We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amasing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amasing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this amazing resort. The hotel upgraded our rooms to a huge suites with a very nice view. Staff was very friendly and have can do attitude. The resort has plenty of cafes and restaurants, food is tasty but overpriced. Its the best in the area.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank monana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your three day stay with us and that you enjoyed your upgrade to a suite. Thank you for your kind comments about our team members.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another amazing experience at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,425
    420
    119
    40
    28
See reviews for
1,100
1,326
57
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This resort was fabulous. It may be under stated being out in Ras Al Khaimah 50 mins North of Dubai International Airport but it is a hidden jewel. The grand entrance and lobby was amazing, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Peacock alley was beautiful the best Peacock Alley we have been to at a Waldorf Astoria.

We stayed in a King Junior Suite room, it was huge and had a seperate dressing room which was most welcome. All the furnishings were of a high standard and the room was extremely comfortable. The room colour scheme matched the whole theme of the hotel which was executed perfectly something rarely seen. The balcony was huge with fantastic views of the sea. At night it was so relaxing listening to the waves rolling in. It was very quiet at night, the bed was very comfortable and we had the best 10 nights of refreshing sleep ever. The only 2 complaints i have regarding the room is that turn down food and drinks such as milk if not drank by us would sit there for a couple of days. I eventually had to throw it down the sink as it had turned. The room furnishings were not dusted during our stay and became dusty although the room in general was clean.

The food was very reasonably priced than in Dubai but excellent nonetheless. Breakfast was a buffet and had a huge choice. The restaurant choices in the hotel were very good we especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant Umi. The Lexington Grill has the best steaks ever and must be tried. The food from the pool was exceptional also.

The staff in general were extremely helpful and attentive. The pool staff were to be commended and always provided an excellent service Marie Car at the pool bar and Daniel at the towel desk particularly excelled.

The beach was lovely and on certain days had some fabulous shells on the shore

Overall it was a fantastic stay, well done to the management and staff for making it a truly memorable stay. We cannot wait to return very soon!

Room Tip: Ocean views are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Canary2,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and appreciated the hotel entrance, Peacock Alley, your dining experiences and the comfort of your room. Your appreciation for Mariecar and Danie’sl efforts in particular has been shared with directly with them.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.
Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in dubai 10 times in the last 5 years we decided to give ras al khaimah a try for 3 nights with the opening of the waldorf astoria and its beachfront setting. The whole experience from start to finish was amazing and the hotel,rooms,staff,restaurants all give the best in dubai a real run for their money and pound for pound the waldorf might just have the edge. It all started with a fantastic value for money 50 minute transfer arranged through the hotel (420 dirham return) I had requested an early check in through our concierge Philippe and if possible a room upgrade to 2 sea view rooms on same floor and on arriving at hotel at 5 30am I was amazed to check straight in and be given 2 upgraded rooms, with free wifi in public areas, that's what I call top notch service and class. The rooms were totally amazing and very large, the beds were as comfy as u get and all areas of the hotel were stunning. Yes there are only 2 pools but one is massive and split into 3 depths, the only issue I could see with the hotel was the size of the pool restaurant and bar area, it just cannot deal with the amount of people when the hotel is full. We ate at umi and the Lexington grill and both were beautiful and some of the best food we have ever had in the emirates, the breakfast was also excellent and a beautiful area to enjoy your food in. The New York cheesecake in peacock alley was unbelievably good and a great way to finish a day off.
I requested a late check out and this too was honoured at no cost, this is a top notch hotel with fantastic staff who all go the extra mile to make your stay special. You can only judge on your own experiences and all I can say on mine and my family's I would recommend anyone to try this hotel. Well done all at the waldorf, keep up the good work and hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Markthursby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Markthursby,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are all very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the rooms, service and dining facilities have been shared with our team members and especially Philippe.

Your recommendation of our hotel is appreciated and I hope that you and your family will keep the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah as your favorite destination whenever you are visiting UAE.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Have just arrived back yesterday after spending 6 nights at the Waldorf RAK.. Arrived early in the morning around 9am and was informed that our room was not ready but if we upgraded to a junior suite we could have a room straight away they offered us a very reasonable deal and we accepted, we stayed in room 707 which was absolutely beautiful it was sea facing and had a corner balcony and a huge walk in dressing room and stunning bathroom, the bed is one of the most comfortable I have stayed in and would recommend this room. Breakfast was excellent you couldn't fail to not to find something you wanted. When we booked the hotel we took the half board package, on arrival we were told that this only applies to the buffet restaurant and that if we wanted to eat in any other restaurant we could have 160 AED towards the bill which we thought was poor considering that if you paid to eat in the buffet restaurant you would be charged considerably more than 160. Service was excellent throughout the hotel from the check in to restaurant staff and any staff you encountered around the hotel they always smiled and said hello.
I think a big negative for this hotel is charging for the WIFI in your room, we did pay but found it to be very slow and not worth paying for.
Beach was lovely and so was the pool area, it was full of families and lots of children as it was Easter holidays, towards the end of the week they closed the 2nd pool and made it adults only which was nice as you could chill out and read quietly, service by the pool was inconsistent some days they would bring you cold bottled water and cold face towels in a wicker basket and then the next day no one would come near you and you would have to ask for a bottle of water, food menu by the pool could be better was quite limited. We went into Dubai on the Friday evening and it took 2.5 hrs to get there as the traffic was so heavy and then when we left on the Sunday morning once again we sat in traffic for 2 hrs and missed our flight so had to purchase 2 new flight tickets at a massive cost, felt like the hotel should warn people about the traffic going to Dubai there are lots of roadworks going on. I would recommend this hotel although our stay in Dubai finished on a bad note we did enjoy the Waldorf and would return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah36London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sarah36London,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Thank you for highlighting that you enjoyed your junior suite and balcony, the hospitality service that was provided by our team members and your breakfast experiences.

I was of course most concerned to learn your experience with the internet connection speed. We do have complimentary wifi in all of our public areas. I have raised your comments about the service provided at the pool being inconsistent. I appreciate you bringing your flight information to our attention, our concierge team are well conversed with the potential traffic problems in Sharjah at certain times of day. All feedback we receive is taken seriously, we will certainly look to improve

Your recommendation of our hotel is appreciated and I hope that you will keep the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah your favorite destination whenever you are visiting UAE.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. We had a gorgeous holiday here. After a problem during check in, which I won't go into as it was resolved way beyond our expectation, we settled into a relaxing holiday and felt very pampered. We had been through a difficult few months and needed to switch off completely and we were able to do so totally. Our room was amazing - gorgeous view of the sea, comfy bed and everything had been thought of. The bathroom was gorgeous as was the dressing room and sitting room area.
I celebrated my birthday while we were there and the hotel staff made a wonderful effort to ensure it was special with flowers and cake and several birthday cards signed by many members of staff in their own languages.
We had one of the best meals I've ever had in the Lexington Grill. The Wagyu beef cooked to perfection and service to aspire to. The Monroe cocktail is a must have if you are into mixology and a bit of dining "theatre." The Azure restaurant has a great menu - though definitely eat it in the restaurant itself as the service is great in there.
The main dining room serves the usual international buffet for breakfast and dinner - but it is in a different league to other hotel buffets we have experienced - I had a gorgeous pasta dish cooked for me more than once by the very obliging staff.
The staff here are so obliging, nothing is too much trouble and all done with a smile. I work in the customer service industry so I can be pretty tough to please but was very impressed with the staff at this hotel. Our personal concierge Mohammed deserves a special mention for making my birthday special and being extremely attentive and resolving our WiFi for us - thank you! Special mentions also to Vihav (apologies for spelling -Manager of Camelia and Peacock Alley) who went out of his way to resolve a little problem we had and then was so friendly and pleasant each time we saw him. Also Vishva (again apologies for spelling) who was wonderful and welcoming at breakfast! There were too many others to mention, though if you go for a massage, ask for Valentina in the spa.
There were two pools - we didn't have a problem securing a lounger and there are also cabanas in the garden for more seclusion. The lap pool is quieter than the main pool - mostly!
The hotel itself is about an hour north of Dubai itself and avoid the rush hour if you are thinking of taking a trip into the city.
One suggestion - the lap pool should be made adults only, at least during the week. There is a huge separate pool with a great kids area. Take an iPod and then you cannot hear them!
We appreciated the constant supply of cool bottled water wherever you went, although the service around the lap pool wasn't too consistent - I think they were all still training.
We had a fantastic break and thank you so much to all the staff who made this possible. We will come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "tower" part, high floor and facing south - more sunny for more of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Cat2803,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Your kind words are very much appreciated and Waldorf Astoria team members are greatly encouraged by your comments. It is always a pleasure to read how the service culture we strive to create is also noticed by our guests. We are glad to learn that your stay provided you an unforgettable including the birthday celebrations and dinner in Lexington Grill. Al Fayrouz is now an adult only pool which is being managed by the poolside teams.

We hope to be of service to you again in the not too distant future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you once more.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We came from Dubai for the weekend with our 4 year old son. The hotel is great. Best are the rooms. Very spacious and great view. We had a junior suite with no balcony in the main tower. Our son enjoyed the kids club. We enjoyed the beach and the spa. The garden/ pool area is massive and very nice. The treatments in the spa are very good but very expensive. Negative is the F&B offering. The restaurants are too specialized (Japanese and Steakhouse) and it misses a nice restaurant for dinner. Outside the hotel is not much. RAK is not that developed. Our view: hotel is great for relaxing, short stays. If you want to explore, do shopping or have more restaurant choices, go to the Waldorf Astoria in Dubai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are all very pleased to read that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding your view on spa prices and the food and beverage outlets. We have ten restaurants, lounges and bars to choose from which offer a variety of food.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you and your family back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcountry
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

At first glance on-line the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah has the appearance of a vast exotic wedding cake. With stiff competition from the 5 star hotels in Dubai, you could be forgiven for staying elsewhere but you would be making a big mistake!

This is a very special resort hotel indeed and harks back to a sophistication that is some times lost back in today's busy Dubai. Only 50 minutes by swift (a little too swift in our case) airport transfer through the golden desert, Ras Al Khaimah has the air of Dubai 20 years ago. The Waldorf Astoria is top dog for the time being but others will follow but will find it hard to match this game changer in the UAE.

The arrival is impressive in day or night, the vast interiors are opulent yet subtle and cool in their design providing a luxurious oasis of calm for local Emeraties and visitors alike. This is one of the few top end hotels, which has a genuine mix of sophisticated locals and overseas visitors. Whist many 5 star hotels in Dubai have sold out to the package tour crowd from Europe's regional airports where fellow guests can appear to be auditioning for the next season of the hit sit-com 'Benidorm'. The Warldorf Astoria has somehow ensured that it has carved a niche amongst a more discerning and sophisticated traveler.

The Level of service from check-in to departure is welcome with staff memorising not only visitor’s names but also their favoured drink or dish. The restaurants are word class and easily match downtown Dubai or in Umi's and Marhan case surpass it. The Lexington Grill was also excellent and the choice at Breakfast and dinner at Qasr al Bahar impressive.

There are a few niggles such as the pool restaurants that are undermining the superb quality of the main restaurants in the hotel itself. Whist far more complicated and exotic dishes are winning plaudits upstairs simple fare such as pizza and burgers are very poor indeed down below, there is though a silver lining as 'Johnny Rockets' is walking distance away in the local Mall and serves vastly better fare than 'Azure'.

One of the most extraordinary successes of this vast resort hotel is the fact that even at capacity it never seems crowded. From the air of calm in the Peacock Alley to the charming service in the Cigar Bar, evenings at the Waldorf Astoria are a pleasure.

A superb and relaxing stopover with great therapists in a impressive Spa, good food, great service and comfortable rooms, well landscaped pools, a lovely beach. A perfect escape with the temptations of the Malls just out of reach. Though Shopaholics can of course enjoy a day trip to Dubai and be back in time for tea but why bother?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CitybreakWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear CitybreakWestcountry,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review about your recent stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

It was most enjoyable to read your review as it evoked a sincere delight from your side of this unique experience you had. We feel praised by your compliments of pretty much every aspect in the hotel; be it the quality of the food in Umi, Marjan and Qasr Al Bahar, the interior of the hotel, the spa facilities or the care and attention given to you by all our team members.

It has been and remains important for us to maintain clear and concise communication, without which certainly we would encounter shortfalls in service especially your experience in our Azure. It is definitely not the consistent level of high standard service we wish for our esteemed guests such as you to experience while dining and I am happy to inform you that corrective actions have been taken.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
2.1 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.5 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Property: Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Address: Vienna Street | Al Hamra Village, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the palaces of the Arabian Peninsula, Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, ideally located 50 minutes from Dubai International Airport, will bring the legendary true Waldorf service to one of the most alluring beach front locations in the Middle East. An 18 hole championship golf course and a 350 metre private beach are set against the blue water of the Arabian Sea. The Waldorf Astoria Ras al Khaimah, will be a true luxury resort. The setting of this magnificent hotel will be matched by the unparalleled facilities with its stylish dining and entertainment venues, sophisticated conference and event facilities and its luxurious spa experiences available to guests. The 346 deluxe rooms and suites reflect the palatial surroundings and offer the luxuries of space and tranquillity. Each room extends over at least 72 square metres and offers panoramic views of the Arabian Sea, championship golf course and the impressive Al Hajjar Mountains on the horizon.Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah is home to ten bespoke restaurants and bars, offering an exclusive range of dining and entertainment experiences to suit every mood and flavour. From signature restaurants with succulent steaks and grills at the US steakhouse Lexington Grill, Japanese cuisine with sushi and teppanyaki at UMI, Middle Eastern flavours at Marjan and international dining experiences at Qasr Al Bahar to open air pool and beach side restaurants, elegant tea and coffee lounges serving light meals and traditional high tea and the vibrant night club, 17squared, on the 17th floor. A place of relaxation and restoration; the hotel's spa will offer signature treatments combined with exceptional care to create a place where guests can surrender and restore personal well-being. The gymnasium will feature an extensive range of Technogym equipment as well as a whirlpool and a sauna. Guests can relax in the two outdoor chilled pools and one the 350 meter white sandy beach. Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah offers a unique and timeless setting for gatherings and events of all descriptions. With the personalized service by dedicated event team this luxury property is the perfect location to host spectacular private celebrations, corporate conferences, team building activities, intimate beach weddings, cocktail parties, product launches and executive meetings. The hotel features a VIP arrival hall and multiple pre-function spaces, making it a spectacular venue for weddings, galas and high end corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing