We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period looking hotel - but with a modern outlook”
Review of Ukraina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Simferopol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ukraina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Simferopol
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Period looking hotel - but with a modern outlook”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having had our original stay at the Ukraine Hotel snowed off, a week previously we eventually arrived at the train station in Simerferopol. The hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute walk, so probably better to get a marshrutka or bus if there is one heading to the centre.

Once we arrived, the receptionist spoke perfect English and was exceptionally helpful. As well as checking us in, she arranged a very early taxi for us to get to the airport, the next day.

We took standard rooms, and they were good, if not particularly large. There was satellite TV, en-suite bathroom and free wi-fi.

One note of caution, if you are elderly, frail or just unfit, there are no lifts in this hotel. There is an impressive central staircase that serves all floors and you will have to use it to get to your room! We were on the 4th floor and this was quite a trek from the reception area.

The hotel is very central to the city centre - about 3-5 mins walk from the shops/ restaurants/ bars on Pushkin St.

Overall - a good hotel and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you are of limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rheadworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    49
    14
    4
See reviews for
7
18
21
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

In this hotel I lived two nights. I was arriving in the hotel late night, but young woman-receptionist was not sleeping and fresh. The accommodation was very fast - she wrote the paper itself, I got the key and got a room that was not large and clear - TV, refrigerator, closet, bed, etc. Breakfast (swedish table) - diversified. At lunch and dinner we came with colleague to hotel's restaurant. Solid 4* - well-cooked dishes and not expensive, nice white Inkerman's wine.
In hotel pathetic reception!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlegGudovanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are extremely polished. The hotel is run as hotels should be...nothing is too much trouble.

This is all the more welcome if, like me, you are a tourist who cannot even read the cyrillic road signs! You know the staff here will sort everything out.

The location is superb...near plenty of restaurants. The foyer is bright and welcoming. The rooms are what you would expect and the bathrooms are clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocca1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Receptionists were most welcoming, organised an early taxi to airport for us for the following day, and offered us a packed breakfast to take away as we are due to leave before the restaurant is open. Having travelled in Ukraine where English is neither widely spoken or understood, it was such a pleasure to have such helpful English speaking staff greet us. Rooms are lovely and clean. Better than I was expecting overall.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keelin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salaspils, Latvia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked this hotel via booking.com for around 80Eur.
First impression was spoiled when we arrived to hotel at 14:00 and our room wasn't ready.
I thought that in Simferopol I can get nice room in hotel for 80 Eur, but I got very old equipped room with not working conditioner when was around 35 outside. Rooms wasn't cleaned well and bathroom was very old. For me, a person who grew-up in USSR this hotel was like trip to past. We was in room with balcony to main street and we needed to sleep with open windows, but it was very loud outside.

This hotel have vary fancy lobby but very bad rooms, maybe more expensive rooms are better, but I think it is not reason to spent more if you can get apartments even cheaper.

If you will have any other possibility, then staying in this hotel - use it, because I'm pretty much sure that for 80 Eur you can get much better room then in this Hotel. I stayed in this hotel only because I needed to spent 1 night and I was very tired after long trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JurijsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions in April 2012. We found our room and bathroom perfectly adequate - the central location of the hotel is perfect and the staff were friendly. Some people might object to having to climb the stairs leading up from the very sumptuous lobby (there is no lift/elevator). However the porters were obliging - and not averse to the tip that they certainly deserved for lugging two heavy suitcases upstairs and downstairs.

Room Tip: We appreciated our room with its balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel has a good location if you plan to explore central parts of Simferopol. It also has a nice lobby area with a classical style. The restaurant offers a variety of options for you, and the service is good. We enjoyed our stay as a family of three, with a kid 2 years old. We normally use this hotel when we have to stay in the city for a night or two.
Breakfast was ok, but could have enjoyed a better selection, but what was served was ok.
Would recommend the hotel given the price and quality of rooms and location.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street where the hotel is located. This will ensure you will have peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ukraina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukraina Hotel

Property: Ukraina Hotel
Address: R. Luxemburg Street 7/ A. Nevskogo st., 7, Simferopol
Location: Crimea > Simferopolsky District > Simferopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Simferopol
Hotel Class:3 star — Ukraina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today the magnificent building of our hotel in the very heart of Simferopol is a part of the architectural heritage of the city. In Ukraine Hotel the traditions of hospitality harmonise with modern solutions. There are 136 comfortable rooms in the hotel, where one can find everything necessary for a modern traveler. The diversity of room categories enables to choose the room which most serves the purpose of your visit, from a Standard room to a luxurious Suite, a buffet-style breakfast is included in the room rate. The location of the comfortable hotel in the city centre will allow you to get to any place of the city fairly quickly and receive the maximum of necessary services in the hotel. We are located in the very centre of the city, where the main places of interest – city museums, best cafes, restaurants, night clubs – are located. We will be glad to make you feel home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing