We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Nearby Hotels
$117
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Sharjah(Sharjah)
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah(Sharjah)(Great Value!)
$55
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Sharjah(Sharjah)(Great Value!)
$46
$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Grand Suite Hotel(Sharjah)(Great Value!)
$54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
174
114
57
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
114
57
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday innthe rooftop swimming poolindian restaurantreception staffking size bedan assetvalet parkingstandard roomthe ground floorpleasant staytea and coffeenice viewmega mallper dayroom service iseasy accessan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 383 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for few nights.
It’s located near Sharjah City center, near the way from Sharjah to Dubai.

The location is good, but the traffic would kill you, especially during working hours.

The hotel is clean and nice, but don’t expect much, I mean it has almost everything (swimming pool, good size rooms, car parking, etc), but it’s not luxuries.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khalid606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Terrible hotel. Although it is only a few years old, it looks like it is about 20 years old. Beware of the "mini bar". The fridge in the room isn't marked as a "mini bar" and there are just a few things in it. With no price list, it is impossible to determine if these things are complementary. I assure you, they are not, even the water. The food is average but expensive. The hotel is also located in a terrible area with nothing to do. Spend a little extra and stay someplace in Dubai. It is just a few minutes south of Sharjah and there is a lot of things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Stayed for a week in an executive room at Holiday Inn Sharjah, Second visit to the hotel, it is centrally located in Sharjah very close to the Lagoon. The hotel is tucked away off King Faisal Street. May be difficult to find first time around.

As noted before, the lobby is on the 3rd floor. Check-in was fairly smooth, our room was on 11th floor and overlooked the lagoon. The room itself was spacious and divided into a living area and the bedroom space. There were two work desks, a large kitchenette worktop with sink, fridge and tea/coffee facilities.

A bowl of fruit was brought up on the first day - nice touch

Breakfast consisted of hot/cold buffet with fresh fruits, range of breads etc and eggs cooked by the chef upon demand. It was replenished quite frequently and the staff were friendly and attentive.

Had an Iftar Buffet on one of the evenings, the food was extensive quite reasonably priced and delicious. Used the pool everyday, the area was very clean and the staff always friendly and helpful without fail. Room service a couple of times, food arrived quickly and the food hot and tasty.

Down side was the reception staff attitude at times. On the whole they were satisfactory and sometimes above average. There was one individual who to be perfectly honest should not be in the industry let alone be let loose with the public

There was an issue that she could not sort out, three times I asked her to do it, to no avail. Other occasions she frowned at me and other guests when she was asked a question. One guest was ordered to 'SIT DOWN' while she tried to locate his reservation.

Having said this the hotel is of excellent standard, maybe not quite 5 stars but nethertheless very good for a week's stay. It is the shame that the reception staff's attitude marr the otherwise excellent standards of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I was booked into the Holiday Inn Sharjah by my client as it was not too far from the office.

I arrived from Dubai in the early hours of the morning and entered the lobby only to be told to go to the third floor. Strange entrance.

The receptionist could not find my booking so I produced the documents I had been sent which was just as well. It transpired that my name had been incorrectly spelled which caused the confusion as well as being referred to by my first name (a common occurrence in non English speaking countries).

I was given a room on the 11th floor which was wonderful. The room was split into sleeping and sitting areas both of which were well furnished. The general cleanliness was ok but I had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned again as it was not up to standard on a couple of occasions. In a hot climate like the Middle East this can lead to serious health complaints.

The breakfast was nothing exceptional and the food was left out for the flies to enjoy.

I ate dinner at the hotel a few times, it was good food but nothing exciting. The staff were attentive enough but a major drawback was that people were allowed to smoke in the restaurant. I do not like eating with people smoking and asked the people on the next table if they could stop smoking. They pretended not to understand so I moved away. The staff seemed indifferent to this which was unfortunate as customer service is surely important.

I tried to change UK money at the reception and had a stand up argument with cashier because I had Scottish bank notes which they would not exchange because they were not UK notes. I explained that they were legal but he was adamant they were not. (on returning to UK I wrote to the Royal Bank of Scotland and they recommended that in future I should take Bank of England notes to avoid such arguments.) Eventually the money was exchanged but only after a great deal of hassle.

There is a small swimming pool on the roof of the hotel where you can relax in the smogshine and look at the building of skyscrapers and the shimmering desert heat. The pool is so small that one stroke takes you from one end to the other. But after a hard day in the office it is better than nothing.

The area around the hotel is typical Middle Eastern / Indian with a variety of clothes shops, grocery stores, electrical outlets and shopping malls. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity of which the Chinese is probably the best. I tried a lot of the Indian restaurants which were also good value for money with excellent food. Beware of the over selling and deliberate misunderstanding of what you really want. I was once served more food than I had ordered and had to pay for it when the waiter explained that this was in fact my order.

Taxis are a nightmare! The poor porter was dispatched to get me a taxi and it took 30 to 40 minutes each time. The drivers do not speak English and each time something got lost in translation as I was always taken to the wrong office. 10 minutes walking in the heat is not recommended!

Back to the hotel, the laundry service was great, always on time and always correct.

The porters and security staff were polite and friendly.
Receptionists had an attitude which was not customer focused.
Restaurant staff were attentive but reluctant to challenge customers who were smoking.
The room was great, cannot fault it.

I was there for 11 nights, would I go back? Probably would return because it is better than some of the other hotels I have stayed in in Sharjah. But I would like to see if there are better hotels.

Some points to note is that Thai Airlines use this hotel as a stop over. 70% of the United Arab Emirates are non-Arab. The majority of the non-Arab population in the UAE are Indian. English is widely spoken but not well understood!
The Cornishe souk is worth visiting but be prepared to say "no thank you, just looking" a lot of the time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We only stayed one night as a stopover between flights in and out of Dubai Int. which was not long enough to appreciate this lovely hotel. Its about a £15 taxi ride to & from the airport but it only takes about 20 minutes out of rush hour which is about the same as Dubai city I believe. The benefit is you get a lovely new hotel for far less money than an old dump in Dubai will cost. We got our room for a bargain 10,000 Priority Club Rewards points = FREE (my favourite word!!) Staff lovely, surroundings rather 'suburban' but very reasonably priced. Ideal for a stopover but the wrong location for a week's holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews