We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Place!”
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boma
Ranked #1 of 52 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two nights at The Boma and have nothing negative to say. The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and so helpful, and food was the best I had in Uganda (and Kenya)! Try the veggie wrap if you like falafels. One tip for travellers though - bring earplugs with you to muffle out the rooster next door ;)

We will definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    139
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
173
84
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed in the nearby Lake Victoria Hotel several times, but this time I was put in this wonderful small hotel by the people I was visiting in Entebbe for work. Definitely the place to stay if you can afford it. I paid USD120 per night (single occupancy) for my - very pleasant - room. The room had a double bed, and a nice small verandah. The service and food were excellent, and the leafy, shaded gardens lovely. Lots of birds and a nice small swimming pool. They picked me up from the airport and took me back there too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Boma is a real gem in Entebbe and definitely worth a visit. We travelled with our two boys aged 4 & 6...the food is great, the pool is sparkling clean and the grounds are really well kept and have little private areas where one can escape to with a good book! The rooms we stayed in was spacious, clean & had a fan that helped to keep the temperature down. The service at the Boma was exceptional and nothing we asked for was a problem at all…including transport & advice about things to do in and around Entebbe.

The location close to the airport is a bonus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a good place to adjust/prepare for arriving/leaving Uganda. It has a European feel (and menu), is clean, pleasant and secure with good Wi-Fi access and pool. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed with good showers and hot water.
The pool area close to the bar is also well appointed with good loungers and a range of sun/shade provision.
All in all a good place.

Room Tip: 1 - Rooms 8-12 are in a little courtyard with wide windowed doors which can feel a little public. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visit Entebbe at least once a year and my base is always at Boma. I travel alone and Boma offers complete security and a feeling of friendship. The rooms are heaven after a day visiting children and orphanages. The water is always warm and the rooms are always spotless. The staff are so friendly and make me feel so welcome. They also remember my name!! The boys in the garden always have time to tell what they are doing and of any progress they are making. Boma is a gem and well worth a visit. Alison Brain.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent two nights, separated by a trip into the jungle to track Gorillas, 7th & 10th March. The place is utterly charming, with fantastic staff, great food, comfortable and clean rooms and a delightful swimming pool. Would love to go back and do the whole holiday again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janettraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
226 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Boma is located in quiet,clean,and beautiful suburb of Entebbe.The area is very safe. It is impeccably clean and the staff is very courteous and friendly. It is close to the airport,restaurants,and various shops. It has lovely gardens and a swimming pool. The breakfast were good. I particularly enjoyed sitting outside during the afternoon.
The rooms were very comfortable.There was plenty of hotwater. The fans keep the rooms cool.
The internet connection works well. I enjoyed talking with the other guests about their experiences in Uganda. I must say that the twitchers(birdwatchers) were even more enthusiastic about their visits to Uganda than the other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karibu Entebbe
Karibu Entebbe
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Property: The Boma
Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing