We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a nice time at this hotel, until i got up in the night to go to the toilet and saw a cockroach running across the floor. I took a photo and called reception they sent someone to take it away and i was told that someone from the management would contact us, they never did. Breakfast was very good but a lot of the food was not to our taste. At weekends the locals arrive and take over and it becomes noisy with all the kids.For Swedish readers when we got back i contacted the travel agent Solresor with my complaint and their reply was you must expect insects in your room when in foreign countries. Insects yes but not cockroaches in a 5 star hotel. A tip is never leave your cases open as you never know what you will bring back with you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Viking01,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at The Cove Rotana Resort.

We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay, however, read with regret about the insect in your room. Unfortunately, despite regular and very intensive on-site pest control 24/7, insects cannot be fully avoided considering our rural surroundings as well as the weather inviting leaving balcony/ terrace doors and / or windows open. We thank you for your kind understanding, at the same time wish to apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused.

Your comments in regards to the menu variety on the buffet is noted and will be assessed by our culinary team.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cove Rotana Resort.

Sincerely,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 3,535 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Because our 16 year old daughter accompanied us, we booked a villa by the lagoon. Tiling was throughout, upstairs and down, so a little cool, but slippers were provided. The villa had a kitchen but it was not operational which wasn't a problem as we had our meals in the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were buffets with endless choices and most dishes of a very high quality. I wouldn't however recommend the sushi. The villa had a large balcony overlooking the lagoon which would have benefitted from loungers. No doubt if we had phoned, they would have been provided. One could phone for a golf buggy to go to restaurants, spa etc which were located higher up. There were plenty of activities, though at a price. The spa was delightful. The air conditioning was rather loud so I was pleased I had taken ear plugs. One disappointment was the villa did not have wifi, just cable which is not useful with an iPad.

Room Tip: Be aware that the kettle in our villa had a two pin plug pushed into a three pin socket but room ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Pam I,

I am very pleased to read your positive review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our resort.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comment in regards to the sushi is shared with our Executive Chef for improvement, and the Wi Fi query is currently being assessed. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Nevertheless, I do hope that you and your family will return to Ras Al Khaimah in the near future and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in a premium 3 bedroom villa with a plunge pool over the weekend. The resort is pretty and clean and well maintained but stops short of luxury. There is something missing that gives that luxurious feel in the decor, service and facilities.
Service is average. Food strictly ok. Avoid chicken preparations as the ones we got were rubbery butter chicken and strange tasting nuggets we returned as they were for the kids in the group. We still paid for these though! Food delivery was slow for room service and you ciukd hear the grass growing at Cinnamon where we were late for the buffet and ordered a la carte. Very few healthy options on the menu. There is a noisy bouncy castle in the terrace of the restaurant where some strange adult guests started jumping scaring our kids. Noone did anything about this.
It was too cold to use the pool so we went to the beach which is really a narrow strip if sand in high tide which gets some rocky extensions in low tide. The lagoon is pretty and the views around the resort are nice. The temp controlled pool is open only from sunrise to sunset so do keep this in mind as we spent the day at the beach and planned to go to the pool in the evening only to find it closed. The villa pool isn't temp controlled and the water was icy even during the day.
The TV in the sitting area didn't work properly and the sound was muffled and strange. We could hear it upstairs even but not in the sitting room!
It was quite cool in RAK and there was no hot water in any of the 3 bathrooms in the villa. We had the geysers on for over an hour and only got some water that barely qualified as lukewarm. And yes we do know how to use taps :). During such a short stay, we didn't have the time or bandwidth to complain so we simply grinned and bore it though we were concerned for the kids.
All in all the place looks quite nice but lacks simple basics so I would rate it just average and suggest you head to the many other options available in RAK.
Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear JD1316,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that in general you enjoyed your stay, however, noted your comments and suggestions which will be assessed in detail by the Management.
With much regret we read about the TV malfunctioning and the issue with hot water. We wished it would had been brought to our attention as surely our Engineering Team could have rectified immediately. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for your sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I and my family spent one night at the cove and have had mixed feelings

Food - Excellent...
Service - Excellent...
Rooms - rooms are tiled and I would say very frugal...no luxury in this department....
Spa: poor... Me and my wife took a Swedish massage and must say the therapy left a lot to be desired...the massage was one of the most awful I have ever had...very good facility but ruined by poor choice of staff and probably feedback...

Very scenic and I would rather do a day spend here rather than overnight as the only disappointment were the rooms....

Room Tip: If taking a villa the 1 br is a better villas as compared to the 2 br....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prasad_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Mr. Prasad,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. Whereas we are glad that you enjoyed the location of the resort and the view, we regret that our room interior as well as spa treatment did not meet your expectations. The architecture of the Cove Rotana Resort is Nubian style reflecting the simplicity of décor. Thank you for sharing your experience in our spa and be assured that this will be addressed.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind regards

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went to this hotel for pre evening meal drinks with friends that we were staying with in Al Hamra village. They told us that there would be a good view of the sunset, there was. It was comfortable on the terrace and the service was fine if a little slow. The drinks were fairly pricey and the Margaritas weren't as ordered - they were frozen! However for a drink with friends/family before having a meal in the evening the Cove Rotunda is a good venue. We didn't have the meal here, we went on to the Al Hamra Golf Club. The facilities were very clean.

Room Tip: Can't assist as we only visited for drinks on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebelaligill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear jebelaligill,

Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit for a sundowner on the Breeze Terrace at The Cove Rotana Resort.

We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed the views while the sun was setting at the Arabian Gulf. Your valuable comments in regards to the service as well as consistence of the cocktail will be shared with the Bar Manager. Please except our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain with kind regards.



The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed at Cove Rotana several times, for weekend family getaways or for Eid breaks with friends.
So far we always had amazing experience with Cove employees, facilities and everything.
Was just phenomenal.
However there is this gentleman working at Water sports Business Center (Houssam, Egytptian gentleman) ruining all your good experiences with his aggressiveness and rudeness, and obnoxious behaviors both to the guest and his employees.
I truly hope that Water Sports part is just sub-contracted to another company that this person do not represent Cove Rotana at all.

Room Tip: Villa's with its own pool are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Basak S,

Thank you very much for your valuable time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor about your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort.

With delight I read that you enjoyed our facilities and services and especially liked the accommodation in our villas with their plunge pools.

I personally wish to thank you also for your time on your departure day to share with us your experience with our water sports center. Despite the water sports center is outsourced, we as The Cove Rotana Management certainly must ensure that the services offered by our business partners reflect the image of the resort. Consequently, the Manager of the Water Sports Company was contacted and briefed with the request to deal with the matter professionally to avoid re-occurrence.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort caused and thank you again for your positive criticism which will assist us to continuously improve our services.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort and remain with sunny regards.


The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we stayed late sept for 6 nights and after reading some reviews was a bit apprehensive.we really was pleasantly suprised,and enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked a few more nights.so anyone reading about bad food cold,bland,and not alot of choice is rubbish some people just like a moan and i can find fault!! but can say honestly i did not, food hot,very tasty and a huge choice, and no chips anynight great. must also praise the staff, mohamed on reception what a friendly greeting we got,and i was very cheeky and got a villa on the lagoon.azimul and rupak cleaned our villa and must say it was spotless.never got any member of staff who didn't make you feel special what a great team.if you want a taxi book through shop in hotel dont go through alpha tours we did and paid nearly double.only downside not ai at beach bar for food and bit of a hike to restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear janet j,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our resort.

With much delight I read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. Thank you also for emphasizing some of our colleagues for their outstanding services and be assured that your kind feedback will be shared with them.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the not too far distant future I remain with sunny regards.


The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
8.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,490 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,043 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#13 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
536 reviews
6.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah

Address: P.O. Box 34429, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Business Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: $129 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Rotana Resort is located on an idyllic water inlet on the Ras Al Khaimah beachfront, offering spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. Just 8 km from the city centre, 20 km from the Ras Al Khaimah Airport and an 87 km drive from Dubai, The Cove Rotana Resort is an ideal destination for leisure travellers and weekend breakers. 204 rooms and 78 one, two and three bedroom Villas, 3 fully-equipped and flexible meeting rooms with the latest audio-visual equipment, 6 attractive choices of restaurants, bars and lounges, the fully equipped Bodylines leisure and fitness club, 600 metres of pristine beach, 2 swimming pools and 7 exquisitely designed massage treatment rooms are among the many facilities offered at The Cove Rotana Resort – Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Cove Rotana Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing