We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the staff, stay for the beach”
Review of Ocean Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Vista Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the staff, stay for the beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. While elsewhere during my stay, it seemed like locals were ready for the end of tourism season. Not so with the staff here. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The resort doesn't face the water but is very close. I stayed in room 207 and it was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The walk to the water is 5 minutes and there are chairs and umbrellas by the beach. The resort is adequate but rather retro.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeAsABird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

OK Here's the deal.

Each unit is individually owned. So...each room is decorated differently..and cared for by their owner differently.

My wife and I spent 2 days there a few years back and got a room that was well appointed and furnished by someone with pride in ownership.

Our mistake in returning this year was assuming that most owners did the same.....
WRONG !

Each room we were moved to was as old, stale and musty as the one before it.
In defense of the hotel management all rooms are very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful

. Unfortunately...many of these units owners have set management up to fail with the condition of the units.( at least the 3 that I saw )

Great Beach...Great Location...would we go back...most likely not...

Not unless the Hotel was more transparent on their web site with photos of each room, by room number .If you decide to "take a shot"...buyer beware...In season this place ( like most ) is not cheap...just the condition of the rooms are.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RM123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellerose, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice room, kitchenette, an indoor pool and a beach. What more can you ask for. Five minutes to Montauk and five minutes to the town of Amagansette. Many restaurants close by. Love this resort. A good value!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good things, front desk staff, grounds keepers, cleaning woman, pool, beach. Room 213, could be nice if they fixed drain in shower, broken lamp next to bed, worst of all the bed was hard as a rock. We never slept in something like that. Sad because every thing else about the room would be good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dijlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I've been to this hotel two summers in a row. Indoor pool is so nice and so close to the beach. Its right outside your door. Montauk is just a short drive, and its close enough but far enough that you are not subject to hearing all the partying when you head back to your room. I can't say enough. This is a great hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights - my friend was getting married and it was hard to find good value accommodation in the area - this place popped up - it's in a great location - right on the beach which was a nice bonus.
The Hampton Jitney stops literally right by the hotel which is a bonus if you choose to bus over.
I enjoyed my stay and the people were very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene_B_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.2 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#21 of 39 in Montauk
135 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
529 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista Resort

Property: Ocean Vista Resort
Address: 2136 Montauk Hwy., Amagansett, NY 11930
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Vista Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vista Resort is unique beachfront co-op located between Amagansett and Montauk, NY--one of the best values in the Hamptons. Each of its 46 units (studios and one- and two-bedrooms) offers TV, efficiency kitchen, AC/heating, wireless and maid service. The resort has an indoor heated pool, tennis, sauna and a private beach equipped with beach chairs and umbrellas. Photo courtesy of Ritter Photo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista Hotel Amagansett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing