We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is a good thing but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sharjah Carlton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Almaty
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beach is a good thing but...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

...there are many issues. If you are going to UAE and particularly to Sharjah for vacation or you are a travelling family with children you have to consider some of the following things:

The location of the hotel istelf is ok - seaside and own beach is a big bonus, price is definetely cheap (around 100$ plus for a room per day) especially if you compare hotels in Dubai and Sharjah, as if it were in different countries with different GDP and standard of living. In some measure it is.

Hotel is quite old and it seems that renovation took place long time ago, it is evident by the furnishing and bathroom condition - everything looks old and tired, coat of dust with fungus can be found in some places, soundproofing sucks and it smells like in the basement. It seems that hotel management decided to compensate cheap rooms with some other items like breakfast which is not included and costs 60 dhs (16,5$), quite expensive for what's offered in UAE. The other shocking thing is paid internet which costs 10 dhs (2,7$) per hour like it used to be in 90's. Also if your "to do list" consists of at least one of listed things like shopping, gourmet food, partying, drinking then it is a wrong place to stay in. Strict laws prohibit many things considered during vacation unless you are strong shariah believer.

But if you are not an assuming person and lack of comfort to you means less than a reasonable price for a room in a hotel with beach and swimming pool then it's ok. If you are traveling with children you should stay in chalet, they are connected to each other with doors which turns it into a two-room chalet. Hotel has playground, swimming pool (not very clean), nice beach and spa. If you want to save on your breakfast you can buy all ingredients in neighboring supermarket and keep it in the fridge, kettle and glasses are provided as well. For lunch and dinner it is better to go outside though local restaurant is ok for a couple of times. Local ren-a-car is quite cheap and if you are looking for something special is't better to take a car (starting from 25$ a day) and go to the city or even Dubai which is 15 minutes away.

Personally would not go there again. Better option for big company (we were 5 adults and 2 children) is an apartment in Dubai Marina district for the same money and 5 minute walk to the paid beach.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms or chalets neighboring to Sharjah Grand Hotel in the far corner (from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CosmicPicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    63
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ST.Petersburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was nice travel via peak off season due to high water temperature.Food was quite different,testy,variable.Beach-'s right to the Hotel.Soft sand,crazy jet motor bikers,sometime morning dirty water-resides from opposite market side.General-cool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ygudziy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

During the May, as a single traveler I spent nine wonderful days in Dubai and was accommodated at Sharja Carlton Hotel. Professional and supportive staff, clean rooms, soft and golden sand at the private beach washed by warm, emerald water of Arabic sea ( 28C) make me felt really comfortable.

The staff consisted of Philippines, Indians, Egyptians and other nationalities gave me possibility to meet various cultures at one place. On this occassion, I give a credit for all of them but my special compliments are for Mohamed, the kind and young Egyptian receptionist, who has always been ready to give you a hand with all information and issues that tourists usually faces with. Also, I want to say thanks to the hotel's IT manager who selflessly tried to fix my broken Windows.

Russians made the majority of hotel's guests and as I am informed it is one of the most popular hotels for Russian tourists. Unlike their "chaotic" compatriots that I met in Hurghada in 2009 ( they really behaved like primitives in the Egyptian resort) all of these Russians were very decent people who came here exclusively to find peace and relax solo or with their families. It was my pleasure to share my beach and polo-time with all of them.

Hotel is near the supermarket working up to 00:01 AM, so you can buy drinks or food there. It is allowed to bring it in the room, and hotel's staff will always show you the way how to find market that's located just a 15 minutes by walking from the hotel. You don't need the taxi. Not at all. Don't worry: even alone on the street you are absolutely safe in the middle of the night. !

Sharja Carlton Hotel is an ideal accommodation for beach lovers and shopping fans. Every day the hotel offers free bus shuttle transport to Sharja City Center, Sahara Center Mall, Dubai Center Mall ( Deira City) and Dubai Outlet Mall.

Deira City Center was not only my choice for shopping but also the starting point for Dubai tour. One of the mall's exits leads directly to Metro station with metro line to all most famous attractions of Dubai: Dubai Museum,Burdj al Arab, Burdj Khalifa, Dubai Mall, Emirates Mall, Palm Jumeirah. Metro is one of the cheapest and best ways for a newcomer to be familiar with the city.

To save your money on your way back to Sharja, I recommend you to take hotel's free shuttle bus (the last bus departures on 9 P.M) in front of Deira City. But be carefully: you can use only your hotel's bus for a free or otherwise, (if you try to take bus belonging the other hotels) you will have to pay 500 dhs/person.

If you decide to go to Dubai by taxi then I suggest you to take it on the street. The taxi drivers use taxi-meter and my compliments for all of them : they are very decent and fair people. In same time each of them is good tourist guide explaining you about the parts of city you are going through. The price is about 60-65 dhs, while if you take the hotel's taxi it will cost you about 100 dhs.


The hotel is very close to Sharjha Aquarium and Heritage village, so it would be nice to visit the places as a part of your vacation not transforming your holiday into an exclusive shopping tour.

Although it seems to be expensive using the phone from the hotel room, I found it very practical when you call your family or friends in your country. It is much cheaper than use your mob phone. It is important to notice that receptionists regularly inform you about any of message you received over recep. phone.

These are all reasons to say - yes, go there - but there are some negative facts that you must be aware of before you make a final decision will you come here or not.

AVOID CHALET ROOMS ! REQUEST THE ROOM IN MAIN BUILDING !

When I arrived, I got a chalet room ( out of main building), with a view on the garden and the beach. Unfortunately it was very bad place given that I felt very bad odor in the room and it was so vile smell that I couldn't sleep up to the morning. I am familiar with the fact that natural humidity is very high in that part of the world, but this was some 'cocktail' of different types of humidity. Between among, it was something "hidden" in the AC system and in the walls, like in old rustical buildings , so I requested to get new room in the main hotel's building.

A female receptionist rejected to do it saying that the agency marked chalet category in my voucher kindly offering me to replace it by the other room and giving me chance to previously check it.

This time I was even more disappointed. The newly offered room had a view on a hot parking associating me a sex-motel in American movies. However, the urgency of tourist representative bears fruit, so I got the new room in the main house.

My new space on the first floor with the view on the city satisfied me, so if you come in this hotel request only room in the main building and don 't accept the chalet because they are in very bad state.

What also disappointed me is charging on Internet (3h/ 25 dhs). For the hotel costing between 600-750 dhs /night (without breakfast) is expected to offer a free Wi-Fi given that it is not a matter of luxury, but one of the basic needs of modern tourist especially if the accomodation has a reputation of "Dubai hotel".

For the individual dinner you pay in the Carlton you can get a great dinner for the two in hotel Lords, just a cross the street, so seriously think about it.

I started my review in positive lights and I will finish it with positive impression. When I was leaving the hotel at 5 a.m the staff prepared the breakfast package for me and offered me an early morning coffee for " bon voyage".

Thanks !

Room Tip: "Avoid chalet rooms, and request room in main building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank journalist92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is a great place to stay for beach lovers as it is very close to the beach and offers great views as well. The hotel is located at Sultan Al Awal Road and is sort of half hour drive from dubai. The hotel has great service staff who are really helpful and also the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The breakfast served here is also good and overall it is good place to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunitakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel in close to the Dubai, probably the closest beach hotel in Sharjah. So it gives you a good possibility not to pay to much for beach hotels in Dubai. You can do as we did: in the morning go to the beach and then take a free shuttle to Dubai for a whole day. It takes not more than 20 min to get there.
The hotel is ok. I wouldn't give them 4 stars. 3 it ok. Clean. The stuff is friendly. Food is ok.
Just 1 advise - if you have a possibility to choose - don't take chalet or whatever they call it. Choose a main building. Rooms and everything are much-much better there. And it costs just a few $ extra.
It's a good budget option. Enjoy!

Room Tip: DON'T take chalet! Choose the main building! It's much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ost-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have only used the beach and the pool. The beach is nice and the water is clean. The personal is very helpful and polite. Unfortunately, we will never go back there (even if we live here in Sharjah) because swimming is very dangerous there because of the jet skis. Even if there is an area for swimmers only, there are driving through this area, very fast. I have tried to complain and realized also the guy who is responsible for the jet skis drive this way.
They have by passed swimmers at many occasions without stopping. The question is not if there will have an accident but when this is will happen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Froch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharjah hotels

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Sharjah Carlton has a large clean beach. It costs far less than any equivalent hotel in Dubai. The trip into Dubai is quite quick if one avoids rush hour. The rooms are clean and large and have everything one could ask. A room with a balcony overlooking the ocean is incredible. The staff are friendly; I make my reservation with the same person (Tham) each year. Luckily for me the staff all speak English. When I am in Dubai in business I add a few days for a trip to Sharjah for the museums and the Blue Souk. As a woman traveling alone I appreciate that I feel safe and welcome in this hotel.

Room Tip: If there are no oceanview rooms available, keep calling until one becomes available. I have always b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chigwell-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
5.7 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Sharjah
Grand Hotel Sharjah
#11 of 79 in Sharjah
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lou Lou'a Beach Resort
Lou Lou'a Beach Resort
#10 of 79 in Sharjah
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sharjah Beach Hotel
Sharjah Beach Hotel
#12 of 79 in Sharjah
179 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Sharjah Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 79 in Sharjah
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharjah Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharjah Carlton Hotel

Property: Sharjah Carlton Hotel
Address: Shk Salem Bin Sultan Al Qasimi Rd | PO Box 1198, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharjah Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sharjah Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing