We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Magnat Lux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnat Lux
Ranked #3 of 15 Chernivtsi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having never been to Chernivtsi prior to my trip I had no idea what to expect.
My sister and I were very happy with this little charmer. Our rooms faced the inner court which itself was a wonderful spot to sit and relax in the middle of the city. And although I was happy with everything about this little gem, it was the courtyard that struck me the most. Not huge, but nicely decorated with a two-person swing

The cafe was small but served a nice, but basic European style breakfast. Very cozy and quite pleasant.

The rooms were huge by European standards and spotlessly clean.
Great value.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard. It's so pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Magnat Lux is a Boutique Hotel in a small cobble stone side street right in the center of Czernowitz/Chernivtsi. The 1st floor rooms facing the street are not perfectly quiet, so people who are very noise-sensitive should try the courtyard-rooms. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is friendly but hardly speaks any English, breakfast is okay (the breakfast room is tiny, gets crowded easily). The mattresses in our room were pretty close to the end of their life-cycle, but still no big impediment to sound sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great location within walking distance of many restaurants. Clean, our room was very large. Windows open. Wifi available but speed is poor (~800kps via ipad) and signal strength is very poor, with slivers availalbe only in certain areas of the room.
Staff does not speak English, and is void of most charm or service orientation thereafter. We didn't take it personally and had fine stay.

It seems the Ukraine has adapted to the EU method of telephone numbers, and digits have been added since Lonely Planet guidebook published the number. Try +380 372 536 420 to reach the hotel. I couldn't find an email address, and no online booking service serves them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Wonderful little hotel it is exactly next door to the only hostel in Chernivtsi. When i decided to extend my stay in this beautiful city the hostel was fully booked and i spent 2 nights at this place as an alternative. Normally i don,t sleep in hotels but this place was a treat and with a very economical price. The only minus was no English speaking staff and this is a more up market place to stay but at the hostel next door every body was fluent in English

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have carpets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mcsnimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I travelled to Chernitsi alone so booked a single semi-lux room with a shower. Slightly disappointed that I couldn't book via the website, only to discover than the prices published there haven't been updated since 2006! Never mind, the receptionist Svetlana was very friendly and accommodating on the phone. The hotel was superb, excellent location, very clean and they changed the towers and bedding every day! and it is not expensive by the western standards, to be fair... Would highly recommend it and stay again myself!

Room Tip: you need to phone up to book, number is 00380372583212
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DXBHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

During our five day stay at this small but well appointed hotel we experienced great service and friendly staff from the time we checked in until the time we left.
The room was spacious, had a large jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable king size bed. The large plasma television on the wall had a multitude of channels including almost every language.
The hotel is conveniently situated one block off of a main street in Cherntisi, close to the main city square, city hall, main street shopping plaza. This location afforded a multitude of restaurant and shopping options for us as well as convenient location for a startin point for a walking tour of the inner city. Within a few minutes walk in all directions were interesting historical sites and amazing viewpoints for taking photos.
The street although small was busy during the daytime however at night it was quiet and the hotel noise internally was also minimal. With the exception of the tile in the main hallway which echoed footsteps as everyone came and went from their rooms, the overall experience was very good and extremely affordable.
The breakfast offerings were a bit scarce however in knowing this in advance from reading prior visitors experiences we managed to buy what we needed and keep it in our room for our personal use. As seasoned travellers we take along a small water kettle (2 cup) and with the purchase of some tea or coffee and a few pastries, breakfast prior to a morning walk was quick and easy.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel as it provides excellent value for the money spent and provides you with a perfect location for all that your heart desires when visiting this charming, vibrant historical city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelexperience2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Small hotel in good location (Chernivtsi city center) and big rooms, but unfortunately thin walls and tiles/ floor (quite loud due to lack of insulation of walls and room doors, couldn'd sleep much). One of the smallest breakfast rooms I've ever seen! Simple breakfast, Satellite TV. Friendly staff ...
Price is o.k.
No parking lots

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eotGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chernivtsi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Magnat
Hotel Magnat
#6 of 10 in Chernivtsi
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bukovyna Hotel Complex
Bukovyna Hotel Complex
#2 of 10 in Chernivtsi
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
AllureInn Hotel
AllureInn Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chernivtsi
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kaiser Hotel
Kaiser Hotel
#4 of 10 in Chernivtsi
22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Premium
Hotel Premium
#3 of 10 in Chernivtsi
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Club
Premier Club
#5 of 10 in Chernivtsi
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnat Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnat Lux

Address: Sheptitskogo Street 6, Chernivtsi 58000, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Chernivtsi Oblast > Chernivtsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chernivtsi
Price Range: $21 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnat Lux 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Magnat Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing