We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reikartz River Mykolaiv
Ranked #1 of 17 Mykolayiv B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A couple 3-day-stay on Orthodox Christmas, 4-7 January 2013, River Hotel Nikolaev.
1- no smile, no xmas greetings by the receptionist at check-in, only one receptionist at such a big hotel, no help (!!!) with 3 pieces of luggage;
2- had to change keys of the bedroom twice as they didn't work after few hours after checking-in;
3- had to change bedroom twice: first - no sofa table, second - a heater was broken.
4- way too small elevators;
5- no place in the bathroom to put travel needs; a wall hook of the bathrobes was broken;
6- no shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, toothpaste provided by the hotel (except shower caps and cotton pads);
7- one of the two heaters of the bedroom was broken;
8- no water pressure in the shower;
9- breakfast is available by a menu order only. Included, but need to wait 10-15 mins. Not available if one is on a hurry.
10- no fitness center (but it was mentioned in a paper I was asked to sign at check-in).

Unprofessional service, way too small bedrooms, poor facilities. During check-out I was on phone with a manager complaining (no manager was at the hotel on a Xmas day) and I was told that I was black listed by the whole Reikartz chain of Ukraine. I was called insane and insane customers are not welcomed there :-) Any discount, any apologies were made.

Nice river view. Excellent restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_N_Kiev, Public Relations Manager at Reikartz River Mykolaiv, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback.

Please, accept our apologies that you stay at one of the Reikartz Hotel Group hotels caused you unpleasant moments and didn’t match your expectations.

We are sorry that your stay at our hotel did not begin with Orthodox Christmas greeting - the multicultural environment may sometimes be confusing while defining a proper greeting for a guest, but we will train our employees to be more attentive to that aspect.

As you understand, Reikartz River Mykolaiv is a 3 star hotel, therefore it offers only those facilities imminent to the category, which does not require more than one receptionist or constant bellman in the lobby. Still our employees never refuse to help guests with their luggage when asked.

As for the room change you had to make, the investigation showed that there was a malfunction in the heater that could not be fixed in the presence of guests, so you were offered a portable heater. After that, in order to provide the necessary comfort you were offered to move into the warmest room in the hotel, although the temperature in all our rooms was not below the officially accepted thresholds (no less than 18 C daytime and 23 C nighttime).

In the bathroom the dispenser with the hand wash is next to the sink, just as the shampoo& body wash dispenser is in the shower cabin. Our housekeeping department refuels them regularly. In compliance with the requirements for a 3 star hotel such additional items as toothbrush, toothpaste and a shaving kit can be obtained by dialing a receptionist.

We serve a la carte breakfast only at those times when the hotel has less than 10 guests, unfortunately, that was the case with the period of your stay. The breakfast is indeed served within 10-15 minutes after the order, as it gets cooked from fresh products and not prepared beforehand.

Let me explain the misunderstanding with the fitness center - the hotel provides the corresponding service through partnership with an outsourcing company, therefore a guest can order the service at the reception desk and it will be organized. I am sorry that our employee must have failed to explain it in detail during your check-in.

We also apologize for the black list issue, the manager by all means overreacted. You are not, of course, black-listed , and we hope to see you again at one of our hotels. Presume, a 4 star hotel of our chain might suit your requirements better.

Once again very grateful for the feedback,

Irina
Chief Customer Officer
Reikartz Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

I spent 6 days in Nikolaev recently and I stayed at the Reikartz River. I found the hotel to be clean and well run. The staff was friendly and helpful. I must admit the streets in the area were rough, but no worse than the streets in my hometown.

My room was on the 5th floor and had a balcony overlooking the river. The bed was very comfortable, probably one of the best beds I've had in a hotel. (I have a bad back so good beds are a blessing.) While the room was rather small it was well laid out and had all the amenities I needed. The bathroom again was on the smallish size and the shower was great.

The hotel serves a breakfast buffet that is included in the price of the room. The buffet was very good, with items like omelets, sausages, meat filled pancakes, fruit, cereal, and good coffee. At the time I was there the buffet was held in the downstairs pub with seating overlooking the river.

The hotel is a way from the city center but the walk was enjoyable with many sites to see. I enjoyed the walk several times. And at night I enjoyed the lack of traffic near the hotel.

I would highly recommend the Reikartz River Hotel in Nikolaev.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starguywisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Shortly before Mykolaiv, I had a wonderful stay in Reikartz Zhdenieve. So when my business trip appeared to have coincided with a special personal event, I thought of Reikartz as hopefully apt for festivity and some relaxation by the river. And even though I enjoyed Korall Hotel (recommended by colleagues) in the centre of Mykolaiv (see separate review), I also booked a suite in Reikartz River for two nights.

What a huge disappointment it turned out to be! Reikartz River and Zhdenieve appeared poles apart, and Korall left it behind in many aspects, including price.

LOCATION

On approach to Reikartz River my impressions were spoilt by terrible road quality. If you drive, better reach the hotel from Lenina Ave, not from the quay along B.Morskaya Street, full of holes and high tram lines to cross.

The hotel is located away from the city centre, and the neighbourhood might seem a bit dodgy if it’s your first time here. If, by any chance, you are in Mykolaiv in tourism (which is unusual), you’ll be too far from the main sights, city restaurants, stores etc.

The river in Mykolaiv is not too scenic, neither tempting to swim in, and unlike I hoped is hardly a good reason to choose this hotel for.

PARKING

Free parking is on the narrow street right in front of the hotel entrance. To be able to open the trunk and take our luggage from it, we had to first wait for all the cars to pass by on the street behind.

HOTEL

From the outside, the hotel looked like a typical dull Soviet resort («sanatorium»). The new owners obviously did some renovation inside, so it is a combination of an average hotel and a Soviet resort now - not at all appealing or cozy for my taste.

It also seemed to be the place for foreigners to meet with local girls. Compared to the lovely quiet comfortable Korall hotel, this was rather a bustling bazaar. We felt like leaving right as we entered.. And we did, shortly after.

The receptionist was very slow, but nice and trying her best. By the looks of the hotel one would have expected a porter there, but we were offered no help with the luggage.

There is a small elevator. Our «suite» (brackets intended) was at the 4th floor, at the end of the long dark corridor.

SUITE - OR IS IT?

This was one of the smallest suites I’ve ever stayed in throughout Ukraine. And certainly the most ascetic one.

It consisted of a spartan bedroom and a living room. And rather looked like an average «double standard» in an old Crimea hotel to me. The interior was very simple. Not much effort was felt to make it cozy let alone justify its cost.

The river view with an asphalted quay could have probably pleased the eye, even though was not too scenic. But the only place to «enjoy» it from was the long narrow balcony, common for the entire floor, without a single partition on it. And you could only «enjoy» it standing - no chairs, no tea table, nothing on it.

If I was here in business or transit, for just a few hours of sleep, this wouldn’t matter. After all, it was a typical small boring hotel room. But I came here for leisure, and it was absolutely not appropriate for it.

Luckily, they soon gave a good reason to leave without staying.

CONSTRUCTION INCLUDED!

As I was on the balcony, small bits of construction litter suddenly fell on my head, accompanied by a terrible rock drill noise. How lovely - they were maintaining capital construction works right above this «suite»! And I was expected to pay over US$230 for a leisure stay on the noisy construction site?

I booked far enough in advance, and called the hotel at least twice, but not a single word has been mentioned about the construction neither at booking nor during check-in.

The receptionist whom I called to complain sounded very surprised. Well, so were we to have been offered this «suite» where we couldn’t hear each other being in the same room.

By intuition, the very last second at check-in I decided to pay in cash rather than credit card (these are accepted, too). So at least they were almost fast to refund - it only took the receptionist some time to find all proper forms to fill in, but other than that, there were no problem.

After all these ordeals I was happy to return to the cozy mansion of Korall, which is now my top pick in town.

RECOMMENDED?

Perhaps when there’s no maintenance and/or on a very short stay this hotel can be okay, if you expectations aren’t high. But I’m not ever getting back: too noisy, too crowded, not cozy and nothing special for my taste.

Room Tip: Elsewhere unless you don't care about wasting money for no special quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cora_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed 2 night in Reikartz River Hotel, and I couldn't fault it.

From check in till leaving the staff where 100% helpful, friendly and able to answer any questions i had of the area.
My room faced the River bug, so the view was fantastic. The room its self was ample for a solo traveller.Its was clean, the decor may be a little dated for some, but to me, it suitable! The bed was comfy, the air con worked perfectly (I'm Australian, we love our air con's). The bathroom was ok size, the shower water could have been hotter, Though I found all showers in both Ukraine and Russia to have luke warm water. Still not an issue, just an observation..

It is about a 30min walk from the city centre, A walk I must say enjoyed a few times. Taxi is another option for people who don't wish to walk, and the staff are more than happy to call one for you. Even though its a little way from the centre, I think the position on the river dismisses this...

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, and would quite happily stay there again, when ever in Nikolaev.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River. i stayed in 315..... Pefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The ordinary rooms are functional, clean and unexceptional. The really good rooms are much nicer but the prices went up to much higher levels ($120-$180 per day - completely out of line with the quality of the hotel).

One lift works, the other still does not - more than a year after it was taken over by new ownership.

On weekends be prepared for crowds of semi-naked footballers wandering the corridors - this is the hotel of preference for visiting teams., since the football ground is almost opposite. Also in weekends there are weddings with reception held in restaurant next door (Stargorod),

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbuChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Nerozina, General Manager at Reikartz River Mykolaiv, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback based on your stay with us at Reikartz River Mykolayiv Hotel.

We are proud to report you our ongoing renovation process of the hotel. Since we tucked over the management we renovated and refurbished more than 20 rooms, implemented a laundry to increase our services and created a new Lobby area. Several additional improvements will follow such as conference and event rooms, restaurants & bars. The second elevator is already working, and we truly believe that our hotel will set the mark for all hotels to aspire to.

We are very fortunate to report that our prices did not increase. Our tariffs related to our new standard rooms ranging between UAH 360 till 450 (approximately USD 44 till 55) including VAT and breakfast. Please advice who provided you with this wrong information to investigate in it.

We realize that today's traveler requires and deserves the highest levels of product and service and are reacting to this as part of our commitment to both our loyal and first time guests.

Due to our services and standards we are proud to welcome on a regular base several sport teams and apologize for the inconvenient situation it created for you. And our restaurant Stargorod belongs due to its standards to one of the best restaurants here in the region. Therefore we are selected as a preferred place for private events.

We do hope that you stay with us again in the future and share with us your feedback once again.

Best regards,

Sebastian Kraemer
Chief Operating Officer
Reikartz Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maksym L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ольга Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykolayiv hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alexandrovskiy
Hotel Alexandrovskiy
#1 of 6 in Mykolayiv
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Continent
Hotel Continent
#6 of 6 in Mykolayiv
32 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ingul
Hotel Ingul
#3 of 6 in Mykolayiv
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Nikolaev
Hotel Restaurant Nikolaev
#5 of 6 in Mykolayiv
8 reviews
0 mi away
Tourist Hotel Mykolaiv
Tourist Hotel Mykolaiv
#4 of 6 in Mykolayiv
14 reviews
0 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#4 of 17 in Mykolayiv
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reikartz River Mykolaiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reikartz River Mykolaiv

Address: Sportivnaya Street 9, Mykolayiv 54015, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Mykolaiv Oblast > Mykolayiv
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Mykolayiv
Price Range: $32 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reikartz River Mykolaiv 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business hotel Reikartz River Mykolaiv is situated in a quite place near the river right in the historical center of the city. We are pleased to offer you 86 cosy and comfortable rooms, a nice cafe, a wonderful restaurant with an exquisite interior, as well as two modern conference halls for your negotiations and business meetings. All the rooms in our hotel have a beautiful view of one of the Ukrainian greatest rivers – Pyvdennyi Buh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reikartz River Mykolaiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reikartz River Mykolaiv Ukraine/Mykolayiv, Mykolaiv Oblast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing