We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit- especially with a guide

I enjoyed my visit to the Botanical Gardens. True, it could use some TLC, but there are many... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
catherinef2466
,
Boise, Idaho
Better with a guide

The garden was established in 1898 by a British, who came from Kenya. Right now it covered an area... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Shimnik
,
Delft, The Netherlands
via mobile
Read all 486 reviews
  
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
132
179
76
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
179
76
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake victoria local guide trees and plants beautiful garden colobus monkeys great birding worth a visit small bar beach area wide variety nice walk entrance fee guided tour pleasant place cold drinks enjoy nature few hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

These gardens are really lovely. We had a great botany student who works there part time as a guide. Peter knows so much about these gardens and is very informative as well as helpful. If you get a chance ask for him. Will be returning hopefully because did not explore all the gardens

Thank Budagali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On paying our entrance fee (in local currency), there was the option for a guide to take us round for a fee. The guides are near the entrance, and there did not seem to be shortage so would not expect there not to be any. We took the option and were treated to a knowledgeable insight to many trees, plants and animals that we would have ignorantly walked past had we gone it alone.
Most of this tour was done off the beaten path, so we would definitely have missed lots of it.
The gardens themselves are not as manicured as others we have visited - you can roam wherever you like, in amongst all the animals.
If you have time to spare, than this is nice to visit though you are not missing out should you not.

Thank millsie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is NOT a classical botanic garden, you can touch, smell and walk everywhere you want. No trails, no signs, just pure experience to feel the nature and see the green and wide variety of Uganda plants. If you have time that is so-so recommended to visit here!

Thank traveliguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These gardens are such a lovely oasis close to Entebbe airport. Don’t expect that the gardens are as well organised as others you may have visited but they have a lot of interesting trees, plants, birds & animals. My main interest was the bird & animal life but Tindy ‘The Entebbe Gooner’ did a great job educating me around the garden history and its contents - two hours of his entertaining company for £5 was very memorable.

Thank Grey_Ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the garden and payed 10.000 a head. I think that one has to love large trees othervise don't go there.
The first Tarzan film had some acts taken there but......
You can go the the lake but that spot is not kept very clean
The large trees are beateful. It not my Thing.

1  Thank 1812nielsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my visit to the Botanical Gardens. True, it could use some TLC, but there are many volunteers and guides who put a lot of time and love into the upkeep. I strongly recommend getting one of the guides- they meet you at the entrance and work for tips. I think around 20,000+ shillings is average- more depending on your experience with them. Most of them are botany students or graduates and have great knowledge of the garden. I especially recommend Kym (Lawerence Kayima) for a garden tour as well as any kind of bird, animal, or bike tour. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about birds, animals, and conservation.

Thank catherinef2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We payed US $5 each to get in, then hired a guide to show us around he was very knowledgeable. Nothing is signed so without the guide you would just be wondering around. They are volunteers & rely upon your tip as payment.
There is alot of birdlife & monkeys here as well as being right on Lake Victoria.

Thank StuJenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

I visited the Entebbe Botanical Gardens in the afternoon of Sunday, September 9, 2018. It is a large expanse of trees, and greenery, very quiet, with access to Lake Victoria's beaches. The beach in Entebbe was much cleaner than in Kampala, and can make for an excellent swim. There are boda boda taxis at the gate, though one can walk in at a leisurely pace, and commune with nature. The Botanical Garden is a real gem of green in Entebbe! Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Moronge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

The garden was established in 1898 by a British, who came from Kenya. Right now it covered an area of 40 hectares. The entrance fee is 10.000 UGX and I would strongly recommend to take a guide for additional 10.000. Our guide told us some interesting facts about indica tree, frangepani tree that is used to treat skin,
africa tree that is used against malaria (boil leaves and drink), canonball tree with very beautiful flowers, gaerter and many other things.

Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

our guide from Primate world safari suggested this-+sorted a guide for birds--saw lots of exotic trees+ 18 different birds. It goes down to shore of lake Victoria. Great walking about+shade!.

1  Thank ashley465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews