We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Al Ain
Agadir
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here because of a groupon deal. The hotel looks fantastic on the website but disappoints in person. The deal touted free zoo tickets, but on arrival we found out that it actually is very little added value as the zoo ticket cost is very low. The hotel has the feeling of grandeur long past. It is dated, tired and needs renovation. We were also surprised at their inability to deal with the volume of guests (most on the groupon deal). They ran out of pillows and didn't have enough for one per person! That said, the kids enjoyed the pool, slides and mini golf. It was fine for one night, but I wouldn't hav wanted to stay more. Service in the restaurant was awful, but breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitha_Alketbi, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    362
    165
    67
    33
See reviews for
410
264
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Friends had warned us about the lukewarm customer service at this hotel so our expectations were not high and in this respect we were not disappointed. In any case, we had a voucher deal which incuded a massage and breakfast so it was worth a punt. The whole place is very tired and our room was quite dark, the whole place could really do with a major refurb. However the views are amazing and my husband really enjoyed the drive up that road as he sees himself as a mature Sebastian Vettel!. The temperature in the evening was perfect so we ate on the patio by the pool. The food was OK - there was plenty of it and we were pleased to be able to order some wine to accompany our grilled meats. We ordered a carafe of "vintage claret" so when a jug of white wine arrived we did laugh! However this was soon rectified and we had a very enjoyable evening which ended with a game of crazy golf under the floodlights. The breakfast buffet is a bit of a fiasco and when we left our table to get some food we were suprised to find our coffee and juice had been cleared by the time we returned so one of us was forced to stay to 'guard' the table. There is an omelet station with only one chef and many many people waiting for service, as ever there were those who do not understand the concept of queueing and as always the staff are never assertive enough to advise people to get in line. The massages were pretty perfucntory and certainly the ladies changing room and wet areas were all a bit grubby so not very spa like. All in all, an OK stay but not one we will repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitha_Alketbi, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wonderful view, enjoyed and had a very nice time. Big rooms, separate play area for kids, big swimming pool, separate pool for kids is a very good theme. Friendly and helpful staff, were very courteous.

Room Tip: try the corner room spacious and good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khamis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitha a, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr Khamis
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thanks
Hani Al Khouly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just as well we packed our sense of humour in our case to stay at this hotel.
Whilst we cannot fault the location and the view, the customer service was so bad, we were constantly wondering when John Cleese was going to make a guest appearance!
On arrival, all was well and we were given the keys to our room which was clean but very 'tired'. Although clean, and to agree with another trip advisor reviewer, the bathroom bins did not have any liners and had obviously been used for all manner of waste, of which some remained at the bottom, hidden only by the closure of the lid.
Down to the buffet, only to see a member of the staff, who had greeted us in the lobby, eating her evening meal. After a fairly average, albeit lukewarm, buffet meal, we made our way to exit the restaurant but were told to sit back down as we were told no-one was available to process our chitty for us to sign.
The next morning, back in the restaurant for our buffet breakfast, the staff looked incredulous when we asked if there were any hot, rather than cold, plates - we were told that these were only available at dinner. To her credit, the waitress did heat a couple of plates up in the microwave for us. Tinned fruit, cold pastries, warm yoghurts and no teaspoons were also the order of the day
Down to the pool and, after blowing on our hands (having been thoughtless enough to attempt to hold onto the shiny metal stair-rail going down the steps to the pool which, by then, had already reached an extremely high temperature), it may seem picky, but we have got used to a certain standard of service at a poolside, such as towels readily available (these were back in the hotel at the gymn reception area, bedside tables by the sunbeds (none) and someone to rise to the challenge and put up the brolly for us (not a brolly at each bed). Off I went to seek a brolly that looked like it may last the test of time for the inclement winds and one which wasn't tatty or looked like it had been seconded from a typical car boot sale. Aha, found one, but whilst I was off to get the towels we had blatantly missed, the lifeguard came across and removed the brolly whilst informing my wife that it had been taken away because it was broken. However, we were unaware the best was yet to come ..... after a little settling into our books, we were approached by the bar stewardess to ask us if we would like anything to drink as she was going off for her lunch at the hotel at 12 and no-one would be around to serve us drinks if we wanted them. Compliantly, we requested a bottle of water to share. Bottle and glasses were placed on my sunbed (remember no tables) and off she went. Once she had returned, after some time, we decided to go over to the seating area for a drink but we didn't get time to reach the patio'd area before a menu had been thrust into my wife's hands, I congratulated myself as I had managed to circumnavigate her and thrusting menu as I was walking ahead of my wife. Drinks done, back to the pool - sometime passed and we swam up to the pool bar and ordered two pina coladas which were disguised as watery pineapple and coconut milk with a measure of alcohol (yuk). My wife requested another shot of alcohol to go in her drink to try add a 'little something' and she was promptly asked "not strong enough, are you trying to get drunk?" Avoiding any more contact with this waitress, a nice afternoon at the pool and off to our room to change for an aperitif before dinner. When requesting directions to Lawrences' bar, from the waitress at the cafe, her arm was barely raised to a horizontal position with a pointy finger showing us to the entrance of the hotel, "what on the road?" I asked, which seemed to work as she then, begrudgingly, showed us where it was.
Following another lukewarm evening meal, we decided to have after-dinner coffee at the cafe just outside the buffet restaurant where we sat expectantly waiting to be served. Alas, this was just by way of shouting across the space to ask what we wanted but we didn't get what we wanted, we received dark coloured hot water which was placed on the table after the waitress had squeezed herself between the table and an up-lighter and stood on my wife's foot! Spot the staff member drinking juice drink whilst trying to hide behind a very small menu placed on cafe bar.
In summary, don't expect too much and pack tissues to soak up the tears - you will either laugh or cry at the appalling service and watch out on check-out, they 'forgot' they had already taken money off my credit card at check-in until I showed them the bank text message and then, mysteriously, confirmation appeared in their drawer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mdam,sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I would definitely not recommend this hotel for a couples break. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and the pool area was more than packed out with families and kids. Most of which seemed to be day trippers? No loungers were available for us and the pool bar area was packed. We sat down at the restaurant near the pool with a stunning views of the valley and service was poor. We waited at least 20mins for a small plate of chips and equally as long to get the bill.

Fortunately we managed to book a lovely table with a view of the valley for dinner that night but as families came down for dinner, kids were running riot all over the buffet bar. Same happened at breakfast the next morning but en mass! The room next door to us had a interleading door and all we heard from early morning was the shouting from the family next door to us.

We had a small incident where the valet scrapped our car when parking it but this was dealt with efficiently and effectively by the duty manager who got the police reports etc. all sorted out for us, so we were not too upset by this. We found most of the staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient, sadly the hotel overall did not live up to their good standards. The best thing going for this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mdam,sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is great, staff is grateful, & experienced specially the senior managers, weather is fantastic, room is fine
Rooms are clean, tidy & have good space inside
In general I like the hotel, it is good experience

Room Tip: Choose room with swiming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitha a, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr Shenouda

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thanks
Hani Al Khouly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

There isn't another location int he UAE where you can enjoy the natural view from a mountain top vantage point. The sunset is worth going for alone and there are restaurants taking advantage of this. The food and service, however, are disappointing. The hotel is dated but basically clean. Some maintenance work is needed to the pool and communal areas, but for a couple of nights you pay for what you get as it's reasonably priced. We shared a room with our two children, but the double beds are not a regular size so two adults to a bed is a bit too cosy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mdam,sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Ain hotels
9.3 mi away
Danat Al Ain Resort
Danat Al Ain Resort
#5 of 14 in Al Ain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hilton Al Ain
Hilton Al Ain
#3 of 14 in Al Ain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
9.8 mi away
Al Ain Rotana Hotel
Al Ain Rotana Hotel
#2 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hili Rayhaan by Rotana
Hili Rayhaan by Rotana
#1 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ain Al Faida One To One Hotel And Resort
10.2 mi away
Ayla Hotel
Ayla Hotel
#4 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain

Property: Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain
Address: Jebel Hafeet Truck Rd | PO Box 24476, Al Ain 0, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Al Ain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Al Ain
#6 Luxury Hotel in Al Ain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet with 124 rooms is a unique mountain oasis resort, located at 915 m on Hafeet Mountain, just a 2hr drive from Abu Dhabi and Dubai. With refined authentic architecture reflecting the magic atmosphere of the region, the hotel offers 2 restaurants, a coffee shop and a bar with breathtaking views of the city. There are also various meeting facilities and recreational activities available such as a health club, 3 swimming pools with water slides, mini golf and a kids playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain Hotel Al Ain
Mercure Al Ain
Accor Al Ain
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing