We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse, clean and friendly”
Review of Karibu Entebbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karibu Entebbe
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here the night before I flew out of Entebbe airport. I found it to be a little expensive but unfortunately a lot of accommodation in Entebbe and Kampala is pricey. The guesthouse is a 15 minute walk down to the main town and botanical gardens. Our room (cafe) was large, lovely and clean....as was the bathroom. The food was absolutely awesome (we had the 3 course dinner), the best we had during our time in Uganda. We also had a free airport drop off provided for us very early in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful, I would stay again when funds allow!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwglobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would definitely stay at Karibu Guest House again. I'd never been able to find a good spot in Entebbe for early departures or late arrivals, but this will now be our go-to place. The house is clean and comfortable and bright. Dinner and breakfast were great, which was nice because there's not much else within walking distance. The staff were very mindful of our travel plans and helpful with airport/Kampala transfers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Karibu Guest House is our new favorite place to stay in Entebbe. We fly through Entebbe several times each year arriving late at night. This family run establishment is excellent! Their airport pickup was timely and the van very comfortable and safe.

The Karibu Guest House itself was exceptionally clean and quiet. Our king sized bed was very comfortable and their mosquito net not only did an excellent job, but it was also easy to get in and out of. The grounds of the guest house are beautifully kept and the surroundings are peaceful. We spent two nights and a full day there before going onward. Their rooftop patio was clean and a very enjoyable place to rest. The staff was also attentive with drinks. We had ordered lunch and supper ahead of time and this was a most pleasant surprise. Their (included in the room) breakfast was excellent, and the other meals were excellent and beautifully served. You will not be disappointed in their food or their staff!

We are very glad to have found the Karibu Guest House and will be sure to stay there on future journeys through Entebbe. Ben and Sue

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor corner room called "Avacado". It had a great view of Lake Vic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueBaird1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kharibu guest house is definitely the very best in Uganda. The hosts and staff go out of their way to assist in every possible way. Each individual unit is decorated to the highest possible standard They are spacious and have many well thought out touches to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. The meals were excellent and home cooked served always by cheerful willing to oblige staff. We wish Karibu every success - they deserve it

Margaret and Roger G..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MargaretG281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was an easy decision to make to stay here. The owner came out and welcomed us, the atmosphere was friendly and it was great to see that all the reviews on here rang true. The food was delicious and the bedroom had a lovely view. It was a great way to end my Uganda trip and the proximity to the airport ensured I was on time for my flight. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Best guesthouse in Entebbe!! Very clean, friendly, new, great breakfast, perfect! I am only sorry, that I did not have the time to have lunch or diner there.The room is big, the mosquito net around the bed gives you enough space.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Its been exactly a month since I check out of Karibu Guest House. I first learned about the guest house from this website last October (2012) and I felt during my month-long visit to Uganda we would spend our first two weeks in Entebbe there...well it turned out to be the best decisions I've made recently. My wife and I were visiting Uganda to attend my parent's (who live in Entebbe) 50th Wedding Anniversary celebrations and visit family. We chose to stay at Karibu to get some rest and have a vacation to ourselves. We couldn't have picked a better place. From the moment we were picked up at the Airport by Patrick on February 1, to the day I checked out on the fourteenth we enjoyed an awesome stay. Meeting and getting to know Leslie and Kevin were among the highlights of our entire trip to Uganda. We stayed in 'Avocado' , which in addition to being an excellent room boasts among the most spectacular sunset views in Entebbe. Throughout our stay our hosts and their staff went out of their way to keep us entirely relaxed and especially well-fed. I really appreciate all the kindness and attention we received during our stay. Our conversations with Leslie and Kevin about the different cultural approaches between cultures left my wife and I laughing for days...it was really was special. In addition we cannot thank the entire staff, including the three great dogs for making this special trip all the more enjoyable... I look forward to visiting again soon when in Entebbe.

Room Tip: Any of the seven rooms is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
1.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lake Victoria Hotel
Lake Victoria Hotel
#10 of 30 in Entebbe
271 reviews
4.9 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#14 of 30 in Entebbe
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibu Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibu Entebbe

Address: 84 Nsamizi Rd, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Karibu Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range: $141 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karibu Entebbe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and clean guesthouse with spacious en-suite rooms located only 10 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport on a quiet, peaceful hillside with beautiful views of Lake Victoria and the sunset. Room prices include a full breakfast (quick breakfast available for departures before 7am), free WiFi access and airport transfers. The restaurant also serves delicious 5-course Mediterranean styled dinners and 3-course lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Karibu Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing