We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite hotel in Chernivtsi”
Review of Georg Palast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Georg Palast
Ranked #1 of 12 Chernivtsi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyiv
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
“My new favourite hotel in Chernivtsi”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in George Palace overnight in a suite (UAH 650 (ca US$80) as of Sep 13, inclusive of breakfast). I loved nearly everything about this hotel – except for breakfast.

LOCATION

If you are going to stay there any time soon and travel by car, at any cost avoid reaching the hotel from Gagarina Str. through B.Khmelnitskoho Str. to I.Boguna Str.! This rout is now dug over. Better make a roundabout and access from 28go Chervnya Street, which is less damaged.

The hotel occupies nice, relatively small mansion slightly off the street. If it weren’t for the damaged streets all around it, location would have been wonderful.

Boguna Street is quiet, with not much entertainment or eateries on it. But Chernivtsi University (former Residence of Bukovynian Metropolitans) is in a few steps away and Philharmonic Square in a couple of blocks. So although the hotel is not that central, the city centre is actually in a walking distance or a cheap taxi ride from it (we paid UAH 10 (caUS$1.2) from St.Nicolas Church on Ruska Street).

HOTEL GROUNDS

There is a large guarded parking in the backyard of the hotel; free for the hotel guests. It has a separate entrance to the hotel, but it takes walking through the entire restaurant.

The hotel has no elevator, stairs only. But there is a porter to help with the luggage. He was away when we checked-in but very soon found us at the parking lot, which was appreciated.

The light in the corridor turns on from the movement detectors. So if you linger talking to a neighbour or searching for your key, you might soon find yourself in the darkness and will have to make few steps along the corridor. I found this somewhat frustrating.

SUITE

The suite was perfectly spacious for my liking, not chocked up with furniture, and in general wonderful. It was either new or well maintained, and clean.

King-size bed was large, but the mattress was sadly too soft. Instead, linen has pleased me. The biggest problem of many Ukraine regional hotels is their affection for synthetic linen and foam pillows – not the George Palace.

Compared to the suite, the bathroom was rather smallish. But it was new, clean, and with all facilities functioning all right. Surprisingly, even no problem with water drain in the shower (which is the usual problem for many regional hotels). If I have to be picky, I’d mention that it took a while of water pouring to finally get hot one.

Spacious fridge in the suite was excellent for the stock of food that we had for our road trip. Free Wifi had good stable signal.

There was a balcony in our suite, facing the hotel façade, with a couple of chairs and a table in it. But sitting there wasn’t really nice – for the lack of privacy.

There was a noisy wedding celebration in a restaurant when we arrived, and the guests smoked outside the hotel right under our balcony. But (surprisingly!) it was over by 11pm (as required by law). So we were not really disturbed by it.

BREAKFAST

The breakfast was nearly the only disappointment about this hotel – it was virtually non-existent! They even failed to supply sour-cream to the crepes upon our request, and said they only supplied jam and honey to it. At the same time, espresso from the bar was free of charge.

SERVICE

At first sight, the front desk ladies didn’t look too welcoming. But they turned very efficient in helping with the last-minute arrangements of the tour around Chernivtsi University.

RECOMMENDED

George Palace is my new favorite hotel in Chernivtsi, and is an excellent value for money. I’m happy to recommend it and will stay here again… but having breakfast elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
26
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

after 3 day at Bukovina i and my wife decided to change hotel , we book a suite for 2 night in Georg palast .
i regret not to find this hotel before.
personal is professional, the restaurant is really really good and the hotel is really in the city center.
If i come back in chernivtsi i will book this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibault123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Although it is not a prime location and surrounding buildings and roads are far from corresponding to this hotel, one would find a lot of places in Ukraine, where palaces neighbour poor and decrepit houses....
However, after 12 hours driving Ukrainian 'off-road' from Kiev to Chernivtsi, it was so amazing to finally check in the Georg Palace, in a really quiet location and friendly stuff.
Rooms are clean and spacious, hotel interiors and exteriors are very nice and stylish.
Location is very convenient - not the downtown, but within 10 minutes from the very center and just 5 minutes walking to the University, which is a must see. Service at breakfast was a bit slow, but that was not a problem, plenty of choice and stuff so helpful!
Would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was a great find for my wife and i after canvassing three of the other top rated hotels in town. The rooms were large and spacious, all had big balconies, a king size bed, flat screen television and a huge walk around wall shower stall. Excellent! The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and is only a few short blocks from main street downtown. There is a great restaurant and breakfasts are included which are were delicious.

The only downfall was the internet wi-fi was not really adequate during our stay.

Regardless this hotel is a real gem and should not be classified as a B&B at all. You will be assured to get great value out this very clean hotel and a quiet nights sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brent l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were not expecting much coming up to the George Palace Hotel but and were rather pleased in the end. The venue looked very presentable, clean and tidy. Not quite sure why it is classed as B&B by TA as it has all the basic hotel facilities.

The venue is located in the quiet cul-de-sac on the edge of the old town with an easy 15 minutes walk to Kobylianska Street.

The rooms are spacious and modestly equipped. Beds are rather hard. There is no safe and no English speaking channels on TV. Bathrooms are quite compact.

There is a agreeably decorated and spacious dining room although it appeared rather empty at dinner time.

Breakfast is served by waiters – you have a choice of five set menus plus hot beverage. The menus did not differed very much from each other but were quite sufficient for light breakfast at 50 hryvnas.

Overall this two-star hotel offers fantastic value for money as a short-term base for exploring this unusual city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

That is a nice hotel, situated in a quiet street not far from the University and the city center. Rooms are large, well designed, well equipped, quiet, personnel is polite. Everything looks and feels good.

Wi-Fi existed but didn't work the days I was there.

Not aware of the hotel restaurant, never visited it.

Recommend it if you need a well room and you want to stay in the historical center of the city. I like the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chernivtsi hotels
1.5 mi away
Bukovyna Hotel Complex
Bukovyna Hotel Complex
#2 of 10 in Chernivtsi
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaiser Hotel
Kaiser Hotel
#4 of 10 in Chernivtsi
21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Premium
Hotel Premium
#3 of 10 in Chernivtsi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gold George Palace Hotel
Gold George Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Chernivtsi
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Like Hostel
Like Hostel
#1 of 22 in Chernivtsi
26 reviews
2.7 mi away
Leoton Hotel
Leoton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Chernivtsi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georg Palast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georg Palast

Property: Georg Palast
Address: 24 Boguna Street, Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Chernivtsi Oblast > Chernivtsi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chernivtsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Georg Palast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing