We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite haunt for Emiratis and Expats alike”
Review of Shakespeare and Co

Shakespeare and Co
Ranked #19 of 302 Restaurants in Al Ain
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Shakespeare and Co was established with the simple premise of serving great quality food, providing friendly and efficient service in a warm atmosphere reminiscent of home. Abiding by that philosophy has propelled the company's growth from its first establishment in 2001, to currently 18 company owned and operated outlets in the United Arab Emirates, and franchises in Lebanon, Jordan, Qatar, Oman, and the United States. Our goal is to be a leading player in the independent casual dining industry.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A favourite haunt for Emiratis and Expats alike”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great selection on menu. Wonderful fresh juices. Great for morning coffee, a leisurely lunch or a quick snack. Good price point for quality of food too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenofCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareandCoUAE, ShakespeareandCoUAE,Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you very much QueenofCarlisle for your lovely review of our restaurant...we are glad that you liked the food selection on our vast menu. We are dedicated to uphold our high standards by simply sourcing out the freshest and the best quality ingredients available. You are very true about what you said, Shakespeare&Co in that part of the world is a haunt for Emiratis and Expat alike...in the sense that, these particular group of guests likes to start and end their day right. The location is kinda laid back, and Shakespeare&Co is the perfect place to indulge in any kind of conversation while enjoying the elegant decors, homey and comforting ambiance, great food and friendly service. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit at our restaurant...we hope that you will continue to patronize us. Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penistone Uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More Edwardian chintz then Shakespeare..”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Quirky place but great drinks and cakes. Not cheap. Fun and funky. Great staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FabDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anything you feel like eating with great service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a really nice and very welcoming place that offers great breakfast, lunch, snacks, pastries, cakes, dinner in many different flavours of cuisine. The decor is seriously over the top and works amazingly well. So, it's the sort of place that's easy to get wrong but they get it right every day. Wonderful plus for Al Ain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingmytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and Great Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've eat at Shakespeare's every week for the past year and I've never tired of the food. The menu is diverse, the food is always cooked well and the customer service is excellent!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very fancy”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is Shakespeare & Co's latest cafe-restaurant in the new wing of the Al Ain shopping mall. Like their other place we've tried in Central Souk Abu Dhabi, the interior is like stepping into Miss Haversham's living room, straight out of Dickens' Great Expectations, but no cobwebs of course !
Relax in plush, comfy sofas and cozy armchairs in a very fancy, over the top decor.
My wife and daughter said the quinoa and grilled vegetable salad is a must, whilst dad and son-in-law enjoyed terrific crab fritters and smoked salmon bagel. Huge array of things to choose from, as well as an extensive selection of teas, patisseries and chocolates. Staff lovely and very attentive. Reasonable prices. There's also a full service flower shop if you're interested.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare and Co also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Shakespeare and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing