We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lobster Rolls!”

Clam Bar at Napeague
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Amagansett
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lobster Rolls!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

There are a number of great seafood spots that line Route 27 (the Montauk Highway) and these roadside cafes and bars can sometimes be so busy that the crowds are almost spilling into the dusty road. Between Amagansett and Montauk is Clam Bar, this relaxed and popular roadside restautant is a busy place for locals and visitors alike and with the quintessential Long Island menu of lobster, clams, mussels and chowder it is a fine choice for lunch or a late afternoon snack stop. With the beach just steps away pick up the perfect lobster roll from Clam Bar and eat overlooking the ocean, or stop by en route to Montauk and tuck into a full lobster, dipping the fleshy claws into a pot of melted butter with corn-on-the-cob on the side. It is a messy lunch for sure, but in this part of the Hamptons there is no dress code so let the butter ooze down your chin then run into the ocean afterwards to wash it all off, what could be more perfect?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    59
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great roadside eatery”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After exploring the lighthouse on Montauk Point and checking out the sights in town, our stomaches we growling while driving home. Remembering that we saw Clam Bar packed when driving to town, we saved our appetites on the return trip home and stopped by this very cool roadside eatery. Seating is either at the bar along the front of the restaurant/kitchen or on the side there is waitress service with very clean tables and chairs. There is nothing showy about this place, but it is very clean and the food is excellent. We opted for the lobster salad roll and the spicy crab & sweet corn chowder with a local white wine and a Blue Point Toasted Lager. Both the roll and the chowder were excellent. Sitting outside before the season heats up can be dicey, though- there was a chill in the air and we were glad to have brought coats. Service was great with both of the waitresses being both attentive and cheerful. Worth checking out if you happen to pass it on the highway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Royman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garbage food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Boil in bag soup, pre cooked shrimp and more breading than fish. Waiter/bartender horrible, more worried about talking to friends than working, how long does it take to scoop store bought chowder out of the soup warmer. To bad Cyril's isn't open that's the place for good fresh seafood, tasty cocktails and great service

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayamaya4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful meeting place!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent fare, GREAT HIGHWAY views, fun crowd, always lively, friendly and hopping.
EXCELLENT beer selection, too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first time in the Hamptons and on our way to Montauk we saw this eatery with bar and seating outside. IKind of in the middle of no where. It was a beautiful sunny day and we decided to stop. We actually turned around. You can see people specifically come to this place. We asked our waitress what they are known for... the Lobster Roll, she told us. WOW, she was not kidding. But it seemed to us that all they offer is good, everybody around us enjoyed what they were eating. They only accept cash, no credit cards. Good to know in advance. Certainly a location to return to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mirellabonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bar at Napeague also viewed

 

Been to Clam Bar at Napeague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing