We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Oasis”
Review of Banana Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Village
Ranked #4 of 62 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We visited Banana Village for a week in January 2014, and had a wonderful experience. We were in Uganda for business, and we held a conference and some professional meetings and trainings on the grounds. I can't speak more highly of the staff--everyone was friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner there most days, and we ordered cases of water through the office. They are very flexible in taking orders for meals, and accommodated us with vegetarian meals for some of our group. The food was home-cooked in a very clean kitchen that adjoins the dining hall. They are fully equipped for parties and events. Our conference attendees were pleased and impressed by the grounds, which are full of flowers and sunshine. When we couldn't get our laundry clean with hand washing, we gave it to the staff and sometimes received it back, glistening white, the same day. All in all, we had everything we could have needed and felt very much at home. If you want to have an authentic experience, we highly recommend Banana Village. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodFanatique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Hi there, am sorry for this late response to your awesome review. Your satisfaction is our business. We do look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Banana Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The grounds of Banana Village are an oasis. Our kids loved the horses and monkeys. All beds have good mosquito nets. (what I mean by good is the nets don't touch you. We hate the nets you have to wrestle with all night!) The rooms are OK. The beauty of the place is the gardens. It's so quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chasar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Hello Chasar5 sorry for this late response, we appreciate your review on your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In my search for a quiet, secluded, reasonably-priced accommodation outside of Kampala, I came accross Banana Village. It was everything I had hoped for: fresh air, relaxing and quiet atmosphere, and of course, tonnes of monkeys.

Compared to most accommodations in and around Entebbe, $30/night for a self contained room was a steal. Good staff, clean rooms and a great property. I totally recommend this place if you are looking to catch up on some reading and recharge your batteries. I will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: They're all pretty similar: detached bandas split in two. They are also very flexible with the a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Hello Daniel sorry for this late response, we thank you for your great review and look forward to your next visit. Visit our web and follow the progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room is ok very clean and large . We were a little crammed because we had two twin beds and a bunk bed all with nets. You are Lucky if you had a Luke warm shower. Our stay was very very loud as there was a church revival next door that lasted a few nights. Music and singing started in the morning and would last till around 3 or 4 am. I would stay again as I can't blame the accommodations on what's going on next door. The food was terrible. About a 1/3 of menu is available. Put your dinner order in at least an hour ahead of time, as the kitchen staff have to go to market for the food most of the time. My first meal was a grill cheese sandwich and it was covered in dead ants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Hello, sorry for this overly late response. We regret your bad food experience but are pleased to inform you that we have overcome all hurdles that contributed to that and we are confident that what we present today is of a commendable quality. We appreciate every review as this helps us to polish up our act.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Banana Village is a convenient accomadation close to the airport. We arrived after midnight and the manager was waiting for us. It is a rural setting with a troupe of verdant monkeys playing in the trees. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginkadink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Hi, I was looking through reviews that had not been responded to and found this one from way back. We appreciate your review and stay, we now have a swimming pool and new rooms on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A good start of the year 2013! at one of uganda's really ecological village ,with operators that are highly friendly and hospitable with many many ways that made me most relaxed and comfortable at my stay.Got to enjoy pretty good food and hot water.too,was lucky to see and take pictures of little monkeys in the evenings and not to forget the horse ride 30 mins exciting experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinman400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Hello, sorry for this very late response . We thank you for your review of 2013. We have new rooms on site and a swimming pool too now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Situated just six miles from Entebbe Airport off the Entebbe-Kampala highway, Banana Village is hidden away in a quiet, peaceful village of Kitala-Nalugala.
Reaching Banana Villlage is an achievement as the local roads are pretty poor. The accommodation is adequate, and is Ok for a stop-over. I would not consider it as a holiday hotel. Monkeys playing in the grounds make it interesting.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room in one of thje thatched buildings, so that when it rains you cannot hear it...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manfromguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemimah S, Owner at Banana Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Hello, was going through my old reviews and saw this unanswered one. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
3.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#18 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
3.4 mi away
African Roots Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Secrets Guest House
Secrets Guest House
#3 of 62 in Entebbe
78 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lake Victoria View Guest House
0.8 mi away
J. Residence Motel
J. Residence Motel
#3 of 30 in Entebbe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Village

Address: | Plot 67 Kisubi, 1 kilometer from Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range: $38 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Village Eco Resort is set in the quiet village of Kitala, Nalugala- Entebbe, branch off at GARUGA turn off, drive 1km on a slightly bumpy dirt road. This resort is the ultimate fusion of traditional African architecture designed to blend completely with its environment, with 24 en suite rooms housed in a series of huts spread along its vast gardens under a canopy of equatorial trees.Rooms consist of single,double/twin,triple,quad and dormitory style.We have a swimming pool,children's play area,variety of bird species and vervet monkeys. We are proud members of the Uganda Hotel Owners Association (UHOA). At Banana Village Eco Resort you will experience a true African night filled with a musical rhapsody by the night insects which is hypnotic enough to lull you to sleep. On a rainy night the thunder and lightening create a light and sound show in the dark skies. Mornings are ushered in with the sound of the loud Hadada ibis birds fused in with the gentle chirping of smaller birds. Calls to prayer can be heard in the distance, the rooster crowing, dogs barking and chattering of people as a new day dawns.WIFI can be accessed from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing