We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mothers Day Gift, Great Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Mothers Day Gift, Great Ocean”
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Went out this weekend for Mothers day. We rented two units out there based on the reviews of this website. It was really nice and new just like the website bloggers said. We stayed in one ocean front upper unit, and the other was a upper pool side unit. We did two different sides because the price was a little cheaper for the pool side unit. There was eight of us and two beds per apartment. There were kitchens, but we chose to go to Montauk for pancakes at the Pancake House (on the left toward Montauk next to the taxi place) for some great banana nut pancakes. When we got back our unit was already cleaned. I would go back again next year. I will also be using this website for other places, it really does help.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FilmGuy2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    49
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
66
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed here for the weekend, with my girlfriend not having ever stayed by the ocean before. I wanted her to get a feel of what that was like, particularly the feeling of relaxation you get just hearing the ocean. She finally got to enjoy that experience!

Our room (apartment, really) was on the second floor, with a fully unobstructed view of the dunes and ocean, I would estimate not more than a 100 yds from the beach. We were there "off season", meaning services are limited (no daily maid service)-- but the place was amazingly quiet and perfectly pleasant, about 50% occupied i would guess. I was told that daily maid service is available during the normal summer tourist season.

We were able to eat in our apartment, which had a fully equiped kitchen; everything was new and in very clean condition. We shopped for essentials at the nearby IGA supermarket. Enjoying a leisurely breakfast on the deck, in the morning sun, listening to the birds was a treat. Afternoons we ate where ever we were (Montauk town, Montauk Point, Amagansett town and the Hamptons are all very nearby), or again, ate out on the deck. We ate dinner out, but being off season call ahead to make sure the place you are interested in is open. The best thing about dinner off season was no waiting to be seated, plus the very attentive service we got everywhere we went.

In addition to the full kitchen, our room had a full bath, full size bedroom with a king size bed, two additional closets, and a full pantry stocked with all manner of pots, pans, etc.
If you have to make some phone calls or get on the internet, both of these are free. The internet is a regular high-speed wired connection (the internet cable is provided).

The beach, even for off season, was well tended and clean. The entire complex was just completing a top-to-bottom renovation, so everything about the structures (rooms, stairs, everything) is fresh. They were still working on one building that contained the office, but that was not near us and we didn't find it bothersome. I expect that all of the work will be done by the time you read this, if you are thinking about heading there for the summer.

If you are looking to find a place that is "out of the way" (meaning, between the 'big' towns of Amagasett and Montauk), yet close enough to all of the good restaurants and east-end sights, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingaDaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilro
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We found this to be a very pleasant seaside resort, right on the beach. While the chill kept us far from the water, we did enjoy a long beach walk. The place is halfway between Amagansett and Montauk, and about 5 miles east of Easthampton as well. There is no restaurant or any other services of note, there is a pool but not until the warmer weather. They just renovated the exteriors, and it's very nice to look at. The rooms are comfortable, and many of them (including the one we stayed in) have beach/ocean views. We plan to return again when the summer comes, if they have openings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Love coming out to Seacrest. We stayed in 29 and walked into the living room to see a magnificent view of the ocean. The unit was clean and up to date furnishings and felt like I was staying at a close friend's house. From what I understand they have refurbished the whole outside with new decks, siding and windows. I can't wait to go out there again this year. I have sent my children and grandchildren out there and they can't wait to go back as well. The location is perfect, quiet but yet close to lots of great restaurants and scenic hiking trails. If you are looking for a nice relaxing get away place that is not at all touristy I would highly recomment Seacrest.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We visited Seacrest in October of 2008. We stayed in a charming studio (# 40) with an ocean view.

Unlike many hotel units we have stayed in over the years, our room had personal touches which made us feel like we were staying in a friend's beachfront apartment. From the artwork to the furnishings and kitchen equipment, it was obvious that someone had taken a personal interest in this apartment.
Also, although the unit was a one room studio, which made it a more economical choice, it was much roomier than a typical hotel room. We were willing to sacrifice space for a view and got the view without being cramped. There was ample dresser space and a functional galley kitchen with an extra wheeled cart which made meal preperation in a small space easier. Staff was accomodating and the room was very clean. We found the resort grounds well kept and the beach nothing short of spectacular. As our visit was in the off season the beach was somewhat desserted. However, because there is no public beach access, we expect the beach to still be uncrowded when we go back this year in peak season as it is limited to hotel capacity. I know others have complained about restaurants and delivery. I don't uderstand why. We had delivery from a pizza restaurant in montauk and there is a great restaurant right accross the street (cyril's) Lunch - Lobster Roll was a 15 minute walk from the seacrest and there were 2 other restaurants we didn't try within walking distance. Montauk was a 5 minute car ride - dozens of restaurants - some of which will provide transportation with varying terms.
overall, we loved the seacrest - found it much nicer than most hotels and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missuseltonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed there for the second time in mid April for a week. We love to come at this time because its just shy of the season so there isn't anyone around except for a few other families and couples. Its beautifully placed on the dunes with a wonderful strip of pristine beach. The housekeeping was perfect. She even offered to do our laundry for us (we respectfully declined) The particular unit we were in was a two bedroom duplex with a pool side view in the back. The season being early the pool was just being set up by maintenance. Lots of light. Wifi connection was good not great. Kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, and dinnerware. Only exception were the knives. needed to be replaced. Plenty of towels. Toilet paper, etc...

Overall I will be coming again. I saw no vermin or insects in my stay as I read some others did. Maybe its because I don't come at peak times. Who knows. 2nd time was better than the first. Will come again.

  • Liked — Comfort factor
  • Disliked — Wifi could be better.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadidito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel.

The first time was 5 years ago and we stayed in a different unit. It appears that the units are individually owned and they are all rented through the office.

We were told that the unit had an ocean view. It had a view of the dune that protects the hotel from the ocean. The furnishings were gross. The sink in the bathroom was continually backed up. The smell of mold was overwhelming. The TV was 20". To add insult to injury we paid $900 for a 2 night stay.

Look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Once you crossed over the dunes there was a beautiful beach, however, it would have been nicer if it had been combed over in the morning to pick up debris.
  • Disliked — The mildew smell, old disgusting furnishings, small tv, stuck windows.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnSmithNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#6 of 6 in Amagansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
5.0 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest on the Ocean

Property: Sea Crest on the Ocean
Address: 2166 Montauk Highway, Navajo La., Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Crest on the Ocean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sea Crest on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest On The Ocean Hotel Amagansett
Sea Crest Amagansett
Sea Crest Hotel Amagansett
Amagansett Sea Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing