We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic afternoon of water fun”
Review of Wadi Adventure

Wadi Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$245.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Ras Al Khaimah Guided City Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Al Ain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wadi Adventure is the Middle East’s first man made whitewater rafting, kayaking and surf facility, located at the base of Jebel Hafeet in Al Ain, approximately 1hr 30mins from Dubai and Abu Dhabi, in the UAE. Wadi Adventure consists of: - Three world class whitewater rafting & kayaking runs with a combined length of 1,133m; - A surf pool capable of making a 3.3m high waves every 90 seconds, with a man made beach;- Rope course, climbing wall and zip line; - Cafe/Restaurant;- Retail Store;- Space and infrastructure for world class events; - Training at levels for specialised activities; - Adult & toddlers swimming pool.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Started off with white water kayaking, under instruction of Bikash. Safety came first so we were rolled upside down the water and taught how to get ourselves out of the kayak safely. Then steering and turning on rapids, then we hit the "river". Fantastic facility, with 'easy' river, then red run river. We had such good fun. Our pass covered us for the Airpark, Zipline and Giant Swing too, so in between Kayaking and Rafting we did Airpark and Zip and really enjoyed it. The rafting was fantastic - first did the red run river, then progressed to the big one. It was excellent, even when we were thrown out of the raft on one particular part of the river, we had received a safety briefing before we started so knew exactly what to do and there were safety marshals along the river to help too. We exhausted our afternoon visit with a go on the Giant Swing - great fun. All in all an excellent afternoon with fun courteous and well trained staff.

Thank KarenPUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi_Adventure, Public Relations Manager at Wadi Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your awesome review. We're really happy that you had such a good time. In particular, we love it when people mention how great our staff are because they are professionals that take a huge amount of pride in their work. Well done on completing an action-packed day, you must have been tired by the end of it all!

Until next time, stay adventurous!

Wadi Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 292 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

it is nice but expensive because you pay entrance fees and then extra for every activity (of 55 minutes ...). you can only rafting in groups and kayaking with an instructor unless you can do a roll. they should offer an all-inclusive package deal. had lots of fun, though.
Note - this is an attraction for young people, older kids, fit people ....

Thank lmvz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi_Adventure, Public Relations Manager at Wadi Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review Wadi Adventure, we're really glad you had such a good time at the park. Compared to some more mundane activities in the UAE we are a bit more expensive but our prices are similar or lower than those of comparable adventure venues around the world. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality guest experience with a strong focus on safety. To do this, we employ expert instructors to ensure your time at Wadi Adventure is fun and you leave with a strong sense of accomplishment.

We occasionally offer promotional packages on activities too - please keep an eye on our Facebook page for details.

Until next time, stay adventurous!

Wadi Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a blast at Wadi Adventure! I surfed the pool and got many waves! My favorites were the Rights, but lefts also provided fun rides! Split peaks were fun too, and I saw short boarders practice airs on closeouts. I will definitely be back for more! The tuna melt at the surf cafe is not to shabby either.

Aerial park and rafting look fun, though I spent all of my session surfing!

Thank houstonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi_Adventure, Public Relations Manager at Wadi Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for the awesome review, we're stoked you had such a good time surfing at Wadi Adventure! After a good session there's nothing like kicking-back at the Surf Café to enjoy a tasty meal and watch others catching waves too.

Until next time, stay adventurous!

Wadi Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

For the price I paid I wanted a lot more waves! I had booked an 'Advanced' session hoping that I would not be with beginners and be held back by others. Turns out there was a beginner lesson going on...

There are two wave settings, lefts/ rights for one surfer at a time and A frame peak giving two surfers waves. As the session was 'Advanced' I thought the session would be dictated by the surfers in the water. The 5 of us who could surf all agreed that we wanted the small A frame surf which enabled us double the waves even though they are smaller. But we couldn't as there was a lesson going on in the shallows!?! In a advanced surfing session. Therefore I have to say it was BORING waiting 7 MINUTES 30 SECONDS for a wave.

You come here wanting to get a lot of waves and improve. Can you improve in 6 waves? I'm sure the beginner improve but they were catching a wave every 90 seconds.

Thankfully the rafting was really fun and made up for it.

Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi_Adventure, Public Relations Manager at Wadi Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you didn't improve as much as you had hoped to during your time in the pool. Most people catch far more waves in an hour session here than they ever manage to do in the ocean (even when sharing with others). Having said that, we don't seek to replace the experience of natural surfing, just provide a consistent wave for those that want it.

As you may know, we provide an option for people who want the entire pool to themselves - private hire is AED 1400 and this allows you complete control over who is in the pool with you and exactly which type of waves are produced. As part of this cost we also include a surf instructor who is available to coach you throughout. For every other option, we make it clear from the outset that beginners classes may take place in the white water at the sides of the pool. Full details can be obtained from reception@wadiadventure.ae on request.

Most experienced surfers pay AED 100 for a Freesurf and share the session with 5 other surfers (with the possibility of some beginners practicing in the shallows under the surveillance of one of our instructors). The standard Freesurf sessions have 30 minutes of left waves and 30 minutes of right waves (both on level 4). There is one surfer per wave with no exceptions, rotating with a priority system for the duration of the session. We hope to welcome you back again in the future and invite you to talk through your requirements with the surf department before booking to make sure we meet your expectations.

Given that you enjoyed the rafting, why not give a kayaking lesson a go next time too?

Kind Regards,

Wadi Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am an experienced surfer and decided to check out Wadi Adventure while working in Abu Dhabi. The wave pool was phenomenal and staff were friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadi_Adventure, Public Relations Manager at Wadi Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for the great review, we're glad you had fun. Cool photo too!

Until next time, stay adventurous!

Wadi Adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Adventure also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Wadi Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing