We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2008

As you will have read this hotel is over an hours drive away from Dubai however we found that a couple of trips to the city was more than enough time to enjoy the sights. The hotel does have an extension being built but this is far enough on in the build so as noise is not an issue. Actually we feel that now is an excellent time to visit the hotel while it is still relatively compact. I'm not sure that the beach will be large enough once the new part opens.

They upgraded us to a suite which gave us an excellent room overlooking the beautiful bay. However by far the majority of rooms also have the same great view. It is out of the town and therefore you have to be prepared to enjoy the hotel in the eveneng. We went during Ramadan so there wasn't any entertainment provided - but from my point of view this was a relief!

Food in the hotel was excellent. It is buffet service which usually means mass produced mounds of tastlessness but the chefs here are excellent. Everything was always presented immaculately in small enough portions to ensure everything remained fresh. We booked all inclusive which saved us money and includes some branded drinks and cocktails.

We'd recommend taking a lunch at the Burg Al Arab if you get the chance. It is an expensive lunch, approx £100, but it's a great opportunity to see the exclusive hotel and enjoy the surroundings.

I'd also like to give a mention to valueaddedtravel.co.uk, and Ian who was excellent in recommending the hotel and assisting in the arrangements. I'll certainly be using them again. Don't be put off by their website they are excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,976 - 3,982 of 5,698 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2008

We just returned from a 2 night stay (that was the only regret!) from the Hilton RAK resort and enjoyed every minute. Our 2 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed herself too.

We stayed in a beach villa suite which I personally would recommend, it does not cost that much more than a normal room but the locality and layout is much better, the beach is only steps away!!

Rooms were clean and decorated tastefully and to a high standard. Our suite had a bedroom and separate living room which accomodated our daughter in a cot nicely. We had a ground floor room (also advised) which meant our own patio and piece of grass, excellent for kids.

Service was generally superb, staff were very attentive and polite. A buggy was available to escort you to the restaurant / pool etc but seeing the weather was lovely we would walk to our destinations.

The beach was nice, pretty clean. Swimming pools were good, the so-called temperature controlled kids pool was rather cold but the other one was not too bad once you acclimatised!

Food was generally good, we were on a dinner bed breakfast package, breakfast had a good choice and variety and food was tasty. Dinner was a buffet, which was fine for a couple of nights but may have become monotonous for several nights; however, the Arabic night on UAE national day was good with live entertainment and a great array of arabic dishes.

Location is perfect for those just wanting to get away from it all. We live in Dubai and are accustomed to the hussle and bustle so RAK was a welcome break as it is a sleepy town with plenty of construction. We did not explore the town due to our short stay.

Overall, a definitely positive experience, would definitely return again and would recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DubaiTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights as the Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa from November 7 to November 13. We stayed in a socalled "Junior Suite Beach Villa" (room 807) and had booked a package directly at Hilton.com including breakfast and dinner at a cost of AED 1,860.00 per night.

This is a nice new hotel which in many ways is let down by inconsistent service levels. The physical facilities are really nice, the room was large, nicely laid out and spotlessly clean and maintained and pool areas and the beach was really nice.

Some members of staff are exceptional and goes out of their way to ensure you have a nice stay (a big thanks to Farek in the Waterbreaker restaurant). Other members of the staff however are frustratingly incapable of complying with simple requests and try to cover over their inability/incompetence by disappearing out of view and not reacting to repeated requests.

We had expected more considering the price which, although by UAE standards was not that exceptionally expensive, would have bought us a villa at a 1st class resort in many Asian countries where service would have been more consistent and on a higher level.

Some specific issues:

- guests are only allowed 1 towel per person on the beach. Please buy some more towels so it is possible to get 2 towels.
- as some other guests have remarked, the temperature of the buffet varies too much. Some dishes which were supposed to be warm were served cold and the fear of getting food poison always lingered after dinner at the Waterbreaker restaurant. It did not happen though!
- the tour operator which is being allowed to operate on the premises is clueless! We bought a trip to Musandam which we were clearly told included snorkeling in the fjords but when onboard the boat we were told that it was certainly not a snorkeling trip and they did not have the equipment. A desert jeep safari was booked including BBQ but on the same day we were informed the BBQ was cancelled and we got a discount. When we arrived at the desert camp at the end of the safari, the staff wanted to serve us BBQ which they correctly said we had ordered. We are aware that the tour operator is not part of Hilton but the resort allows them to operate from their premises. There must be some operators who are more professional.

We had a great week with fantastic weather in a nice resort but management need to ensure a consistent high level of service from all employees for this to be truly a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sambakongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Just back from 8 days at this hotel - two words sun up our stay - absolutely fabulous.

We went with Virgin Holidays - flew with Virgin Atlantic for the first time and were suitably impressed. Service, meals and entertainment on the 7 hour flights very impressive.

Taken by Limo to hotel from airport and again feeling good - from then on Virgin who!!!
We never seen or were in contact with a Virgin rep the whole time - I even had to ring a mobile number in Dubai to find out how we go back to Dubai airport, 80km away! Organise my own trips locally etc.

Hotel staff could not have been better - from reception to bar to restaurant to courtesy bus driver - all friendly and helpful and happy (on the surface!).

We were all inclusive and I would strongly recommend this - you really do get value for money. Food was excellent - wide choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a live cook kitchen where you get omlettes / eggs cooked freshly at breakfast, or fish / meat cooked for dinner. Pasta stations for you to make up your own pasta meal, caesar salad station to make up your own tailored mix of chicken & prawn caesar - fantastic range of salads and hot meal options - and not piled high like the european styleholiday hotle buffets - all in small amounts and replensihed continuously.
Free drinks were local beer Amstel (poured from a can for all inclusive customers!), but also included gin, barcadi, vodka etc along with a wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and cocktails.

Kettle in room with tea coffee etc - mini bar - ok for emergencies but not cheap.

Room was very clean with queen size bed, large screen tv etc. Bathroom modern and user friendly.
Didn't need travel plug for electrical items as they use british plugs and voltages.

Pool area so relaxing - this despite being next door to the construction of a new shopping mall.
Beach club - wow! relaxing, calming, paradise!

Overall:

Hotel Location - for a relaxing stay away from the city life - 10/10
Hotel Standards - can't fault it - 10/10
Hotel Staff - excellent - 10/10
Pool - 10/10
Room - 10/10
Beach Club - 12/10
Virgin Atlantic - 10/10
Virgin Holidays - 2/10

Definitely go back to UAE and would stay in RAK again as opposed to Dubai city.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NureKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We loved this hotel, it was very relaxing and the staff were lovely. The food was excellent and the hotel public areas very clean. The rooms are very nice too.
We normally get out and about a lot on holiday, but this is not an option, the hotel is well out of town and surrounded by a massive building site.
However if you want to just relax in the sun and enjoy the amazingly warm waters you will love it.
Word of advice though, book All Inclusive direct with the hotel before you go. It saved us a packet cos its more expensive to upgrade to All Inclusive when you get there and you realise there's no-where else to eat and drink without a taxi ride!
We would go back if only it wasn't so far out of Dubai, the taxi transfer took about 80/90 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This resort is lovely set 1hr 15mins outside of Dubai, its rooms are in blocks of 4, and are extremly spacious, ours had 2 large doubles, 2 lounge chairs and table, chest of drawers, dressing table, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, veranda/balcony, area for styling hair, large bathroom with double basins, bath and seperate shower. It had good lighting in the bathroom and a magnifying mirror, great products and a bidet too. All the facilities worked really well, ie flushes,showers, taps etc, their plugs are the same as ours 3 pin. There were also two large wardrobes.
The resort is set around a half moon shaped beach which is very clean, and the waters calm, with a sandy bottom, no sea weed or rocks, there are comfortable loungers and umbrellas and a great beach bar and restaurant. The evening meals are served in the Waterfront Restaurant and are buffet, but are of a high quality compared to some buffets we have experienced. The Staff were superb and bent over backwards to please, the management were also very visible and gracious.
The only bads points I can think of were I got seriously bitten by mosquitos, one night, before I bought some spray from the hotel shop. The pillows on the beds are quite hard and uncomfortable.
The drive back to the airport will take you much longer than it took to get too the hotel, due to Dubai's traffic problem, but Virgin who we flew with, make sure you are picked up well inadvance because of this problem.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snowyMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Just returned from an 8 night stay here. 4 adults/3 children. It was great for all of us, very relaxing, clean, superb food and service.
We were a bit put off by the photos of the hotel on the internet, as it's rather ugly but we all fell in love with it. We really couldn't fault it and we're fussy travellers!
The beach shuttle bus was easy and frequent and became part of the daily adventure. The beach resort is beautiful and also clean, excellent service and great food too.
The children really enjoyed it down here as the brach was pristine, water clear and a choice of 2 large lovely pools also spotless. When you were down there you could have been in the carribean, though the palm trees are still only babies as it's very new. Yes they are building a large hotel down at the beach (which I'm sure will be superb) but it is far enough away from the beach to not hear or see anything.
We will all definately go back when we have saved up!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank linzif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
14.6 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,603 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#9 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa

Address: Al Mareed Street, Ras Al Khaimah 122998, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#2 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: $121 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa is nestled in a spectacular private bay at the northern tip of the Arabian Peninsula, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Arabian Gulf. Only a 70-minute drive to Dubai International Airport and two hours from Abu Dhabi International Airport. Guestrooms: The Resort consists of 151 guestrooms in villas and 324 guestrooms in the hotel, each with a private balcony and exclusive access to the beautiful 1.5 km sandy beach. All guestrooms are fully equipped with a Plasma TV, minibar, alarm clock, coffee facilities, safe box, iron with board, hair dryer and wired internet (fee). Dining: With 11 restaurants and bars to choose from, guests will be spoilt for choice. Start the day with Hilton Breakfast in the bright and spacious Maarid, then stop by BN Cafe for your favourite coffee, or swim up to Sunset Bar to grab your favourite cocktail. Begin your evening with a traditional Middle Eastern shisha in Al Bahar Rooftop, before contemplating whether to try South American cuisine in Pura Vida or classic Italian fine dining at Piaceri da Gustare. At night, spend great times at the classic X.O. bar serving cognac and vintage ports. Leisure: The Spa features 9 treatment rooms, hamams, Jacuzzis, saunas and steam rooms. For the gym enthusiasts, there is a Hilton fitness by Precor center with aerobics rooms. Or take part in water sports with our on-site diving center offering snorkeling, water skiing, sailing and jet skiing. The perfect end to a day is a swim in one of our six swimming pools; including a salt water pool and a shaded pool for children. An onsite Kid's Club with indoor and outdoor playrooms and a Teens Club will keep the children and teens busy whilst you relax in the best resort in Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort And Spa
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing