We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off season choice on eastern Long Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our family has looked forward to spending an extended Thanksgiving weekend in the Montauk area for over ten years now. Without the crowds, the eastern end of Long Island during the off season is spectacular.........great restaurants and beautiful scenery. We always stay in apartment style accommodations where we can relax, visit and enjoy our own holiday meal in the privacy of our units overlooking the ocean. Sure it can be a bit cool and desolate during that time or year but we understand and accept that and just go with it! We have stayed in a few resorts in this area over the years and would rank Sea Crest among the top accommodations for what we are looking for in our holiday celebration. The units are well kept and clean and the staff is courteous and helpful. Units can vary in appearance here so choose carefully.

Room Tip: Two and three bedroom apartment style units are available for extended family stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was actually my first time visiting the Hampton's and had such a great weekend. I wanted to visit the Hampton's during the off-season to check it out and to get away from the city. Was looking for a calm and relaxing weekend with my boyfriend and we got just that. Jan in the main office was very cordial and welcoming. The rooms were well maintained and clean. Loved the small kitchen area to keep snacks and drinks. Very nice flat screen TV with blu-ray player in the living room was a great feature for a fall visit as we weren't doing much beach going in 50 degree weather. The only thing I didn't love was the bed was not all that comfortable, which is why I couldn't give it the full 5 stars. However, the view from the second floor (room #30) was magnificent and I look forward to returning again when the weather is warmer during summer months.

Room Tip: I would chose a second floor room if you have the option. The bottom floor has dunes blocking the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeDee1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Crest on the Ocean Resort this past weekend to attend a wedding (wedding was at Gurney;s Inn though). It is about a 10-15 drive to downtown Amagansett, 5 minutes to Montauk, and 20-30 to East Hampton. The hotel is easy to find and is located right on the beach! We had an oceanfront efficiency (1 bedroom suite) suite which had its own balcony. The modern kitchen has been updated with new appliances and is well-equipped with kitchen utensils, pots and pans, plates and beverage glasses. There is an eat-in countertop in the kitchen which is more or less your indoor dining area. The balcony has an outdoor garden/deck sets which can also double as an additional dining area. Bathroom has also been updated. The living area has a flat screen TV and 2 couches. These spaces which I have just referenced are in great shape - definitely updated. The bedroom is somewhat dated. The decor is late 80ish to early 90ish. Bed was comfortable enough. Most rooms open into the bedroom (must be the configuration of resort before upgrades), then bedroom leads to living spaces. Some rooms may not be as updated as ours - maybe they are still in the process of renovating ALL rooms. We had an oceanfront so rooms on this side may have been updated first. They also have two bedroom suites available.

The whole resort has a very nice look and feel to it - definitely one of the updated ones along the whole stretch of Montauk Highway. The Hermitage which sits right next to Sea Crest has a more contemporary look. There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity so it is best to stock up from day one - especially breakfast and late night snack items. Resort does not have a restaurant either.

I am overall VERY pleased with this location. We had a lovely bonfire at night. There is an outdoor pool and several grills in the designated picnic area of the resort. Would come back given the chance.

Room Tip: Pick second floor ocean view rooms. The first or ground floor oceanside rooms have obstructed views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanne112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Many of the hotels in Montauk rely on the location and do not pay much attention to their accommodations. Not the Sea Crest! The hotel is no longer owned by Dune resorts and has undergone a total renovation. The rooms are simple, up to date, clean and well stocked with kitchen amenities. There is a lighted path to the beach and easy access to grills and ice. The location is absolutely perfect! And the beach service is excellent! Complimentary umbrellas and lounge chairs. It doesn't get much better than this if you are looking for a beach vacation, whether couples or families. Bonfires permitted which is a plus! The only drawback is that I wish they had pet-friendly rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is very nice and very clean. The beach is amazing. Our room was very nice with a small kitchen and nice furniture. It is only a 5 minute drive to the town on Montauk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krystlev22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is an ideal location. The walk to the beach was short and sweet. This was especially handy for us since we have a small baby and travel heavy. It was the baby's first time in the ocean and he was a little scared. Fortunately, they have a very nice pool as well and he enjoyed his time playing in calm, chlorinated, water!

I wish I could be as upbeat for the rooms. They sufficed, but were dated and showed signs of wear and tear. There was some wallpaper peeling off in the bathroom, some paint chipping here and there, and pillows that fell a bit flat.

It's difficult to stomach paying $220+ during the high season for this sort of room. Unfortunately, because demand in this area is so high, I guess paying $220-$260 for an ocean view with this sort of sub-par room quality is widely accepted. Oh well, you could probably do a lot worse!

Also - this place is really close to 'the lobster roll' restaurant - this is a MUST GO! Fantastic lobster roll sandwich. It's a bit pricey at $21 for the platter, but it's well worth it as the chunks of lobster are huge and the sauce is delicious!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel has provides exceptional value and service for an excellent prices. First- this hotel has a great infrastructure--- excellent pool, air conditioned rooms, easy parking access, BBQ pits, etc. The rooms are individual owned and rented to guests. The quality of your room depends on the owners ability to invest in the property. I have stayed in multiple rooms, and have found them very satisfactory. Some however are in better shap than others. The beach front was utopian and very beautiful. Free beach chairs, umbrellas and towels-- very nice-- other hotels do not provide this level of service.
I would strongly recommend this hotel-- june is the cheapest month to rent.-- Costs can double after that period. See you at the beach

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanjuan787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.3 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
532 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
14.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
260 reviews
7.6 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest on the Ocean

Address: 2166 Montauk Highway, Navajo La., Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range: $183 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Crest on the Ocean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Crest on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest On The Ocean Hotel Amagansett
Sea Crest Amagansett
Sea Crest Hotel Amagansett
Amagansett Sea Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing