We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katis Restaurant”
Review of Katis Restaurant

Katis Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 1,347 Restaurants in Sharjah
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Katis is a small Indo-China town, where "Excellence is not a skill, but an Attitude" - an Attitude drafted so well, that it re-defines taste.At Katis, Your Satisfaction is our Motto !!Katis is located on the Al Khan Street, near Al Qasba and the Eye of the Emirates. It is just Opposite Safeer Market (Please note it's Not 'Safeer Mall'!).
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

We were invited for a review at one of the oldest restaurant in Sharjah. Despite serving for so many years, Katis is still a hidden gem ....with very less social media exposure.
The place is small & the Interiors are done in a very simple way. They have enough indoor seating & fee outside seatings too. Staff is really good & friendly.

So..... coming back to food,
From their starters menu, we ordered ....
- we started with hot & sour soup ....just a perfect way to start.
- Chicken schezwan momos.... one of the best Momos I had after ages .... Steamed momos with schecwan sauce on it. Spices up & hitting your taste buds perfectly.
- Chicken tikka...... served in a very simple way .... but If you want to have some traditional & cult tikka then this is the place which won’t disappoint you.
- Paneer Tikka- deliciously cooked with perfect blend of spices.
- Chicken Kathi roll & Paneer Kathi roll...... these were the choice of my nephews who went with me for this review. ... & they loved it.

From the main course, we opt for ....
- Vegetable Kolhapuri...... a mix of vegetable blended well with Indian spices ... tempered with red chilly & garnished with coriander & tomato slices .... yummmmm
- Chicken Tikka Masala..... It was seriously finger licking good ..
- Chicken Handi Biryani....... served in the clay handi ... served with raita ... it was perfect.

From the breads section, we had their Keema Paratha & some mix variety of Naan .... that’s the best accomplishments with the Indian curries.

From the desserts we had their Gulab Jamun .... served really hot ... can’t say that they were perfect ... just okay for me.

To sum it all ...... if you are looking for good food which is pocket friendly too .... it’s one of the best option. Like it’s said that “Never judge a book by its cover.” Like wise never judge any restaurant by its looks ... but only by the quality of food they serve.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Foodbatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Good food
Love the kathi rolls and chicken malai tikka
Fish ajwani tikka
We have ordered most of the food from menu in different occasion
Good hospitality

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ImranS1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Was invited for a review at one of the cult restaurant in sharjah. One thing which was quiet shocking that the restaurant have quiet good rating and have maintained it for years and still not making some news on social media. Interiors arent catchy as when you compare with few restaurants. I found it simple and soothing They have enough seating facility for dine in and parking also shouldnt be a problem. Staffs are good at service as well.

So we started our meal with

Chicken schezwan momos : Steamed momos with schecwan sauce on it. Spices up and hitting your taste buds perfectly.

Chicken tikka : If you want to have some traditional and cult tikka then this is the place which wont disappoint you.

Chicken and egg kati roll : I am a big fan of kati rolls especially when i visit india(pune) i make sure to have them. Chicken pieces were really well cooked. Great taste and you could enjoy your meal with each bite.

Chicken Kolhapuri & Tandoori Roti :- Here when i mention Spicy i seriously mean it. It was spicy and yum. If you love some spciy dish then this is the one. Roti was served warm and fresh. Enjoyed every bit of it.

Chicken Handi Biryani : If i make a list of top 5 biryanis to have in sharjah, then this place chicken biryani has to be in it. Very well cooked. Spices used to perfection.Tasted awsome. Loved it.

Sweet Lassi : Traditional sweet lassi to end our amazing dinner.

Overall a really satisfying place if you are looking for good food which is not too heavy on your wallet as well. Food wise it was outstanding. Hardly any flaws but they could work on few things which is their ambiance, interiors to make it more attractive. Presentation of the food which according to me is least important but here if they want attract people a few work on presentation can do wonders. Food was amazing and not to be missed surely. Its a thumbs up

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Vacationer751653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I swear, if I wasn't guded by navigation, I would not have found the place. Its exterior and interior are quite plain. That being said, the personell was very nice and the food was good and reasonably priced. If you like Indian food or are not affraid to try it, I can definitely recomend this one.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Bogdan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Katis restaurant has been around for 12 years in Sharjah and I am stunned on how I could have missed this amazing restaurant serving delicious Indian and Chinese cuisine up till now! Located in the midst of Sharjah, Katis has undergone a major change in the past 5 months with the change in management and owners.
Mr. Mujeeb the owner; a humble gentleman, has made a number changes from the decor to starting deliveries and taking up catering orders as well. A very simple decor welcomes you with a few tables inside. They have seating available in the open which may be difficult during the summers.
Our feast began with a special appetizer, Schezwan Momo's. Well cooked and steamed chicken minced momo's dipped and served with delicious schezwan sauce . Delectable and a must try.
Next hopped on to the Singapori Chicken. Crispy pieces of chicken served in a mild spicy sautéed gravy. Great taste and quantity.
Next we were served the Mix Platter. A generous plate of tikka's and kabab,hot and fresh just out of the bbq were served. Well marinated, juicy, tender, aromatic tikka and kabab hit the taste buds perfectly.
For the mains, we had the Chicken Tikka Masala along with Lacha Paratha. Amazing taste of tikka masala felt in every bite we took of the chicken tikka masala with soft parathas. Mouth watering!
Also tried out the Mixed Hakka Noodles. Mix of chicken, prawns and veggies with a touch of Indo-Chinese in the noodles. Huge quantity and what lovely taste.
I was intrigued by the mention of Hydrabadi Biryani so just had to have it, though it's on trial and not on the menu yet. Like all the dishes the biryani was impeccable. The rice, chicken, spiciness, masala were blissful!
For drinks, we had the Sweet Lassi which was delightful. If you are looking for a change try the Mint Lassi that cools the stomach. Need to digest the food? then go for a refreshing Fresh Lime Soda.
For desserts had the soft and tasteful Gulab Jamun. Tiramisu soufflé was another not too sweet and perfectly balanced dessert.
I am so amazed by the quality and taste of Katis that this is surely going to be in my top indo-chinese restaurants. With pocket friendly prices Katis is a must to go to restaurant with friends and family!!


Date of visit: May 2018
Thank aliasgarmc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Katis, Owner at Katis Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Mr. Ali,

Thank you so much for being with us and sharing your detailed experience on Tripadvisor...does mean a lot to us. It was indeed an honor to host you at our restaurant.

As our constant endeavor to excel, your positive comments and high rating would go a long way to encourage our team and the staff is really excited after reading your feedback.

The recently introduced Hyderabadi Dum Biryani and Tiramisu are already a hit with our customers along with our all time favorites momos (Steamed, Schezwan, Tandoori), kati rolls and kebabs and of course the Handi Biryani.

Looking forward to serve you again...

Regards,

The Katis Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katis Restaurant also viewed

Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 

Been to Katis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing