
It’s located near Sharjah City center, near the way from Sharjah to Dubai.

The location is good, but the traffic would kill you, especially during working hours.

The hotel is clean and nice, but don’t expect much, I mean it has almost everything (swimming pool, good size rooms, car parking, etc), but it’s not luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khalid606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Terrible hotel. Although it is only a few years old, it looks like it is about 20 years old. Beware of the "mini bar". The fridge in the room isn't marked as a "mini bar" and there are just a few things in it. With no price list, it is impossible to determine if these things are complementary. I assure you, they are not, even the water. The food is average but expensive. The hotel is also located in a terrible area with nothing to do. Spend a little extra and stay someplace in Dubai. It is just a few minutes south of Sharjah and there is a lot of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 79 in Sharjah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Sharjah
Grand Hotel Sharjah
#11 of 79 in Sharjah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday International Sharjah
7.6 mi away
Centro Sharjah
Centro Sharjah
#3 of 79 in Sharjah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Property: Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Address: King Faisal St, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sharjah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Excelsior Sharjah 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Sharjah enjoys one of the most central locations in Sharjah, ideally located just 10 minutes from Sharjah International Airport, 15 minutes from Dubai International Airport and 25 minutes from Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road , subject to traffic. The Five star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 180 spacious rooms including one and two bedroom suites, all rooms are equipped with high-speed internet access and living area. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. A complimentary shuttle bus is available on a daily basis to the beach. Our all day dining restaurant Al Dana is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in the lobby lounge which is open round the clock for meals and refreshments. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 220 people. Executive and suite room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Sharjah include the Blue Souq, City centre Mall, Sharjah Business District and The American University of Sharjah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sharjah Hotel Sharjah
Sharjah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing