We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boma
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thames Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
$50
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4 Penguins Hotel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J. Residence Motel(Entebbe)(Great Value!)
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
353
160
23
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
160
23
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportnot accept credit cardscurrieslovely poolbotanical gardensan oasiscomfortable roomsstayed longerentebbe airportswimming poollate night flightguest houseboutique hotelgreat place to staygorilla trekkinghome from homeconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 541 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2011

After many stays in sterile and often unfriendly big Ugandan hotels with noisy aircon, cut off from nature, this guest house is a treasure! Wonderful staff, headed by the family Bernie, David, Simon & Seija, peaceful surroundings with a lovely garden, now a nice small swimming pool to cool off in after a hot day in the office and good food (delicious curries!) with friendly relaxed service. The dawn and dusk bird choruses as well as the bird life in the garden are something to remember. I also like the tip box on the front desk - anything you put in there gets regularly shared out by the owners among ALL the remaining staff, from the gardeners to the kitchen workers, a much fairer method than the usual - please be generous - they deserve it!
Last there a month ago, but have now stayed several times, looking forward to next stay already!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My friends and I spent 2 days either end of our trip to northern Uganda and found the hotel to be most comfortable. Seija and her staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The rooms were very tidy and well appointed. The restuarant served delicious meals and the staff were great. The hotel is very near the airport, which is extremely helpful and the hotel arranged for us to be picked up and dropped off. All in all a great hotel and is a home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Yes, it is very nice inside, with a beautifully entrance, well-appointed lounge and dining areas and huge swimming pool. But, when I showed up with a reservation, the staff seemed surprised and confused by my arrival. The room was clean and nicely deocrated,but the bed had a crater in it so big I immediately sank to the wooden supports. Needless to say, I did not sleep well here. The power went out and it took 20 mins for the generator to kick in, before being cut off again later. They do provide free transport to the airport (which is only about 5 kms away), but I guess I expected a little bit more for $100/night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hi,

Thanks for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

Grace, who has been our receptionist for a number of years recently left to go back to University, so we have been training new staff to take over the reception since August. Perhaps this circumstance was one of the reasons that the staff seemed surprised at your arrival? We take it that your room was reserved for you however? If you send us your booking details we can try to find out more about this.

With regards to the generator; Entebbe has recently had a lot of problems with electricity supply. However we do have 2 back-up systems in place; an inverter battery system, and a generator. Generally the inverters run essential electrical items such as the lights, TV's and the 'red' sockets. The generator is needed for heavier items such as fridges, 'white' sockets (for fans and hairdryers) and for the kitchen, and is normally turned on as and when required. It is normally not used to run basic services such as lights, unless the inverter runs out of power.

The inverter is the best solution for power outages (and the most environmentally friendly), but it is not perfect. If you lost lights in the room then this is usually the result of the one of the inverter fuses tripping (for instance if someone plugs a hairdryer into one of the 'red' inverter sockets). This will cause all the rooms connected to the inverter to lose power, and any attempt to switch the inverter back on will cause it to trip again if the hairdryer is still plugged in. In this scenario we need to track down where the problem is and remove it before we can reconnect power, sometimes this can take a while, but we do have maintenance staff on duty to deal with these problems and they are normally resolved as quickly as possible.

With regards to the bed with the 'crater'; we are sorry to hear you had this problem. We have not had this complaint before (or after) your stay, so we would like to find out which room you stayed in so we can investigate the problem. It should be noted that we do have a maintenance team on duty (and we actually have spare mattresses & beds on site!); and any complaint such as this would normally be dealt with quickly if a member of staff is alerted to the problem.

Again we apologize for the problems during your stay, and we will take action to resolve them.

Best regards,

Simon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Boma is colonial style with a twist. You feel at home and this is so different to most places in Uganda which are big and steril. It is also very close to all shops in Entebbe and the airport itself. It is well worth a visit for a nice welcome to Uganda or a nice farwell. It doesnt let you down. Book well in advance as it is very popular.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorDet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was in Uganda on work, due to the traffic in Kamapla i was reluctant to stay there so looked at the options in Entebbe. Many of the other hotels seemed either quite pricey or bad quality. I was delighted with my choice, the picked us up from the airport for free which was very handy as the flight from Ireland was 12 hours. The rooms were spacious, comfy and very clean. The complex is very secure and presented in a very pretty manner. I stayed here on the way back from my business trip and my Husband joined me. The food was fantastic, the best I had in Uganda. Its a great spot do do some exploring from, we did some excursions in entebbe and also we went gorilla trekking in bwindi. The boma looked after our main bags while we went off for the 3 day trip. Great little hotel, free wifi available, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews