We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camel Souk

Camel Souk
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.00*
and up
Make Your Own Al Ain City Tour - Private Tour from Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 47 things to do in Al Ain
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We seemed to have been the only tourists there and it appeared to be an authentic camel market. Nothing touristy or fake about this. It was a huge newly built market, lots of camels, goats and other animals and other stands/stalls too (plants, etc). you could get yourself a bargain!
It was a bit difficult to find but worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmvz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    73
    46
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Camel market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you can find the place it is worth a visit to see all the different camels and watch them being paraded around for selling. We got to see some trading and the camels being loaded onto a truck. We were a group of 4 expat women and had no hassle from any local asking for money as we took photos. Did not attempt to go inside any pen but took photos while camels were out being shown for sale.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Al Ain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our visit was a great opportunity to see so many breeds of camels of all ages. We did not visit the other livestock at the souq, but the camels seemed to be in good condition. I would have given 5*s if there had been less hassle from some of the traders and more opportunity to learn about what happens at the souq.

The majority of the men working at the Souq were from Pakistan, rather than Emerati or other Arabs from the Gulf. As soon as we arrived we were surrounded by pushy offers to see a 'baby camel' for a picture, etc. We left our bags in the car and only took a camera so that we could not be pressured into giving more money than we wanted to. At the end we got into our car and confidently handed the men who had showed us round an amount that we felt to be appropriate (20dinars). Of course he insisted we gave more (they wanted 100dinars each) and we had to be quite firm (an Arab man supported us with this by telling them 'enough'!)

As you would expect, the camel souq is an all male and quite conservative place. Modest clothing for both men and women is a must and will generate less attention. I would also recommend easy to clean footwear.

We also drove around the 'souq merkazi' saw beautiful plants for sale and lots of other interesting stalls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenjoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just cages of animals, plenty of Arabs ask for money...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've read few reviews before going there and didn't fall for the money for camel showing trick.
Its not easy to find, as its behind shopping centre and the animals are just in cages. Not sure if would recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Interesting place to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Try and go early in the morning when trading is at its busiest. If you are taking photos be prepared to offer a tip to the traders. They are very friendly people and will offer to show you round, again for a fee. Look out for the mobile "Fire Station" hilarious !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HeyJude433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camel Souk also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Camel Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing