We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

we stayed at the RAK Hotel last week for 2 nights and theonly reason we chose this hotel was because the diving school we were attending is based there.
First of all the hotel is old, the decor is dated and it almost feels as though you have travelled back in time to the 1980's.
The welcome at the reception was poor, the lady at the reception was uninterested and borderline rude.
Once we were shown to our room I was pleased with the size but it did smell a little, that old furniture smell but it was clean and the room is carpeted which makes a nice change.
We wanted and adaptor plug so that we could use the laptop and it took them half an hour to send us an adaptor that didnt work and another half an hour to finally send one that worked.
We ordered room service since we arrived quite late and my husband ordered the mixed grill, i ordered smoked salmon tagliatelle. It was lovely.
The bed was comfortable but I found it difficult to sleep, there seemed to be a lot of noise coming from downstairs, i think it was music but dont know where it was coming from. there is no bar or club at the hotel.
The breakfast was ok, small selection of hot food which included samosas and spring rolls which I dont consider breakfast food. They did have chicken sausage, beef bacon and scrambled egg.
on our second night we ordered room service. I asked for Umm Ali and they didnt have it, apparently they only make it if enough people order it, I asked for muhallabia and they didnt have that either! I was unhappy that anything I wanted from the menu was unavailabe and wondered why it was on the menu in the first place?! he called me back and then offered me the Umm ali after I had complained.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which suprised me since this is usually provided even in the most basic hotels. I called to order english breakfast tea and guess what.....they didnt have any! again I complained they told me that they had run out, I asked them if they would be serving tea with breakfast then and they said no! there is a supermarket right opposite the hotel, my husband was already there so I asked him to get me tea, I asked room service if they would provide me with hot water and a cup, this was ok but they only sent hot water, no cup, another call to room service and this was rectified.
I took my own tea bags to breakfast the next day, but they must have bought some! seems petty I know but this hotel claims to be 4 star! definitely not a 4 star hotel and most certainly not a 4 star service.
After spending the day in the pool on my diving course I was looking forward to jumping in the shower, what a disapointment! it can only be described as a treacle of water! no pressure at all.

All in all the hotel was a bit dull, old fashioned and didnt provide a 4 star service. As I mentioned the stay here was for convenience and nothing else. I wouldnt rush back but I have stayed in worse hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    40
    16
    15
See reviews for
48
31
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my sisters and brother in law , the rate is good because the hotel package includes the dreamland water park. the swimming pool timing is from 10am to 6pm , since its too hot in the morning and we arrived at 5:30 pm we don't have time to use it anymore and we need to check-out at 10am,it would be better if they will extend the timings so the guests whose having a free time only in the evening can still use it. The bathroom amenities should be good for two person if they are having twin bedrooms. Towels should be change , it looks old.

Breakfast is ok, but it would be better if you will have a live cooking station for eggs. I know its a buffet breakfast but there should have a service staff attending to the tables.

Free wifi in the lobby is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ems961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Nice hotel for a low price. Stayed here for one night on our our way to dibba.
Free wi-fi in lobby, spacious pool and clean rooms.

Hotel is a bit outdated, but for the price it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collindominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partille, Vastra Gotaland, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nice hotel with a fine Pool and free Wi-Fi in the reseption area

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. The staff was very rude and unprofessional.
The rooms were old and the furniture and tv were out of date. The AC was very loud. The mattress was old and very uncomfortable.
There was absolutely nothing to do at the hotel. The pool was closed for maintenance. The bars were out of service. No alcohol at all. Not even in room service. Most of the guests were with kids so it was very noisy. I was charged 500 a night (a total rip off but due to eid, everything else was already gone). The price was with breakfast and tickets to the Iceland water park. The tickets expired 1 day after check in. It should have been at least 2-3 days. I requested the front desk to change the date on the tickets so I could use it two days later and the reply was 'no way, it is what it is'...
The only thing good was breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotels-of-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Old HOTEL,Old room,old A/C,staff not professional, from the reception to room service...
Good swimming pool BUT no life guard person,any body swimming with no control for cleaning and swimming costumes.
I DON'T ADVICE PEOPLE BUT ONE GOOD THINK IN THIS HOTEL THEY GIVE ME 2 FREE TICKETS TO ENTER ICE LAND WATER PARK AMAZING WATER PARK IN THE DESERT

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wassimfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Good value for money, the hotel is old property but still main hotel facilities are working properly,

Location is not far from the City Center and few minutes waking to the Corniche area in RAK.

Food was great, friendly service, nice sports bar along with sports facilities e.g. Squash, Tennis, etc...

Rooms are normal standard comparing to the value of money paid.

Room Tip: Book Julphar Suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
11.6 mi away
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Res...
#13 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.6 mi away
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hote...
#14 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resor...
#17 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
11.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Al Khaimah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Al Khaimah Hotel

Property: Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
Address: Khozam street | PO Box 56, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Al Khaimah Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is centrally located on top of the hill with mesmerizing view of the Creek and stunning scenery of corniche and the Hajar Mountains. The Tower Links Golf Course (18 Holes) as well as the Shopping Malls are only a short distance away from the Hotel. Ras Al Khaimah International Airport is only 15 mins. Drive Dubai International Airport is just 45 mins. drive from the Hotel. 92 rooms and suites furnished with excellent facilities and amenities, Free Wifi access, Awatar Restaurant serving international open buffet / ala carte, Shisha, Recreation & leisure activities, Conferences & Ballroom for weddings/parties , Catering, pastry ,bakery & more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ras Al Khaimah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing