We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stops short of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just stops short of luxury”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in a premium 3 bedroom villa with a plunge pool over the weekend. The resort is pretty and clean and well maintained but stops short of luxury. There is something missing that gives that luxurious feel in the decor, service and facilities.
Service is average. Food strictly ok. Avoid chicken preparations as the ones we got were rubbery butter chicken and strange tasting nuggets we returned as they were for the kids in the group. We still paid for these though! Food delivery was slow for room service and you ciukd hear the grass growing at Cinnamon where we were late for the buffet and ordered a la carte. Very few healthy options on the menu. There is a noisy bouncy castle in the terrace of the restaurant where some strange adult guests started jumping scaring our kids. Noone did anything about this.
It was too cold to use the pool so we went to the beach which is really a narrow strip if sand in high tide which gets some rocky extensions in low tide. The lagoon is pretty and the views around the resort are nice. The temp controlled pool is open only from sunrise to sunset so do keep this in mind as we spent the day at the beach and planned to go to the pool in the evening only to find it closed. The villa pool isn't temp controlled and the water was icy even during the day.
The TV in the sitting area didn't work properly and the sound was muffled and strange. We could hear it upstairs even but not in the sitting room!
It was quite cool in RAK and there was no hot water in any of the 3 bathrooms in the villa. We had the geysers on for over an hour and only got some water that barely qualified as lukewarm. And yes we do know how to use taps :). During such a short stay, we didn't have the time or bandwidth to complain so we simply grinned and bore it though we were concerned for the kids.
All in all the place looks quite nice but lacks simple basics so I would rate it just average and suggest you head to the many other options available in RAK.
Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear JD1316,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that in general you enjoyed your stay, however, noted your comments and suggestions which will be assessed in detail by the Management.
With much regret we read about the TV malfunctioning and the issue with hot water. We wished it would had been brought to our attention as surely our Engineering Team could have rectified immediately. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for your sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    887
    305
    134
    87
See reviews for
871
1,379
78
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I and my family spent one night at the cove and have had mixed feelings

Food - Excellent...
Service - Excellent...
Rooms - rooms are tiled and I would say very frugal...no luxury in this department....
Spa: poor... Me and my wife took a Swedish massage and must say the therapy left a lot to be desired...the massage was one of the most awful I have ever had...very good facility but ruined by poor choice of staff and probably feedback...

Very scenic and I would rather do a day spend here rather than overnight as the only disappointment were the rooms....

Room Tip: If taking a villa the 1 br is a better villas as compared to the 2 br....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prasad_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Prasad,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. Whereas we are glad that you enjoyed the location of the resort and the view, we regret that our room interior as well as spa treatment did not meet your expectations. The architecture of the Cove Rotana Resort is Nubian style reflecting the simplicity of décor. Thank you for sharing your experience in our spa and be assured that this will be addressed.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind regards

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went to this hotel for pre evening meal drinks with friends that we were staying with in Al Hamra village. They told us that there would be a good view of the sunset, there was. It was comfortable on the terrace and the service was fine if a little slow. The drinks were fairly pricey and the Margaritas weren't as ordered - they were frozen! However for a drink with friends/family before having a meal in the evening the Cove Rotunda is a good venue. We didn't have the meal here, we went on to the Al Hamra Golf Club. The facilities were very clean.

Room Tip: Can't assist as we only visited for drinks on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebelaligill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear jebelaligill,

Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit for a sundowner on the Breeze Terrace at The Cove Rotana Resort.

We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed the views while the sun was setting at the Arabian Gulf. Your valuable comments in regards to the service as well as consistence of the cocktail will be shared with the Bar Manager. Please except our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain with kind regards.



The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed at Cove Rotana several times, for weekend family getaways or for Eid breaks with friends.
So far we always had amazing experience with Cove employees, facilities and everything.
Was just phenomenal.
However there is this gentleman working at Water sports Business Center (Houssam, Egytptian gentleman) ruining all your good experiences with his aggressiveness and rudeness, and obnoxious behaviors both to the guest and his employees.
I truly hope that Water Sports part is just sub-contracted to another company that this person do not represent Cove Rotana at all.

Room Tip: Villa's with its own pool are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Basak S,

Thank you very much for your valuable time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor about your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort.

With delight I read that you enjoyed our facilities and services and especially liked the accommodation in our villas with their plunge pools.

I personally wish to thank you also for your time on your departure day to share with us your experience with our water sports center. Despite the water sports center is outsourced, we as The Cove Rotana Management certainly must ensure that the services offered by our business partners reflect the image of the resort. Consequently, the Manager of the Water Sports Company was contacted and briefed with the request to deal with the matter professionally to avoid re-occurrence.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort caused and thank you again for your positive criticism which will assist us to continuously improve our services.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort and remain with sunny regards.


The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we stayed late sept for 6 nights and after reading some reviews was a bit apprehensive.we really was pleasantly suprised,and enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked a few more nights.so anyone reading about bad food cold,bland,and not alot of choice is rubbish some people just like a moan and i can find fault!! but can say honestly i did not, food hot,very tasty and a huge choice, and no chips anynight great. must also praise the staff, mohamed on reception what a friendly greeting we got,and i was very cheeky and got a villa on the lagoon.azimul and rupak cleaned our villa and must say it was spotless.never got any member of staff who didn't make you feel special what a great team.if you want a taxi book through shop in hotel dont go through alpha tours we did and paid nearly double.only downside not ai at beach bar for food and bit of a hike to restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear janet j,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our resort.

With much delight I read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. Thank you also for emphasizing some of our colleagues for their outstanding services and be assured that your kind feedback will be shared with them.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the not too far distant future I remain with sunny regards.


The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Location is Excellent
It is a newer property unlike others around the peninsula hence lesser issues
Food quality is Good
The only problem I came across was car traffic at check in time.
They close the pool too early but the swimming pools are amazing.
We took a couples beach message which was a beautiful location but the massage was average.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patialaroyalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear patialaroyalz,

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort on TripAdvisor.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your escape from the city with us. We regret that your arrival was impacted by traffic for which we sincerely apologize.
We also will look into the quality of the massage treatments – thank you for your valuable feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time to recommend our resort and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sunny regards,



The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 days with hubby & our 2 yrs old son.. Had an amazing stay!
The scens are amazing, wonderful service & extremely friendly staff.. Not the ones on reception desk though!
We had swiss massage & it was really good & done by professional people.
The food is good & worth every dirham u pay.
I would deffinetly go back there just to sit on terrace & watch the beauty around me

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newborn_jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear newborn_jazz,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent weekend stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our resort.

With much delight I read that you have been overall impressed with the location of our resort as well as quality and services. I am glad that you and your family had a marvelous relaxing weekend. However, with concern we noted your comment about our Reception which will be assessed. Thank you for your valuable comment.

I do hope you will return to Ras Al Khaimah in the near future and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,



The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
8.0 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,194 reviews
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
7.7 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
2,792 reviews
6.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
9.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah

Property: Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah
Address: P.O. Box 34429, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Business Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Rotana Resort is located on an idyllic water inlet on the Ras Al Khaimah beachfront, offering spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. Just 8 km from the city centre, 20 km from the Ras Al Khaimah Airport and an 87 km drive from Dubai, The Cove Rotana Resort is an ideal destination for leisure travellers and weekend breakers. 204 rooms and 78 one, two and three bedroom Villas, 3 fully-equipped and flexible meeting rooms with the latest audio-visual equipment, 6 attractive choices of restaurants, bars and lounges, the fully equipped Bodylines leisure and fitness club, 600 metres of pristine beach, 2 swimming pools and 7 exquisitely designed massage treatment rooms are among the many facilities offered at The Cove Rotana Resort – Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Cove Rotana Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing