We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big scam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Sharjah
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked this hotel thru my credit card reward point and prepaid the accommodation. When I checked in this hotel, I was asked for my credit card for incidental charge of 300 aed. When I got back to US, I found the hotel did not refund my 300 incidental charge. I filed a dispute with my credit card company. This hotel claimed the 300 aed was my accomodation charge. What a liar! I ended up paying over $150 usd for the room. For this price, I can get a much better accomodation somewhere. Don't fall in this scam.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We regret to know about the inconvenience that you experienced related to the charges for your recent stay at the Sharjah Rotana.

In order for us to do the immediate investigation and apposite action, we highly appreciate if you can provide us more details i.e. complete name and period of stay, which you can send directly to Sharjah.hotel@rotana.com.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely yours,
Mohamed Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We all loved this hotel; myself, wife and 2-year old daughter. Sharjah lacks hotels as good as this and so we were caught by surprise. We had to stay in Sharjah this time because all the good hotels in Dubai were fully booked. This was a blessing in disguise as we wouldn't have come to know of Sharjah Rotana. I highly recommend for those looking for overall satisfaction and value for money at the same time.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less noise from the surrounding dense traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khalfan_Oman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience in Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated since this would serve as a proof of our continuous endeavor to meeting guests’ satisfaction at all times.

It is such a delight to hear from you about your recent stay in our hotel. Eventually this would give everyone from my team that level of encouragement, knowing that we made your stay a memorable experience for you and for your family.

With utmost gratitude, I hope to welcome you back to Sharjah Rotana one of these days.

Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really a Value for money. A Business hotel in center of Sharjah, with nearby market and business centers. Only thing i did not like was the service was bit delay, although the staff were good. They were having wifi internet in the lobby and free of cost. I liked the location most because it was nearby a money exchange mobile shops so that i could recharge my mobile number of times. Business Center was also good

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalit_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments especially with the location, and staff of our hotel. On the other hand, we have also noted your concerns with regards to the delay in service, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. I have addressed the matter with all colleagues concerned and we are looking to improve on the area mentioned.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Sharjah Rotana. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

this hotel ranked no. 2 in sharjah? that was seriously overrated. the hotel located in the middle of sharjah city. it was a concrete block sitting right in a traffic junction with one way traffic system. it was surrounded by very busy roads and flyovers, so all we could see was cars and dust. sharjah city centre traffic was really bad. we wasted a lot time stucked in traffic whenever going in and out the hotel. hotel carpark was in basement and valet parking was efficient; however, there was no waiting space for car outside hotel, very awkward for drivers to pick up guests. and do expect the driver to be late due to traffic around the hotel. the hotel design was very blend and lack of facilities; don't bother with the swimming pool, it was a triangular shaped big bathtub, a few children with a ball would fill up the entire pool. it was surrounded by concrete on all sides and being overlooked by all the guest rooms above, you can hardly see any sky, the hotel supplied photo was very deceiving, it was nothing like that at all. the gym was tiny too. there was a steam sauna inside changing room but looked really dirty and old. the whole "leisure" facilities were a joke. we were in beautiful UAE with all the sunshine sea and sand but stucked in this concrete block in the middle of constant traffic pollution. the hotel offered coupon to nearby private beach in another hotel for 30 AED. So we bought the coupons and drove to that hotel in Ajman, what a change of scene. should have stayed there instead. there was a mosque near the hotel, so don't expect a good night sleep, you can hear very loud praying call at 4am and 7am everyday.

the hotel room was good size, there were plenty of wardrobe space, there was a small fridge, a safe, hairdryer, flat screen tv with a few english speaking channels, complimentary tea coffee, bottled water, shoe shine, sewing kit. bathroom was also good size with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, shower cap, vanity kit etc. all complimentary items were replentished generously everyday includng bottled water. room was clean and comfortable. however, internet was very expensive, 25 AED per hour and 100 AED per day.

breakfast had reasonable range of choice. setting was poor, surrounded by concrete walls with windows looking out to cars and roads. so no breakfast in the sun. dinner was expensive 55.20 AED for a mediocre fry rice dish and a small bottle of water, it did include 20% service charge. there were two supermarkets just round the corner though.

staff were friendly and smiley so that was one good aspect of this hotel.

Room Tip: it doesn't matter which room, the loud praying call will still wake you up at 4am and 7am every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

We regret to hear that Sharjah Rotana did not meet your expectations in some areas, however, we are also delighted to receive your positive comments especially about our employees being friendly which is really motivating.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Booked this hotel through booking.com and it was a great choice! value for the money is great. The hotel's location is in a critical place in Sharjah and even though the hotel is slightly old but the quality of service is good. Their breakfast buffet is also good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sharjah Rotana during your recent visit to the emirate, and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on the Tripadvisor.

It is always very rewarding for my team and I to know that Sharjah Rotana has met your expectations as we continuously strive to ensure the satisfaction of our valued guests.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments as these go a long way in motivating our entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you again at the Sharjah Rotana and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.


Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.
it is very clean and room was big. i staid for 1 night but it was excelent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sharjah Rotana, and for your comments which we are delighted to receive.

It is always very rewarding for us to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were happy with our services and facilities. You are welcome to come again for another memorable experience at our hotel.

I look forward to seeing you again at the Sharjah Rotana and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was my first stay in this hotel and I was made to feel like at home. Everybody was extremely helpful and friendly. I spent only three nights here but definetly would like to come back. Special thanks to Prithish John from Captain-Aldar restaurant, a very professional and friendly man! Igor

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharjahRotanaHotel, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the at the Sharjah Rotana and for taking the time to post a review of your experience.

We are happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations. We have passed on your compliments to Pritish John at the Food & Beverage department, who was most pleased at your gesture.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these go a long way in motivating our entire team. You are welcome to come again for another memorable experience at our hotel.

I look forward to seeing you again at the Sharjah Rotana and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.


Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Holiday International Sharjah
4.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
2.6 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 80 in Sharjah
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
1.5 mi away
Marbella Resort
Marbella Resort
#64 of 80 in Sharjah
76 reviews
8.2 mi away
Centro Sharjah
Centro Sharjah
#3 of 80 in Sharjah
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah

Address: Al Arouba Street, Sharjah 5734, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sharjah Rotana)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sharjah
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering gracefully above the city, Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah is a stylish and modern hotel offering a four star international standard combined with a warm traditional Arabic hospitality for business and tourist travelers. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city on Al Arouba Street, close to key banking and commercial districts. It is 15 minutes away from the Dubai and Sharjah airports,and minutes away from the calm waters and sandy beaches of Sharjah and Ajman. The hotel is also in close proximity to the Sharjah National Exhibition Grounds (EXPO) and Arts and Heritage Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharjah Rotana Hotel Sharjah
Rotana Hotel Sharjah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing