We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgustingly poor service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am not sure what started hotel this is, but it surely ha device equivalent to a 0 star primitive lodge that I might pay around 3 dollars per night for.
The service quality is pathetic, actually I wonder if they have been trained to be rude and unhelpful to guests. For instance, even the toilet paper is not replenished in the bathroom and I have to keep reminding them to do it every evening I come back to the hotel. Secondly, used cutlery isn't cleared from the room every day. Laundry bags have to be called for every morning. The list is endless. My house maid back at home does a better job at housekeeping than this hotel. I will not wish this hotel even upon my worst enemy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek S, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on the tripadvisor website. We regret to know that we didn't live up to your expectations and we do apologize if we have come for any short of meeting it.
We will keep in touch with you to understand further about your comments.
Let me assure you that your comments is extremely valuable to us and it has been shared with our concerned team members for the most appropriate action.
Our service foundation is built on anticipating and exceeding our guests needs as their satisfaction is our ultimate goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    114
    57
    22
    16
See reviews for
92
71
40
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Hotel Holiday Inn in Sharjah is excellent place to stay with the perfect location.The ethinic beauty and other hospitality provided by the Hotel are excellent in condition.The services are in up to the mark.

Room Tip: Corner room has good scenic beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topgun_1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek S, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear topgun_1700, thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Sharjah.
We are more than happy to know that you have liked the hotel location, and enjoyed the service and hospitality extended by our team.
All your kind comments is truly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Arriving at the hotel after a long flight my room was available within 5 minutes after arriving (even though it was only 11:00). The spacious room on the 11th floor was spotless and quiet. Breakfast and lunch (I attended a conference at the hotel) was tasty. I enjoyed the traditional Middle Eastern dishes. The only negative was the attitude of the staff during the first day’s (5th February) lunch served for academics attending the ITE-conference. Four gentlemen inspected our lunch-tickets as if we were all criminals trying to have a free lunch. Luckily this unwelcoming, military attitude was no noticeable during the last two days of the conference.
The hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance of the lagoon, and within easy walking distance of the Central Souk. I really enjoyed walking along the lagoon on a late Friday afternoon. Families were having a relaxing afternoon under die palms in a green manmade park. It should be noted that the wind is rather chilly in the late afternoon/evening during February.
Transport by taxi from Dubai airport will set you back 75 AED and from the hotel in Sharjah to Dubai between 65 and 70 AED.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreneBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareks1973, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear CoreneBloemfontein,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the service you received. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class excellence. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back in Sharjah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Arriving at the hotel on a very busy weekend, I was welcomed with fast service and an immediate room! Friendly, helpful staff, large clean comfortable rooms, all made for a relaxing weekend. Priority Pass Gold Pass benefits are superb, including the room upgrade!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, GOOD SHOPPING LOCATION, EASE OF PARKING AND HOTEL & LOCAL TRANSPORT. GREAT VALUE AS WELL.

Room Tip: All rooms have good facilities. Lagoon facing rooms are best view and suites are superb. All rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareks1973, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear rb,

Thank your for choosing our Holiday Inn Sharjah for your recent stay. We really appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback and were delighted to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel because of the service and recognition being an IHG Rewards Gold member.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is my second stay in Holiday Inn Sharjah and actually a two long stays for the purpose of business trips, my current stay was like 45 days.

The hotel is really neat and amazing, best part of it I liked about was the staff there.
They are really helpful and all the time ready to assist with a smile.
On my birthday they sent me a sweet complimentary cake which really left a great impression for me on how much they are keen for their guests.

They offered me an upgraded great room with lagoon view, Which was clean and the housekeeping was always on time.

The hotel is near from lots of facilities like markets, a City Center mall and some restaurants

for sure I would recommend the hotel for anyone and will be happy to visit it again in near future :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareks1973, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mohamed E,

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to post your feedback during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Sharjah. It was certainly a pleasant to have you as our valuable guest. We are delighted to know that your stay was excellent and you enjoyed the surprise birthday cake we prepared for you.

Please recommend Holiday Inn Sharjah to your family and friends. We are proud to welcome satisfied clientele and look forward in hosting you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1night using loyalty points. Got upgraded to suite and late checkouts. The service was very good. It is something that they obviously work at.

Hotel is a bit tired but room was spacious and clean. Internet speed ok.
Didn't use the facilities or restaurant. Has the seafood grill for room service but this was a bad choice.

Location is ok but requires taxi for the blue souq or corniche.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareks1973, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Syd M,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Sharjah. We are delighted to see your comments about our good service. Your candid feedback will help us to understand what we do well, and what we need to focus on improving.


Again, thank you and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel about 7 years ago and had a good impression. So I suggested to my wife that we spend a couple of nights there at Xmas time.

It's a nice hotel but getting a little tired. Superb lobby and the front desk staff was helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a suite - this was most elegant. Sitting area, dining area, huge bedroom.

Strangely a lot of the literature is in Russian - this seems to reflect the clientele. There were certainly a lot of russians in the hotel. And we went across the road to an Indian Restaurant - the guy seemed surprised that we (white skinned people) could speak english!

Sharjah is a nice place. The bus tour is good and it's easy to walk to the corniche.

Sharjah is, of course, dry. In fact it's so dry that 'malted drinks' are not even available in supermarkets.

Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had a glimpse of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareks1973, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Sharjah. It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy you spent Christmas with us. We are delighted to hear that you were upgraded and that you liked the room.

Again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 79 in Sharjah
1,289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
0.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday International Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Sharjah
Golden Tulip Sharjah
#8 of 79 in Sharjah
185 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sharjah
Copthorne Hotel Sharjah
#9 of 79 in Sharjah
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Property: Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Address: King Faisal St, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sharjah
#4 Business Hotel in Sharjah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Excelsior Sharjah 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Sharjah enjoys one of the most central locations in Sharjah, ideally located just 10 minutes from Sharjah International Airport, 15 minutes from Dubai International Airport and 25 minutes from Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road , subject to traffic. The Five star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 180 spacious rooms including one and two bedroom suites, all rooms are equipped with high-speed internet access and living area. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. A complimentary shuttle bus is available on a daily basis to the beach. Our all day dining restaurant Al Dana is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in the lobby lounge which is open round the clock for meals and refreshments. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 220 people. Executive and suite room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Sharjah include the Blue Souq, City centre Mall, Sharjah Business District and The American University of Sharjah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sharjah Hotel Sharjah
Sharjah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing