We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Ain Oasis

Al Ain Oasis
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.00*
and up
Make Your Own Al Ain City Tour - Private Tour from Abu Dhabi
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

And don't get lost inside it either. The roads are a warren, just waiting to gobble up tourists in the 100,000+ palm trees. I'm not even kidding, as I heard the number could be 50-60% more than that. It's a wonder worth visiting. Just keep your bearings very clearly or use a GPS or take a tour guide. Seriously.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    117
    73
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great concept, disappointing execution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Based on what we read and on travel books, this was to be a highlight in Al Ain. It is very well constructed and laid out, but from appearances this is more of a farm collective where individual farms own property in the Oasis. There are nice bricked roads running through the center of the Oasis but you have to stay on the road and peer over the walls to see into the "oasis" itself. It was a pleasant 30 minute walk from one end to the other, but after touring Oases in Morocco this was hugely disappointing and did not lend itself to wandering among palm trees while stepping over ancient underground irrigation canals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brought back memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I used to walk around here when I was a child, and it was great to see that forty years later, that there was still a lot of the old heritage being preserved.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheRigrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great place for a walk.
Not much else to do but enjoy the grass and trees in the middle of nowhere.
One must also appreciate the age old irrigation system, just a pitty you don't get to see where the water comes from.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtravl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuthbert, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Oasis is several acres of date trees with the old fashioned falaj watering system in place. It makes for a pleasing walk, with several miles (I'd guess) of paving-stone roadways. We spied a mango tree and some banana trees as we strolled. In all, the Oasis isn't all that fantastic, but it's a good place for walking or bicycling.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shonrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Ain Oasis also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Al Ain Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing