We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and rather dilapidated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyway Hotel

Skyway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Skyway Hotel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced and rather dilapidated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were taken here by the taxi driver as we had an unplanned weekend in Entebbe. The hotel was rather run down, our toilet leaked and the wi-fi was inconsistent.

We bartered with the owner to pay 40USD a night for a twin and that is way above what the quality of service and facilities was.

The food was slow and of medium quality.

On the plus side the beers were cold and the football was on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early October based solely on Trip Advisor comments and ratings. Well that was a big mistake as the ratings are not at all related to the reality of this hotel. This hotel is highly overrated. Having lived in Uganda for 2 years our expectations are properly set for Uganda accommodations. The receptionist was rude, not helpful and downright antagonistic as we seemed to interrupt her computer/phone activity. She did not have our reservation and when shown written proof did not accept it. She said there were no rooms. We asked to see the manager and after 30 minutes he finally appeared. We did get a room as he recognized the reservation. The room was not worth waiting for. It was small, noisy, had ants and was quite uncomfortable. The breakfast we inedible as it was a rotten pineapple slice, boiled egg and a stale piece of white bread on a plate that was covered in cellophane (probably prepared the night before). Do not stay here as it is a rip off for the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I decided on staying from the reviews written on the place and apart from the cleanliness of the rooms, that's if you don't count the cockrauch in my shower the 1st night, the service in the hotel was unfriendly all around, with the exception of the security girl who always said hello. From the non-existant reception attendant to the personnel in the dining room, the only time you saw a smile was when came time to pay because they knew this would play on their tip. I would not stay again and would pick a closer-to-the-action spot, this one being at least a 20-min walk from anything.
Oh ya, and I would highly recommend bringing earplugs for your sleep, the doors are very thin and you can hear the non-attentive staff talking and working away loudly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midgee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone who wish to travel to this part of the world. The service is welcoming, the workers are professional, management is always ready to assist. The meal are sumptuous, and prepared with the finest herbs, to give you that freshness. No mosquito issues, the room are equipt with net's and very sanitary.

Trust me on this one, SKY WAY HOTEL THE HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very nice budget hotel. Highly recommended for anyone who needs to spend a night or two in Entebbe without spending too much money. The hotel is 5 minutes drive from the airport, with walkable distance to Entebbes best restaurant (Faze 3) and beaches. The hotel is in a old atmospheric colonial style house with a large well maintained garden. Breakfast is simple but included in the price, the restaurant also offer all the typical Ugandan dishes, however I never tried those since Ugandan food is a bit dull to my taste buds. I would have given this nice budget hotel top score had it not been for the lack of sound insulation. This was negative for my sleep quality especially the second night when a group of friends made A LOT of sound. I could also hear snoring and ... from the neighboring room. But it is clearly the best of the two budget hotels I have stayed at in Entebbe. If I ever need a cheap hotel room in entebbe again I will probably return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've stayed in Skyway Hotel in March. It has a big garden and a roof terrace where you can sit, have a beer and enjoy the view to Victoria Lake. There's a restaurant and helpful staff.

Rooms are comfortable and good value, with en-suite bathrooms. (I think they have also one or two dorms for travellers on a tighter budget.) The area is calm and relaxed and close enough to the airport, so it makes a good stop on arrival or departure from Uganda.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I personally prefer the ones in the corner because they have windows to two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janaljubl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
0.5 mi away
Phenicia Motel
Phenicia Motel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
5.5 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#17 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Nest
Hotel Royal Nest
#25 of 30 in Entebbe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#27 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Executive Airport Hotel
Executive Airport Hotel
#11 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyway Hotel

Property: Skyway Hotel
Address: Mugula Road | Plot 7 Mugula Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Skyway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing