We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location -- Rooms Not So Much”
Review of Windward Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windward Shores
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location -- Rooms Not So Much”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a studio unit for six nights. The hotel is located on a beautiful beach (dunes) and provides free lounges and umbrellas. Their is also a very nice large pool and pretty landscaping around the complex. Our only disappointment was in our first floor studio. Apparently each unit is individually owned. Our unit was in great need of being updated as the carpet had numerous stains and the kitchen and bathroom had old vinyl flooring. Our friend's room had been remodeled (granite countertops, etc,), so each unit really varies. I recommend requesting a second floor unit as the soundproofing between floors is very poor. We heard the guests above us walking/stomping around at all hours of the night and had to complain to the manager twice after being woken up by the noise. The manager at first expressed surprise that this was even possible! I would never consider staying on the first floor. Given the number of options in that area, I will explore other hotels before returning.

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My fiance and I have stayed here twice over the last year and we love it. The owners are great (we left a few items behind and they gladly sent them to us) and the unit we usually stay in is beautiful. Quiet, great getaway with a nice little kitchen for romantic nights in and a great location (two words: Lobster Roll). Definitely will come back for our next escape from the city!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

be sure to ask for a recently renovated unit. they are all individually owned and some are better than others. the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the deck was dirty, kitchen outdated. it was fine for what we needed, but friends were a little disappointed.

the beach is perfect. the umbrellas and chairs are far from the other 'hotels' it's a quick drive from east hampton village and montauk village. we took taxi's when we went out at night and they are pricey. for three people it was about $40 everywhere.

the pool area looked nice and was used by the families. the grounds are well kept as well.

Room Tip: the second floor units all have narrow circular staircases that wouldn't work well with kids, el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agent99712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This resort is right on the most beautiful beach imaginable. No crowds. There are guys who set up lounge chairs and umbrellas just where you want them and provide towels to make it even more perfect. Great pool too. The place is not too big, well maintained, the staff friendly and accomodating. Decor depends on the unit you get. Just note - no lifeguards on ocean. Oh I wish I was back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here over the July 4th holiday weekend and we were very happy with the hotel. It is not fancy as there are no restaurants, lounges, bars, etc. but it makes up for that in location. It is directly on the beach which they have a private beach so it is quiet and only hotel guests. The pool is wonderful and conveniently located for easy access to every room. The kitchenette is wonderful to have and the price is reasonable especially in Montauk! It is the perfect place to come if you are looking for relaxing and quiet time by the pool and play in the ocean!

Room Tip: All rooms are either studio (bottom floor) or 2 bedroom (top floor). Studios are very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at Windward Shores with my daughter and mother during Memorial weekend and i absolutely loved it!!! We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was newly refurnished. Renee and her staff were very professional especially the young lady who worked nights, Ashley. She was very professional and went out of her way to do her very best in answering all my questions. She even researched directions and printed a map of the restaurant we all wanted to go for dinner in Armagansett. She made our enjoyable and well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have been going to Windward Shores for over 20 years, and we keep going back. It is the best property, on a great beach. The Manager, Renee Alversa, is just wonderful to deal with, and she runs the property in a very professional and caring way. She goes out of her way to make sure our stay is everything we could expect and more. The room are spacious, clean, and the upgraded units are very comfortable. My family and I take two or three rooms every year, and there location in relation to the pool and beach is wonderful. The staff and the service they provide, makes our stay very comfortable and relaxing. We can't wait to go you back again!!!!

Room Tip: Dune view is the way to go for best value, and views of sunsets.....Also, ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njst27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.5 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
132 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#6 of 6 in Amagansett
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Shores

Property: Windward Shores
Address: 2062 Montauk Hwy, Amagansett, NY 11930-2019
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windward Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windward Shores Ocean Resort is a year-round exclusive luxury resort located on the pristine ocean beaches of Napeague in Amagansett. Windward Shores offers luxurious studios and two bedroom duplex suites offering fully equipped kitchens,living and dining areas and private decks for sunbathing or entertaining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Windward Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing