We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay in this hotel!!”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay in this hotel!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a terrible experience. We got no sleep for the 2 nights we stayed there because of the loud music. I rang reception at 3 am to ask when the pounding loud music would stop and was told 4 o clock Ma'am! No hand towels or shower mat in the bathrooms, just 2 bath towels. No place to plug in a hair dryer near to a mirror. A nightmare stay... Never again!!

Room Tip: Don't believe there could possibly be any good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bernie23Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    12
    9
    16
See reviews for
22
13
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Best Hotel for business travelers.
1. Breakfast is really nice.
2. Free Wi-fi with fastest connectivity speed is the real boon. It's really great!
3. Location is excellent. To travel anywhere you easily get taxi on the doorstep.
4. It is just opposit to the best Mall of Rak i.e. al Manar Mall and carrefour Shopping Giant.
5. 24 hrs hot/cold water.
6. Speedy and friendly check in / check out.
7. Overall service is quite good.
Just one suggestion -
Need to make HVAC/ exhaust system more effective in coffee shop area adjacent to the reception to restrict the smoking zone.

Tried other properties in Rak but this one is really good and value for money. The Hotel Incharge Mr. Yakub is very helpful.

Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Choose room away from the Night club so that the noise won't disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in the suite as we have upgraded for a good price. People were helpful, very patient till we finalize the dates of our stay. We had the package including iceland tickets which was a great value. Hotel was good, the deluxe rooms were good enough to stay amd relax on, the suite jwas huge, good for families who would like to stay in RAk city. The hotel had a good location, that is in front of Manar mall. Will defintely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite room to have connectung room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelle705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I staayed on d eight floor for 14days it was 14 days of niteclub,they club everyday day there @ a point I got used to d music,pls avoid the last floor if you are stayin in this hotel,the owner of the hotel and staffs are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ras Al Khaimah hotels

Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Firstly do not get your expectation up- the reality is that this is a 2 star hotel AT BEST. If you go in knowing that fact ...then you will have an ok experience.
The negatives of our stay.
1. Our adjoining rooms BOTH REEKED of STRONG cigarette smoke. It was ALL over the bedding, curtains, upholstery etc... The worst part was- cigarette fumes came from the AC duct all night we had the AC on! We couldnt sleep. At one point my husband and I were 'tearing' as the fumes were stinging our eyes. It was truly an unpleasant experience esp as we are non-smokers. (It almost triggered a migrane for me!)
2. The bathrooms were not KID friendly- they were extremely slippery and 3 of our kids slipped and hit their heads on the hard tiled floor and glass doors...potentially V HAZZARDOUS.
3. Our en-suite bathroom - although clean, had plumbing/guttering issues and STANK of sewage- we had to keep the door shut and avoided using that toilet. Each bathroom provided ONLY 1 TOWEL- we are a family of 5+babysitter!
3. There is a nearby garage (opposite our room on 3rd floor) which decided to do 'motor checks' at 10 pm - sounded like 'drag-racing' - was incredibly annoying..it was very loud and woke up the kids!!!! I complained at reception after enduring 30 mins of noise, and the reception must have had them on speed dial because the noise stopped almost instantaneously as I put down the phone !!! :)
4. Iceland park is 15 to 20 mins from this hotel...it is quite a LONG haul especially with kids dressed up and waiting eagerly for the waterpark. Also u have to pay extra at iceland for towels etc- so take your own towels. Also the Ac is cranked up to MAX inside the locker rooms...be careful...kids were freezing and shivering in the changing rooms after swimming!
5. View from our room was abysmal! (car park/garage/run-down neighbourhood) Also hardly any selection of good channels on Tv/cable. No movies/children's cartoon channels.
POsitives- Rooms were v basic but clean and quite spacious.Also reception DID stop the motor noise V V FAST. Breakfast buffet was ok. Also location convenient as opposite Manar Mall/carrefour.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 303+302- fyi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nur009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel was great - rooms were clean, big enough for us with a 1 year old baby and they provided a baby cott which was awesome... rooms was nice.... but the are ontop of a bar and it gets loud.. but I was happy that it was very close to the mall (literally across the road) so loads of food options and stuff available for us... Would go back, maybe ask for a higher room...

Room Tip: Go to a higher room - not sure if it helps with the loud late night music, but worth a shot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Hotel have nice location next to Manar mall, but crossing the road may be not safe. Hotel workers was really nice and polite. Room was big and clean, nice design, nice view from balcony. But the big problem is really poor soundproof. first hotel in a busy street, so you can hear cars really good even with closed windows, but the biggest problem is that hotel have night club on rooftop , music and bass not let me sleep all night! I made complain, they turn music little down, but I still can feel the bass, so it was a torture, I stayed in lobby till 4 am, using free wifi, because I cant stay in my room. So I can't recommend this hotel to people, who like to sleep at night and relax in quite place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
1.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Tulip Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#20 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.5 mi away
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Res...
#13 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
#19 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hote...
#14 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
11.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resor...
#17 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ras Al Khaimah
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ras Al Kha...
#16 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Al Muntaser Street, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is in the heart of Ras Al Khaimah, directly across from Manar Shopping Mall. It offers free Wi-Fi, massage treatments in the beauty salon, and rooms with balconies.Dining options include a sushi and seafood bar and casual dining at the 24-hour Balance Dine-In Café. Guests can stay late at The City Lights Bar and Chill Pub.The spacious rooms are air-conditioned and include satellite TV. Some have a sitting area with a sofa.A 24-hour front desk, an on-site tour desk and a car rental service are available at the City Hotel. The property is a 5 minute walk from Ras Al Khaimah’s center. Guests can reach RAK International Airport with a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing