We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Friendly staff, easy and smooth check in. Excellent value for money. Two comments:
- if you prefer the beach over the pool then this is not the hotel in RAK to go to
- very limited choice of food , it's a new hotel and we have been told that restaurants are yet to open so there was only one and relatively far from the our room / the pool where we were hanging out, not convenient w kids
The AC is very loud in the room but it's not a big deal If you are going in winter

Villas are nice and close by the beach and the pool which was really good, the restaurant staff was really friendly and they prepared 2 different dishes which were not on the menu for my 4 years old daughter

Room Tip: The villas are really nice, I stayed in 21003 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    723
    274
    97
    75
See reviews for
1,256
1,126
82
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel at the beginning of April 2014.

BEACH: Beach is very nice. It is quite a long private beach with many lounges so you will never have difficulty with getting some nice place. Sand is not too fine but it is ok even with kids to walk on it without shoes. Sea is suitable for children. You might see the blue jellyfish in there but do not worry. You can touch them and play with them if you fancy it. On the beach there is also some facility for bigger kids floating in the sea.

SWIMMING POOLS: There are 4 swimming pools. One among them is the basin for small children. Water is very warm there if you do not fancy colder sea. Talking of swimming pools, there is one issue. I hated people swimming in cotton t- shirts or arabic woman cover in some cotton scarves or people drinking or eating on the verges of swimming pools. This should be prevented.

FOOD: food is very nice and variable. You will be delighted. If you do not have AI be prepared to pay unreasonable prices for drinks...Cantine wasn ´ t too overcrowded when the food was served but especially during the breakfast there was little stuff. You had to wait for coffee or tea for ages even if the staff was running as crazy to meet your demands. Simply more employees should be there.

HOTEL: hotel rooms are spacy designed with tase and very clean. You can prepare tea or coffee in your room. There is also balcony at your disposal. Be ready to meet with many kids. This hotel is full of them. There are two playgrounds. There should be much more of them or the playgrounds bigger. In the hotel you will mainly hear Arabic or Russian. What we loved were swings among the palm trees...Hotel is standing in the middle of nowhere so if you mind this, change your mind. We on the other hand enjoyed it. Walks nearby are possible but it is almost like walking on the moon.

A few minutes by cab or by shuttle bus you are able to reach shopping mall where is grocery, cinemas etc.

Over all we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank j3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We live in Dubai and chose this hotel for a weekend getaway. The hotel is located by the beach and although part of the hotel is still undergoing construction, there is minimal disturbance. The staff are extremely friendly, upon check in do not miss the signature welcome cookie. These cookies are the yummiest cookies I've ever had! The rooms are very spacious, we had a room overlooking the ocean. the dining options are a bit limited for now, as all restaurants are not open, however we were there for just the weekend, so didn't mind. All in all, a fab stay! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdubai_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The main reason of picking this hotel was the beach, which looked beautiful, shiny white on the pictures. Indeed, however I might warn you that this is not sand, but rather grinded coral or shell or so. Marjan island, or I would rather call it peninsula is an artificial, man-made creature, which I was not aware of at the time of booking and I would probably not do it again, simply because the more we book such the more extreme impact we will cause to our environment.
The area and the hotel are brand new and they are not yet finished as you can see from the pictures attached. Construction noise from at least three sources including inner hotel areas was a bit disturbing during the well-deserved relaxation on the beach.
The hotel is luxurious and rooms are on the high-end side. We booked a king size room, but at the end they could not give us such. Instead they put two large beds next to each other, which resulted in a huge, but really convenient installation, with fresh pillows and duvets. The bathroom is pretty and very functional, too. There's a nice view over the beach and the sea from the balcony. Everything is clean; the room is silent and sleep quality was perfect.
Service is really kind, staff is willing to help in any case in spite of that some are still in the learning phase. We tried eating in the restaurant a la cart couple of times, and it was unfortunately disappointing. Major issue is the long waiting time.
Further environmental concern is overcooling, and this was especially not understandable in March, when temperatures are not that high, often hardly over 20 degrees celsius. The hotel lobby and the rooms were chilled below 20 and I wonder why.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TibiHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

From start to finish I have to say it was amazing! Friendly and helpful staff! Especially Guest relations officer Marina! Super helpful! Beach, pool and restaurants are lovely! Brand new hotel so you can still smells like a brand new hotel!
I can't recommend it enough and I suggest you all make sure you get a welcome cookie! OMG these are Devine!!!!! I got a cheeky one on check out too! Yum yum!!!

Room Tip: 7th floor has the best view and the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I live local so it's always good to try a new hotel. Check in was chaotic! Was asked by a receptionist "can I help you" when I replied "I want to check in" was told "can you see a computer? No so I can't check you in!".......wow! Then proceeded to let people check out infront of me even though there was a clear sign and desk for both!

After arriving at my room, it smelt of paint and was hot. The cleaner had left the patio doors open and the room was full of Mosquitos. The room was spacious and very well appointed with a small terrace out to a pool. The hair dryer was missing and the tv control too which were replaced the next day!

The pool area is good but the pool bar kept running out of on tap beer and didn't serve food although they showed us a menu.
Breakfast was very busy but we were shown to the brasserie restaurant instead which was much quieter with no queues. The food was hot and plenty of choice. Room service was good and quick.

We were woken by a very drunk. Russian lady screaming and shouting in the hall at 4am and the noise continued for over 30 minutes until I went into the corridor and threatened to call the police. She was quickly removed then. To my disgust she was still being served drinks at 11am in the morning which resulted in her passing out on her terrace in the morning until late afternoon and then again at 6pm!

My husband woke to find he had been bitten over a 100 times by hungry Mosquitos and felt quite unwell. Guest services were very apologetic about the Mosquitos and the drunk Russian, but the hotel management really need to look at their policy of serving all inclusive drinks if they are to attract local and respectful clientele to the property. Also mosquito repellent plugs need to be in the room and the maids not to leave the patio doors open!

All in all this hotel could be something really special as the setting is fantastic and the staff are great but the teething problems need to be sorted out very quickly.

Many thanks to the Russian lady for ruining my peaceful well earned weekend of relaxation that I work hard all week for and look forward too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliedubai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My Wife and I had a very enjoyable stay and found all the staff to be very efficient and helpful during our stay from arrival to departure, the villas are spacious and very well equipped. Anyone who is a Coeliac (Gluten Free) will find the restaurant chefs very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
16.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
0.6 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#4 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#11 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
Address: Marjan Island Boulevard | PO Box 14800, Ras Al Khaimah, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island 5*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Marjan Island near Al Hamra area of Ras Al Khaimah, the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island provides 450 meters of private sandy beach, villas with furnished balconies and views of the Arabian Sea. Free WiFi is available in public areas. All rooms feature a flat-screen TV, a minibar, an electric kettle and a seating area. Some rooms offer a sofa. The bathrooms are fitted with a shower and bath and offer free toiletries. Guests can enjoy the on-site dining with 7 bars and restaurants, including an all-day dining venue, 2 specialty restaurants and a rooftop bar. A newly renovated kids club with dedicated arcade areas for the older kids and an outdoor playground. In addition, there is a Pirate Boat Aqua Zone with lots of water slides for the whole family to enjoy. The resort offers a fitness centre and 5 temperature-controlled swimming pools, including 2 children's pools. To relax, head to eforea spa with 7 treatment rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, in addition to ladies only spa with 2 treatment rooms, indoor pool, ice bucket shower and wet spa area. Ras Al Khaimah Airport is 25 minutes by car from Double Tree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island. Guests can shop at Al Hamra Mall and Al Hamra Village which are 5-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing