We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shakhtyor Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Atlas Hotel(Donetsk)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dominik Hotel(Donetsk)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
46
21
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
21
4
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 74 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - good service , friedly and very helpful staff ( rare in our experience in Ukraine!). Nice restaurant outside, excellent breakfast. Room a bit small - minimal luggage space but overall very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks in May/June.
Carlsberg £2.00 a pint, very good for a very good standard of Hotel.
Laundry is expensive so if you are travelling try to pack as much as possible.
Ate in the hotel most nights and food is reasonably cheap depending on what you pick, food quality was excellent especially the Beef Stroganoff. Breakfast choice is very good also.
This Hotel is an excellent standard of accommodation as room was 850hryvnya or grivna, that is about £68 B&B. Room is a bit small but perfectly clean and good WIFI Connection that is free.
Many large corridors with plenty of seating and a nice garden and outdoor eating area.
I did find it very difficult to control the room temperature so during the night woke up a few times feeling cold.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a Business Suite on the 11th Floor rooms are bigger and not that much more expensive
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Actually I was torn between "average" and "very good" this time: I definitely felt the need in "good" in this case.

Well, yes, it will take years until the soviet spirit finally disappears from our country. And one can still notice its signs at the hotel: exacting manner of the personnel's communications, inner decoration of the rooms (at least in part of wierd sepia soviet pictures on the wall). But honestly, the hotel is new, good, well-equipped and appropriate for business travellers (no doubts, it would suit football fans even more due to fantastic view to the Shakhtar stadium, being beautifully illuminated in the night. It's just 5 min of walking from the hotel to the stadium BTW:).

I enjoyed the meal delivered as a room service (when I had to stay and work in the room), a dinner with a glass of good wine (although lack of friendly manner of communication was noticed again) and breakfast there as well.

Huge parking area right in front of the hotel's entrance.

I believe people make the difference when it is about travellers' impressions. And I also believe people there in Shakhtar Plaza are improving in making a very good difference.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pros:
- by default breakfast and dinner(preselected choice) are included
- excellent veracity of food on breakfast
- cheerful and helpful staff
- clean and well designed rooms
- good location
Cons:
- doors does not isolate room from the sound in the corridor

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmej g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Shakhtar Plaza advertises as a four star property. I would agree with that but it really a matter of simple arithmetic...five star public areas and service added to three star rooms and the average is four. The positives; excellent restaurant, lobby bar, gym, pool, sauna and service in all those areas. The negatives; the room. It was OK but poorly laid out and a small bed, miniscule television, miniscule and uncomfortable bathroom, very small shower. Nothing that was totally bad. Just not what I expected.

I've stayed at three properties in Donetsk, the Donbass Palace, the Victoria Hotel and now Shakhtar Plaza. They all have their pluses and minuses.

So, as I say, it depends on what is important to you. If you spend a very minimal amount of time in the room and take a quick shower, but like a good restaurant, bar and other amenities, then this is the ticket. For me, I will probably go back to the Victoria next time I am in Donetsk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews