We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sharjah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Sharjah
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I always thought that Hilton hotels are really good. I guess I was wrong. Terrible hotel, room smells like rotten egg. When asked to change the room they gave excuse that hotel is overbooked. Never going to stay in Hilton hotels again. Horrible hotel, try radisson or other in city

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Sharjah.

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Firstly, I was pleased to see that you were satisfied with many aspects of Hilton Hotels.

However, I also note your comments regarding the Room Smell and I shall be exploring this further with my team as we endeavour to improve our services in the future. Indeed, all rooms have now had their air-conditioning systems serviced and cleaned.

Also, our current Wi-Fi upgrade program, including all bedrooms and public areas, is expected to be completed with the next few weeks.

Meanwhile I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    344
    107
    31
    22
See reviews for
341
315
118
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms with lagoon view are very pretty because of this beautiful view, the window is very big, that's why when you come back to you room, you can enjoy fascinating picture while having a cup of evening tea.
We had two rooms which were very wide and convinient.
The restaurants of the hotel are very well decorated, the hall is either beautiful. The hotel has three pools, one of which is warm, as we were in winter in Sharjah, we really appreciate warm pool. If you're cold after the pool you can use free sauna. There are two of them, but they're rather small, for maximum three persons.
Besides all these advantages, there are some minuses:
- First of all the breakfast is not good and variable
- we were upset by the service in rooms, towels were changed only partly, water not every day
- deckchairs are not enoug near the pool
- transfers!!! -the main problem we faced to. only 3 trasnsfers per day to Dubai and 3 to the beach, and the time of arrivals are not convinient at all
- the beach where they transfered you is very small and sometimes it's difficult to find the deckchair

Room Tip: try to choose the lagoon view, in other case you'll hear the singing from ...... 5 times a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear AirineM

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel posted on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted with your comments regarding our “beautiful view, big windows, wide and convenient rooms, warm pool and free sauna”.

We note your comments regarding areas for improvement, especially the complimentary transfers service and will bear these in mind as we strategize to improve our service in the future.

Meanwhile we look forward to being of service to you again one day, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
272 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

After our reservation was settled (it was not found on arrival) ) we had a smooth stay. Our suite was overlooking the lagoon. Breakfast was buffet style but when arriving at about 9.30 am on the first day, the several serving plates were nearly empty although breakfast was till 10.30am. After we spoke to the supervisor the plates were replenish immediately and so also the other mornings. The food however, was not like 5 * especially the evening buffet (no live cooking station). Concierge service was ok. The Hotel operator will change soon to Hilton so there is hope for top service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Marlin1,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel posted on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted with your comments regarding the “smooth stay, swift replenishment of the breakfast buffet and concierge service”.

We note your comments regarding areas for improvement, especially the reservation process and buffet variety and will bear these in mind as we strategize to improve our service in the future.

Meanwhile we look forward to being of service to you again one day, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at all of the Hilton Hotels in the UAE. This is not yet a Hilton and is still being branded. I would say" give the Hotel another 18 months" and it might improve. Most reviews are spot on :-slow lack lustre service,tired fixtures and fittings, lots of Russians, but completely serviceable hotel and clean, just not 5 stars more like 3.6
Breakfast is basic nothing to write home about and nothing bad just morning fuel.
Room service and pool service was OK, with mock-tails and sandwiches all up to speed but lead times are very variable, my advice "take plenty of $1 bills" and tip this seams to speed things up.
The view we had from our room of the lagoon was amazing .The view from the rear was not so good and interrupted every few hour with the usual calls to prayer, that can make you jump. This is not audible from the lagoon view rooms or the lagoon pool, only from the rear pool and rooms
As stated NO WIFI. Internet from room on your Ipad, forget it. Take your passport pop out of the rear of the hotel and buy a 3G card £10 but you need ID.
Sharjah is a really good place to look around it has a Zoo, 5 or more cultural centres on science, Calligraphy,History, Maritime and even a sea-life centre, all easy reach and don't expect crowds. These place have had millions spent on them and still have a visitors book for you to sign
Hotel location excellent the lagoon 150m away has 10 restaurants and a dancing fountain, colour changing music etc. The Canal quarter 200m to the rear of the hotel has a children's fair and more places to eat and stroll around including a big wheel and gondolas.
Travelling around can be a nightmare as the taxi drivers are clueless so we kept to the free hotel bus to Dubai and the beach resort bus which leaves the hotel in the morning and afternoon. the main bus station is 2 mins away and air conditioned bus leave every few minutes to Dubai Deria 6 dhms very quick and cheep. Dubai has a great transport system you purchase oyster like cards for 20 dhms from super markets in all the mall,it is far quicker than taxi or driving and you can buy a gold card and travel in 1st class on the tube system, take note of start and finish times vary on Thursday & Friday

Room Tip: You must have the lagoon view as the rear has two religious tanoy systems going off 5 times a day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PropmasterSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear PropmasterSouthport,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, posted on TripAdvisor and indeed for the informative posts of your other visits around Sharjah, as well as the enlightening photographs of your various experiences. It certainly made very enjoyable reading.

We were delighted with your comments regarding the “amazing lagoon view, our hotel’s location and the neighboring attractions and the pool-side mock-tails and sandwiches”.

We note your comments regarding areas for improvement, especially the Wi-Fi service, which we are currently in the process of installing) and will bear these in mind as we strategize to improve our service in the future.

Meanwhile we look forward to being of service to you again one day, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

There was nothing to complain about the room service, the quality of the food at breakfast, breakfast service etc. but ... it is surprising not to have a free wireless network in a 5 star hotel (and not payable wireless in your room either). The pool was not having enough chairs/decks at the rush hour ;-) and the spa is minimal. The rooms looking at the lake have a great view, no doubt, but otherwise, the setting is not too charming and you need to rely on taxis for transportation. However, it was value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnapurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Magnapurga,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and in particular the kind comments regarding the ‘rooms overlooking the lake with a great view’ and the fact that your stay was ‘value for money’, they really are much appreciated.

May we also thank you for your feedback on the Wi-Fi and the Pool sun loungers and assure you that these are being addressed currently.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
richard_gosling@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great lobby and very pleasant, good-sized rooms. Restaurant offered a good selection - and the massage was amazingly good and well worth it.
Only drawback - there is no pool bar for soft drinks, snacks etc - you could order at the pool reception but the service was very slow indeed (about 50 minutes wait for three soft drinks).

Room Tip: A room to the front is slightly quieter as the call to prayer is not heard so clearly there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-and-Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jules and Lloyd,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and in particular the kind comments regarding the ‘great lobby and very pleasant, good sized rooms’, the ‘good selection in the restaurant’ and the ‘amazing massage that was well worth it’, they really are much appreciated.

May we also thank you for your feedback on the service at the pool and assure you that drinks service speed has been suitably expedited accordingly now.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
richard_gosling@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault the rooms here. Beautiful views and light and spacious. Pools and gym quiet and clean. Only drawback is the unhelpful attitude and slow service of many staff on front desk and in restaurant. Other staff at pool, gym and housekeeping excellent. Needs the Hilton touch.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABH_GM, General Manager at Hilton Sharjah, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mary 1552,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and in particular the kind comments regarding the ‘great, spacious, light rooms with beautiful views’ and the ‘quiet and clean pools and gym’, they really are much appreciated.

May we also thank you for your feedback on the service of some front line staff, who are undergoing a comprehensive training program designed to facilitate the Hilton levels of service that are expected as we transition into Hilton Sharjah.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your travels ever bring you back to Sharjah.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Gosling
richard_gosling@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
5.6 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Sharjah Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sharjah
Grand Hotel Sharjah
#12 of 79 in Sharjah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
8.5 mi away
Centro Sharjah
Centro Sharjah
#3 of 79 in Sharjah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sharjah
Copthorne Hotel Sharjah
#8 of 79 in Sharjah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sharjah

Property: Hilton Sharjah
Address: Buhaira Corniche Corniche St | 3930, Sharjah 3930, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sharjah 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark hotel with rooms and leisure facilities overlooking the magnificent Khalid Lagoon, Hilton Sharjah is ideally situated at the heart of the Emirate, only 15 minute drive from Dubai main attractions and business districts. With a variety of landmarks and free transfers to the beach and shopping options, the hotel has a passionate team and facilities to provide a memorable and refreshing stay with a twist of local touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing