We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My girlfriend and myself got back from the Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort and Spa the other week. The hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed ourselves.

On our arrival we had the guaranteed early check in, but our room was not available. We therefore went down to the restaurant for breakfast, when we came back to reception about half an hour later our room was still not available, but after ten minutes more it was. On entering the room we were very pleased, very large, clean and excellent view from the balcony over looking the sea and pools. The bathroom is a good size with the large window looking through into the bedroom (there is an electric blind for privacy), the bed is large and comfy.

The resort itself is very large with two beaches, one small one at one side of the hotel, and a large one at the other side stretching across where the villa's are. There is a massive salt water pool with a few smaller area's coming off it, one of these leading to the sunset pool bar. This pool is not temperature controlled so is warm, but is still nice to swim and sit and have drinks in. At the other side of the hotel there are two fresh water pools which are temperature controlled and very cool which is welcoming with the heat. Whilst we were there it was around 40-45 degrees every day which was very warm. If you were at the pool you got the full impact of the heat, but my advise is to use the loungers on the beach, firstly this is very quiet with plenty of beds available, but there is a sea breeze which even though a warm breeze, takes the edge off it and makes it much more comfortable. When you are on the beach in the afternoon a guy on a golf buggy comes around and offers you drinks from his cooler box.

We went all inclusive, which I was glad we did as I feel it could have been expensive with drinks etc, however the all inclusive is a little disappointing. It does not include everything, fair enough if you used the mini bar this was chargeable, but you were limited to the drinks you could have. For example in terms of larger, there was draft fosters, carling, warsteiner, bottles of corona, peroni and cans of tuborg. On the all inclusive the only beer you could have was the cans of tuborg, don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with it, but it would have been nice to have a choice without having to pay for it (we did treat ourselves one night to a warsteiner). You could have soft drinks (coke, fanta, sprite etc), bottled water, only certain spirits, all fruit juices, and certain cocktails. Majority of drinks were of a similar price, therefore I feel a better system would be to say you can have any drink up to 35 Dirham, if you wanted one above this you paid the difference, this would give you a lot more choice!

We met with the Virgin rep Jimmy on the first day, he was very informative and helpful, but only if it was regarding one of the tours booked through him. We booked the Oman boat trip (you need to take your passport) through him which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was well over an hour in the mini bus to get to Oman and where the boat set off from. The tour took you somewhat inland which was sheltered with various stopping points for snorkelling and swimming. On numerous occasions we had dolphins swimming with the boat.

Back to Jimmy… We wanted to go into Dubai (Highly recommend!) and said we wanted to go on the Saturday, what is the best way to get there. He then tried to sell us the trip they do on a coach which there is a set route. This was not what we wanted to but he kept trying to sell us this tour. Eventually we managed to get some information out of him that the hotel runs a free shuttle bus on a Sunday, which we went on. We also said we may want to go again, again he did not seem bothered to help us, but said he would be able to organise a taxi for us. We went back to see him about this twice on different days but he was not working on either! We asked at reception, who were very helpful who organised us a private taxi for 8 hours and he would take us wherever we wanted, this was about £80 and really good.

We also booked our own safari desert tour before we went through Orient Tours. We did our research and these appeared to be the best, they had just won best tour operator in the Emirates at the World Travel Awards. It is a very popular tour operator as you do see other operators doing the same thing, but never saw more than 2 vehicle, we had about 10 in our convoy. It was an excellent trip which picked us up at the hotel at about 4pm and dropped us off at about 11pm. We got well over an hour driving though the desert which is great fun, then you get taken to the camp where you go camel riding, sand boarding, have a lovely BBQ, henna tattoos, hubbly bubbly and belly dancing (which we did not see as it was Ramadan).

The food was of a good quality in the buffet restaurant, with ample to choose from, but even though the food style changed daily, it did get a bit boring such as chicken in a sauce, beef in a sauce etc. On two occasion we ate in the Italian restaurant, the food in here was delicious and the staff excellent with one waitress greeting us by our names the second time we ate there. On both occasions the head chef came out to speak to us which was a nice touch. Unfortunately this was the only restaurant open while we were there in August as the others will still under construction (and looked nowhere near ready!).

Overall the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed the holiday and hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it. However, we were fully aware this hotel was not in Dubai, but since visiting there on two days we cannot wait to go back and stay there. The city is amazing and you can almost not describe how big it is. Will give it a few years to develop more such as Dubailand been completed and other areas. But we enjoyed where we stayed and would not have been able to visit Oman had we been in Dubai. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is wanting a relaxing holiday to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hirsty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,897 - 3,903 of 5,701 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

What can i say just fab,hotel just wonderful. Our special thanks to Liju,Michelle,Gary,Taby,Budi & Redi the hard working Dome Bar staff for always making sure we had our ice cold beers they where great. Food absolutley great plenty of choice and always cooked and presented lovely and always nice and hot. Once a week BBQ was very good steaks,chicken and fish plus lots of fresh salads.Make sure you go allinclusive as everything expensive and if you can book Deluxe Sea View room very posh. Only one small winge the swimming pools were just like getting in the bath something wrong with the thermostat and being 40-45 degrees everyday you need somewhere to cool off were told they are fixing it hope so as we were there 15days and wasn't fixed. Dont forget to go on the Dubai city tour very interesting lots to see our thanks to tourist guide Romel Biscarra for his knowledge of Dubai.We loved every minute of our stay and will be returning next year as our best holiday so far! Hotel is set on its own private beach just lovely can't wait to be back in Dubai.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GROOVY60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton RAK Resort and Spa for a week at the beginning of September.

The hotel is definitely for those who are just seeking a week of relaxation and little else (which is what I want in a holiday!).

The spa, although expensive, comes highly recommended - very worthwhile.

We ate at the italian restaurant one evening and really enjoyed it.

There were loads of sunbeds and the resort was lovely and quiet. The food at the buffet restaurant was varied and I couldnt find fault with any of it - always plenty of choice.

We went to Dubai for the day using the hotel taxi which I would also recommend. We included afternoon tea at the Burj al Arab in our day. All in all an enjoyable, relaxing and memorable trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Just returned from our fourth visit the Hilton in the city of RAK. It gets better every time. The staff are the most courteous and friendly we have ever met.You walk into the place and are met by attentive friendly staff who appear to remember you from your prevoius stay even to your favorite food and drinks. Special mention must go to the dining staff at the hotel who cannot be bettered. Thankyou to Bernard, Gayan and Kumar.
A ten minute courtesy bus ride takes you from the hotel to the Hilton Spa and Resort on the beach. We never had to search for sun loungers under parasols. There were plenty to go around.The swim up bar was a delight. Sushil and Alexis were fantastic. They were run off their feet but if they saw you getting low on your favourite drink another soon arrived.We do not normally return to the same place twice as their is still so much of the world to see. However this place is home from home so yes we will be returning in 2010 for the seven day all inclusive package. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My boyfriend and I went for a week at the beginning of September. I cannot find fault at all with this resort. We stayed in one of the superior sea view villas (which having seen the hotel rooms I would suggest are the better accommodation option; a lot more room, two queen beds, a large bathroom with a bath and a shower and twin sinks, a balcony overlooking either the pool or looking out over the beach, a plasma tv, a dressing area and a fridge) and as such we were 10 feet from the bar, the pool and the beach at the bottom end of the resort, a perfect location. Yes the main hotel where the restaurant is was about a 10 minute walk, but if it is too hot for you then simply request a buggy to take you from your door up there, or in the evening when it is cooler then walk along the beach and enjoy the views like we did.

The all inclusive was brilliant, plenty of food and decent drink (Carlsberg was the AI beer and Hardy's wine is the AI vino option) and if eating at the main restaurant every day gets too boring (even though there is loads of choice and different theme nights), then just use the credits that you get as part of the AI package towards eating elsewhere. We ended up having lunch at the Dome Bar or the Sunset bar a few times and never paid a penny extra for any meal.

There are salt water and fresh water swimming pools (or sweet water as they call them!) but all guests can use all facilities, so if you don't like the pool or the area of beach that is nearest to you then simply go somewhere else! I have read some reviews of people saying that the pools were too hot or salty or they didn't like the bit of beach they were on, so get a buggy to drive you from your room door to the place where you do want to be!! Down the bottom end of the resort where we were located was a covered children's pool which was chilled and therefore a nice icy cold option for the adults as well as the kids. Similarly we ventured up to the top end of the resort on the beach by the watersports centre and a nice swim in the warm sea was equally nice. The good thing with this resort is that there are options to suit everyone, so just take the initiative, explore the resort when you get there and find out for yourself where the best places to go are.

A top tip is to get the Be Exclusive package - we paid 499 Dirhams (c£85) for the pair of us and got a massage each (which they were charging £50 each for normally), a sunset cruise around the creek, an hour of jetski or other motorised watersports, a round of golf at the nearby course including buggy and club hire and a scuba dive lesson so it's definitely value for money. Also, we were initially due to stay at the Hilton in the City Centre but after seeing it for ourselves and listening to other people, the Resort and Spa is definitely the better option and much more value for money so another tip is to get a last minute upgrade to the Resort and Spa if you can - we ended up paying an extra £20 a night to do so and this was the best result we could have hoped for. The City Centre hotel is more geared towards older couples and is much smaller with very little in the way of bars or restaurants, and the shuttle bus between the two resorts stops at 6pm so if you are staying at the City Centre hotel you are limited as to when you can use the facilities at the Resort and Spa unless you want to pay for cabs.

Having been to Dubai a couple of times before this resort reminds me of what Jumeirah Beach was like before it became too popular. I would highly recommend this resort to couples, families or groups of people who are after a week of lovely weather, white sand and crystal clear waters, good food and drink, staff that cannot do enough for you and a totally relaxing time. We will definitely return next year when we are told that there will be even more bars and restaurants, the other half of the hotel will be open and they will have more evening entertainment in the form of a nightclub.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LoobyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed with friends for 5 nights booked with value added travel on an 'AI' basis. This was such good value for money, if you don't want to go anywhere but just relax enjoy the sun this is the place to go. The hotel was very good, food was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs27Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I felt I had to write a review on this hotel after reading the terrible ones some people left. I wondered if they were getting mixed up with the other Hilton in RAK.
I consider myself as someone hard to please and i despise bad service, Hilton Resort And Spa kept me very happy.
It is a huge resort with about 5 or more large pools. There are plenty of areas to sunbathe, beach or pool areas. I hate being around loud people and this resort it was easy to find a quiet spot with hardly anyone nearby. Plenty of sun loungers to go round.
There was a bar by almost every pool, so although you have to go to the bar for a drink, it isn't far and they normally bring it to your lounger.
Service was always with a smile and you never got ignored or felt invisible (one of my pet hates).
We went All Inclusive, which I recommend. There was a huge buffet area serving lots of different foods, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are other restaurants which you get a reasonable discount if you are A.I but we found the buffet (and the beach bars serve food too included in A.I) kept us happy for our 5 night stay. We never had wait for a table.
We arrived at 9am and by the time we had breakfast our room was ready. We had a beach villa which was lovely. Ours was right on the beach but some others were around pools. I didn't see the hotel rooms so i couldn't comment on these.
Because it is such a large resort and it's so hot if you have a villa you do need a golf buggy to give you a lift to the restaurants and reception. We found we only waited 5 mins at the most for a chap to pick us up.
We didn't have a spa treatment as the prices were very expensive (around £100 for 1 hour massage!) and as we are going to Phuket soon we rather pay their prices.
Dubai city is at least an hour away. We had a hotel taxi take us for the day on a city tour. He asked if we wanted to shop or sight see. We chose a little bit of shopping but mostly we wanted to see Jumeriah Beach area. He took us the see the Burj 7 star hotel and the Atlantis at The Palm. Dubai city is as you'd expect a city to be, loads of traffic and buildings, which if you love the hustle and shopping then you'll be in your element.
RAK is a town in the making and i can see it being another Dubai in a few years time. At the moment there is nothing there, so unless you like being on a resort all day just eating/swimming/sun bathing, then you'd probably find the location poor.
In my opinion I think this resort will become very popular, so go while the prices are lower than Dubai!.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dobie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
14.6 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,616 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#9 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa

Address: Al Mareed Street, Ras Al Khaimah 122998, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: $121 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa is nestled in a spectacular private bay at the northern tip of the Arabian Peninsula, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Arabian Gulf. Only a 70-minute drive to Dubai International Airport and two hours from Abu Dhabi International Airport. Guestrooms: The Resort consists of 151 guestrooms in villas and 324 guestrooms in the hotel, each with a private balcony and exclusive access to the beautiful 1.5 km sandy beach. All guestrooms are fully equipped with a Plasma TV, minibar, alarm clock, coffee facilities, safe box, iron with board, hair dryer and wired internet (fee). Dining: With 11 restaurants and bars to choose from, guests will be spoilt for choice. Start the day with Hilton Breakfast in the bright and spacious Maarid, then stop by BN Cafe for your favourite coffee, or swim up to Sunset Bar to grab your favourite cocktail. Begin your evening with a traditional Middle Eastern shisha in Al Bahar Rooftop, before contemplating whether to try South American cuisine in Pura Vida or classic Italian fine dining at Piaceri da Gustare. At night, spend great times at the classic X.O. bar serving cognac and vintage ports. Leisure: The Spa features 9 treatment rooms, hamams, Jacuzzis, saunas and steam rooms. For the gym enthusiasts, there is a Hilton fitness by Precor center with aerobics rooms. Or take part in water sports with our on-site diving center offering snorkeling, water skiing, sailing and jet skiing. The perfect end to a day is a swim in one of our six swimming pools; including a salt water pool and a shaded pool for children. An onsite Kid's Club with indoor and outdoor playrooms and a Teens Club will keep the children and teens busy whilst you relax in the best resort in Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort And Spa
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing